We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“service with a smile”

Cafe Oceano Restaurante
Ranked #73 of 779 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“service with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from uk from Albufeira....stopped on the sea front at the Cafe OCEANO...STUNNING VIEWS...we had sea bass...its was perfect and a jug of champagne sangria ..wow...we were well looked after by s grest guy cslled Bikash a real charmer...Thank you all for a wonderful welcome..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank albufeira003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    66
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Deceptively poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The food was too salty, nothing was done about it. Infact were sitting here now wondering how they are still in business. The starter was good however, so the ratings on the garlic bread is good but the main and service has been the poorest in our albuferian experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic place to eat, brilliant location right on the sea front the staff were very friendly and polite. The food was delicious with good size portions and served piping hot. The service was great and you did not feel rushed even after you had finished your meal. I had lasagne which was vert tasty, my wife had a Tuna steak which was fantastic. Will be paying a return visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClanGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good service, nice location - food mediocre.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I ate here last week, opting for the simple choice of a club sandwich with chips.

Whilst the service was good (all staff are polite, friendly and helpful), unfortunately the same cannot be said about the food.
There was no issue with preparation of the food as such, however the quality of ingredients used really does not do the chef justice. The bread, chicken, chips, even the salad all taste cheap and nasty. My partners toastie with tuna had rotten quality canned tuna, we feed our cats a better quality tinned tuna - and that's cat food, intended for cats. Even the orange juice had a questionable tang - it has an odd chemically aftertaste that no other 'fresh' orange juice I have ever tasted has had.

In terms of ambience, the plastic chairs and wobbly tables all scream 'cheap and nasty' and mirror the food perfectly.

As the staff are so great, I'd like to give this place a better review but in all honesty the food was just a bit naff. Not inedible, but certainly so lacking in freshness and nutrients we didn't eat half our meals and had an early dinner later in the day to fill the hole!

A shame really. Unfortunately I couldn't recommend eating here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HughJars85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normanton W Yorks
Level Contributor
153 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“good location good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

went here more than once during our stay the food was good quality well priced and good prices for drinks service was good and had free wifi would visit again if in the area

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Normylad36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Oceano Restaurante also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Cafe Oceano Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing