We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Sao Vicente”
Review of Hotel Sao Vicente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sao Vicente
Ranked #107 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel Sao Vicente”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Just returned from a visit to this hotel our second in succession so you can gather we do like it.I can agree with a lot of what the previous reviewer said but not all. The hotel is in a great location walk around the corner and your on the way to the old town, the staff are very courteous and the hotel is kept very clean. The rooms are nice and to a good standard I agree about the sun in the afternoon but's it's a "no brainer" to request a sea view room the views are amazing and far outweigh having the sun in the afternoon. The breakfasts are good but I do think they could be varied slightly on a daily basis. There are a lot of good things but there is also room for improvement in my opinion for this hotel to market itself as a boutique hotel room safes should be standard they are not you have to pay in addition if you require internet access that should also be free it isn't you have to pay. I also agree with an early reviewer there is a tendancy to feel the hotel is over managed and it is run with military efficiency I think a chill pill is required in some instances. I've marked it as average comparing it to other boutique hotels I've stayed in but it would be good if just marketed as a hotel I think it is overpriced.

Room Tip: choose a sea view room excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    21
    18
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
59
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just returned from a five day stay in this lovely hotel. We have been to this resort several times and usually stay in a four/five star but this hotel is the best ever! The staff are very helpful and pleasant and the Hotel is clean well situated and just a breeze! I would have no hesitation in returning or to recommend to friends and family. It is great value for money and within a few minutes walk to the old town. If however you like large hotels with a lot going on or a large pool then this is not for you but I loved it and am very fussy. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Sea view is good but does not have the sun in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Really can't fault this little hotel. We were lucky to have a sea view room which had obviously been recently refurbished. The quality of the fittings and furnishings was superb with a beautiful bathroom and a really powerful shower.

The pool area was kept spotlessly clean and the sunbeds were the widest and most comfortable we have ever had.

There was a good choice on the continental breakfast buffet with lots of prepared fruit, a choice of breads, juices, cereals, yoghurts and the usual cold meats and cheeses.

The location is excellent with a handful of good bars and restaurants right outside the hotel if you don't fancy the 5-10 minute stroll to the Old Town square.

Would definitely stay here again if we return to Albufeira

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandESheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

17th Feb 2013 - Just arrived back for a fantastic 2 night break at the Vila Sao Vicente and what a gem find. I can not recommend this hotel enough, staff are so helpful and friendly. The hotel arranged our transfer to and from the airport which takes around 40 mins. We received a very warm welcome on arrival and given two beautiful ground floor rooms over looking the sea. This hotel is very clean, continental breakfast fantastic. Well situated for the Old Town short walk to beach. Many good restaurants and bar to choose from with in 2 mins walk. Small fridge in our rooms which was great for keeping water and drinks in. Hair dryer in bathroom OK but I would suggest bring your own if possible. I am looking forward to going back ASAP.

Room Tip: If possible I would always ask for a room facing beach. Road side quiet but not the nicest of views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Istay twice this year but I found expensive room is small also toilet is small hot water is not coming much in the morning only drip also breakfast is ok the only think is near old town nd also pubs this hotel is not for kids.

Room Tip: It depend the value of the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ismail c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Small friendly and immaculate hotel in a great location with sea views. Good size modern bedroom and bathroom. Continental breakfast very good with plenty fresh fruit,pastries Yogarts, cereal etc.Centrally located ideal for all restaurant in the old town.Bus stop and taxi rank 30 metres away. Beach access 100 metres.

Room Tip: Superior room with sea view is worth while.Only critisim is balconies are extremely small. However l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights in July and after reading several reviews were looking forward to getting there.
Service was good, the rooms were clean, albeit small (well ours was!) so what was wrong?.
The whole experience just felt too managed and as a result not as relaxing as we would have expected.
The swimming pool area was small, but with great views, breakfast was faultless,but the whole experience just did not float our boat.
On the positive side, great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaysrus09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#63 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vila Recife
Hotel Vila Recife
#93 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Branca
Vila Branca
#71 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Polana Residence Hotel
Polana Residence Hotel
#139 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainha D Leonor Apartamentos
Rainha D Leonor Apartamentos
#94 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sao Vicente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sao Vicente

Property: Hotel Sao Vicente
Address: Largo Jacinto D'Ayet 4, Albufeira 8200-071, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sao Vicente 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sao Vicente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sao Vicente Hotel
Hotel Sao Vicente Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing