We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local place”

A Cozinha do Chefe Matos
Ranked #202 of 787 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local place”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is off of the beaten track and away from the tourist traps. The service was very personal and attentive. It was perfect for a night out with friends and a break from the kids.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimDiane93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    45
    18
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This restaurant was really worth going to, my fiancee and I loved it so much we had to go back again during our holiday. It was such a refreshing change from the touristy restaurants on the strip and it was clear that most of the customers were local. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The food was lovely and really good value, I would highly recommend visiting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shnurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a find ! Great Restaurant !”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have tried many restaurants in the Alfufeira area and after reading the reviews on TA decided to give it a go. This restaurant has to be up there with the very best in Albufeira the food is very good with a slight 'fine dining' feel to the way they are presented with the usual decorations on the plate. I opted for the Veal tower special that consisted of several slices of veal on top of a slice of grilled pineapple and topped of with a large prawn and a drizzle of cheese sauce - different & supurb ! All of the others in the party of ten people were in agreement that their meals were of the best ones in all of the different restaurants that we used during the week. If you try this place you won't be dissappointed as the food is excellent !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BurlingtonBobLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food. Full stop.”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had great mussels with a bisque type sauce, black pork with presunto and mushrooms in a Madeira sauce.. great lambchops, curry and almonds.

This was one of the best meals we have had in Portugal. Service was prompt and of a high standard also. Friendly staff. A few pratos do dias as well (daily offers/dishes).

This is off the tourist track a bit but well worth it IMO.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adoran45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This restaurant is situated about midway between Praia da Oura and the N125. Not the most scenic of locations, but the restaurant itself is smart, attractive and clean and the food is very good. The service is excellent - the staff take care to ensure you understand the choices with the menu and to provide you with what you would like.
The cooking is extremely competent both with fish and meat dishes. Portions are generous and prices competitive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Cozinha do Chefe Matos also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to A Cozinha do Chefe Matos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing