We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How is this not number 1 in Portugal”

Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante
Ranked #71 of 863 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$28
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Perhaps one of the most beautiful restaurants in Albufeira, Castelo do Mar boasts unique sea and Marina views, outside terraces and a relaxed ambience in an elegant setting. Our ecletic menu offers dishes of meats, fish, saeafood and vegetarian. Our ROOFTOP CHAMPAGNE & COCKTAIL BAR provides an elegant space to enjoy sunset cocktails and spectacular sea and Marina views before or after dining or for relaxing drinks only. An ideal venue for all occasions. If you have taken the time to write a review and we have not responded to it please accept our apologies. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to do so and offer our sincere thanks.
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We arrived as a family group of 10 and half way through our holiday needed to finally have a good meal, we asked a local family who recommended this place. The meal was fantastic the atmosphere over the marina was exquisite. Some of our group had dietary requirements but nothing was too much trouble. YOU MUST GO HERE. I will be back next year, try the duck (hope they will still do it.)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kieran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you and the rest of the guests in your party enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 384 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is by far the best meal I have had not only on this holiday but all year.
Beautiful restaurant, beautiful view, staff were fun and friendly. I was on holiday with 7 other people and we all agreed it was the best meal we had in a long time, only wish we had looked at this restuarant earlier in our visit but definitely made the perfect last night meal.
Thank you to all the staff, will definitely will be visiting again and have recommended to all friends and family back in the UK :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Amazing seabass, amazing staff, awesome views and great live music. Tues and Fridays for the live music. Any other day is perfect too. Five out of five!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Saleemio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Castelo Do Mar was recommended to us and we visited on our 2nd evening on the Algarve...we enjoyed so much we booked there and then for the following Tues, Thurs & Fri before returning home on Saturday..
This is a lovely restaurant set just on the hillside overlooking the Marina with beautiful views and sunsets to be seen.
When entering the restaurant you are greeted by very friendly staff who bend over backwards to help, nothing is too much trouble. The owners Johann & Paul are great and Ange the waitress is lovely and friendly and the young Portuguese waiter (sorry forgot his name) was also attentive. The chef Tristan is a genius!!
The food is out of the world..amazing, during out 4 visits we tried various items on the menu, the seafood chowder was my husbands favorite starter, this has mussels, clams, prawns plus much more, mine was the beetroot and goats cheese-divine. Main courses if you have a good appetite the chicken and gnocchi is fab, if you prefer fish the Sea-bass was beautiful.
Please make a visit, you will not be disappointed, we will be back again hopefully in September....cannot wait!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you decided to visit on several occasions. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

One of the best meals I have had for a long time.

The venue is lovely and quaint. Set just above the harbour you can experience a beautiful sunset out on the terrace as you enjoy a drink before your meal.

Owners Paul and Johann are as warm and welcoming as any hosts I have met, instantly making you feel comfortable and at home.

The menu is eclectic, making the most of Portuguese produce to create dishes that guests - the majority of whom were tourists - will be familiar with. Visited twice and really enjoyed each and every dish I tried. Particular praise to the duck. Succulent and beautifully cooked and the croquettes were fantastic.

The wine list offers a good range of Portuguese bins. The house red, JP, at £11 is a really smooth, easy red that you wouldn't usually associate with house wines.

All in all I can't stress enough how much you will enjoy your visit to Castelo do Mar. Make sure you visit early in your holiday as I guarantee you will want to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing