We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much more than it looks and sounds!”

The Beach Basket Albufeira Portugal
Ranked #48 of 787 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the Old Town with a terrace overlooking the main beach - wonderful food and delightful, friendly, helpful staff
Leeds
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Much more than it looks and sounds!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

From its name and it's street view you'd think it was a cafe or snack bar, but once inside it enfolds tardis like into smart restaurant with a reasonably large terrace area and stunning sea views. We chose this above it's neighbour on Trip Advisor recommendation and we were not disappointed; the service was friendly and efficient and the food was faultless with a simple but perfectly cooked choice of fish or meat. As someone has said before, they also understand that the kids may not share adults delight and will cook them anything you want. Excellent in every way!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Davantall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    87
    24
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning view”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to sit at a table overlooking the beach. For mains we had the rosemary and monkfish skewers and the fried fish, both were tasty but the fried fish could have benefitted from a sauce as it was a little dry. The desserts were lovely- we sampled the vanilla ice cream, profiteroles and tiramisu- the tiramisu being the highlight. Worth a visit for the view alone!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mushroom777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Surely to visit!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I was in Albufeira for only two days and came here twice. The food was really, really good! I recommend the cataplana, especially the one with the monkfish, and shrimps. As dessert, I had the tiramisu twice because it was so delicious. The rosé wine is fantastic. Finally, also big thank you to the staff, who were so nice/kind/friendly!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Zoë H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hucknall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“golden wedding anniversary meal”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a fantastic restaurant with brilliant food and very friendly staff. We ate here has a party of six for my mum and dads golden wedding anniversary, we ate out on the balcony with a lovely sea view an watched the sun set as we ate.
Truely a brilliant place with great food and fantastic atmosphere, not to be missed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 45Simon1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oh, The View!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Breathtaking view, delicious food, what more could you want!? In a town full of neon signs and touts, The Beach Basket is a real breath of fresh air! The scallops were some of the best we have ever eaten! Delightful staff, especially the older woman. Book and go!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyjim92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach Basket Albufeira Portugal also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to The Beach Basket Albufeira Portugal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing