We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Number One in my book” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante

Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante
Ranked #79 of 769 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Perhaps one of the most beautiful restaurants in Albufeira, Castelo do Mar boasts unique sea and Marina views, outside terraces and a relaxed ambience in an elegant setting. Occasional live music on selected nights provides a harmonious backdrop to your overall dining experience. Dishes include meats, fish, seafood and vegetarian options. Our newly opened ROOFTOP CHAMPAGNE & COCKTAIL BAR provides an elegant space to enjoy sunset cocktails and spectacular sea and Marina views. An ideal venue for all occasions. If you have taken the time to write a review and we have not responded to it please accept our apologies. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to do so and offer our sincere thanks.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Number One in my book”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Although Tripadvisor has this restaurant at number 3, to me this is Albufeira's finest and the best I have had in Portugal - and I have been to the two rated above it! The food is absolutely sensational - a joy to the senses in every way, so creative - the roast salmon and chorizo risotto decorated wAnd the location above the marina perfect. And how can 3 exquisite courses with wine and coffee be just 30 euros a head. Simply the best!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AdeVisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    89
    40
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“niiiiice nosh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Saw this on tripadvisor and decided to pay it a visit as we were staying quite close. I had the goats cheese n beetroot for starters......v v v nice my only critism of the dish was that it would need something sweeter to balance the dish....possibly a small dollop of a sweet fib compot.
For mains i hat the black pig and the accompanying veg were delish. MOH had the serloin and it was so tender you could cut it with an ordinary knife...this was washed down with mojitos...all in all well worth the €45......pay them a visit you wont be dissapointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Had Sunday lunch here a few weeks back and loved every minute of it. The staff are pleasant and attentive and the time between each course is just perfect. We had a few drinks beforehand overlooking the marina then had a beautiful meal. Two of us opted for the sea bass main course which was delicious. I honestly could have stayed all day it was so relaxing. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Renot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kelly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Visited last Thursday evening, with my husband and parents. We reserved a table and pleased we had done so, as they where busy. Our table was prefect over looking the marina as the sun was setting.
Food was really good, very flavoursome, so very different ideas mixing fantastic tastes. King Prawns where delicious. Nice selection of wine, good presentation and excellent service, this is our 3rd visit and we will continue to return. I've been visiting Albuferia for many years and this is certainly a favourite. Well worry a visit, but try and book to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great! Just great!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

View great!
Food great!
Vine great!
Desert great!
Staff great!
The sunset is beautiful from the restaurants viewpoint over the marina.
The food is tastefull and a great size.
The house vine tastes round with a gentle finish.
Brownie heated with Chocolate, bits was to die for!
The staff was joking with costumers fast at clearing tables. Heartily remembering and greeting guests who revisited the restaurant after 10 years.
My wife and I hope, that will be us, when we revisit the restaurant.
We give the staff and the restaurant our most sincere recommendations to others

Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing