We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vidamar Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vidamar Resort Algarve
Ranked #15 of 153 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The gorgeous birds eye view photo of this hotel led me to book it without reading any reviews. Risky but definately worth it. Stayed 1st to 5th July and enjoyed every second. The staff were brilliant and made the stay more relaxing. The Hotel is squeaky clean and has massive rooms with very comfortable huge beds. I wont say how many showers i took daily but i could have lived in the shower.

Food was good and didnt struggle to find something everyday. The main pool is epic! Biggest in the Algarve form what ive heard. The beach is not too far away. Took walks there after evening meals. We had a late return flight and getting a late departure was no problem. Thank you everyone at Vidamar for a great week.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannetteM555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CardosoJ, General Manager at Vidamar Resort Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Madam,
Thank you for posting your recent experience in our Hotel and for your kind comments which are very much appreciated.
Although being a brand new Hotel and knowing that "the road to success is always under construction", we feel we are improving our level of service by the day and that we have a friendly and available staff to help our Guests in any situation.
The Hotel has a fantastic location and offers excellent facilities, particularly outside in the extensive pool's and gardens' area.
Again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again sometime in the future.
Warm wishes. João Cardoso.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 463 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at this new resort 10th/17th June 2013 and the hotel was about 1/3 full. As the coach pulled up we saw building work to the right where the Italian Restaurant was not yet finished. This was a little bit daunting but we were not disturbed at any point by noise from it. It has an expected opening date of early July so could be ready now. The Hotel décor is minimalistic which gives it a very clean look but it really needs some art work etc, especially in the Reception which is more like a Clinic! Rooms were the same, very tasteful but bland. A shaving mirror is provided over the sink but this is totally inadequate for putting on make-up or drying your hair. There is a full length mirror by the wardrobes but the hairdryer does not reach that far, The room also needs a dressing table or sideboard. The only place to sit and write is on the balcony, also if you want a cup of tea or coffee you have to boil the kettle on the floor but be warned, once you have used the initial supply, it cost one euro per day to be restocked. The minibar also carries a set charge and has to be unlocked by Reception.
The food was very good, at breakfast there was a reasonable selection and drinks were included. There was also plenty of choice for Dinner but use a hot plate or else the meal is cold by the time you get to your table. All drinks are charged to your room, including water which is two and a half euros a litre bottle. I don't mind paying for wine etc but water!! We used the Seafood and Sushi Restaurants where you get a 15 euro voucher per person to go towards the meal. The food was very good in both, price wise the Seafood was reasonable but Sushi was a bit dear. We didn't use the Snack Bar by the pool but the menu looked good and plenty of others were eating there. Prices seem about the same as in town. Lovely loungers and parasols by the pool but best of all were the bean bags. Don't leave it to late and miss one, they are worth getting up early for. The beach also has loungers but they cost 12 euros a day for two and parasol. The hotel has three pools, a lovely crescent shaped one for toddlers which really is as warm/hot as bathwater. Next to that is a circular paddling pool then a very big oval shaped pool. They say this is the biggest hotel pool of its kind but it is very cold. Supermarkets. We used the Oceana, about 10 minutes walk right around the roundabout then straight up the hill, over another roundabout and a few metres on the left. A path leads down through some trees. Don't try and take a shortcut through the Vidamar carpark, its fenced off at the end and you can't get through. Snacks, drinks etc were a reasonable price although they didn't sell much in the way of cigarettes, however the hotel shop, which is hidden away behind the Gin Bar, did have some of the usual British brands and they were not expensive. They also had newspapers and a small selection of sweets. There is a hop on/hop off open topped red bus which runs from 10:15 am ( ish) until late afternoon. This does a round trip to Albufeira, 18 stops in all and from July runs every half hour. A 2 day pass cost us 13 euros each. Try to avoid Stop 1 as the driver usually has a 20 minute break here. A few minutes walk from Stop 16, down the escalators and up to the left there is live pan pipe music and market stalls selling good quality and cheap leather goods. If you stay in the resort, a stroll along the boardwalk, through the Nature Reserve and back along the beach takes about an hour. The first part goes over a lake which has turtles, fish and ducks. The kids enjoyed throwing bread to them. The entertainment was very poor, Rita, Miguel and Sol tried their best but they were given very little to work with. There is no focal point for the animation team apart from a room downstairs by the Spa which resembled a crèche. The evening entertainment, which was short and sweet, was held in a Meeting Room upstairs above Reception. There was a makeshift stage at one end with a Conference Table and Chairs at the other. Being in there made me feel like I was intruding on something. There is so much room a around the hotel I think they should build a small theatre or entertainments centre. There is also plenty of space for some children's play equipment as the facilities they have will not be enough when the hotel is full. As previously reported by other guests, we found the staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Lots of lovely trees but these restrict the view in ground floor rooms. For the best of the sun cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed at the the Vidamar resort villa's at the end of June. Still low season and fairly quiet. Staff were excellent, polite and very helpful. Restaurant(s) were very good value with excellent food, particularly the sushi restaurant (though the head chef was a little dour!). Facilities were 5 star and of high quality, cleaned every day by very diligent staff. Overall this was a very pleasant experience well worth the money and we were even upgraded to a bigger appt.
I highly recommend the Vidamar resort and would gladly go back there gain.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Vidamar and after reading the previous reviews I was very anxious. However I loved every minute of it.
I went away with one of my friends for a relaxing break and this is exactly what we got. It is the perfect place to relax, however if you are looking for something a bit more lively then you may think this hotel is too quiet. Having said that the last day of our stay (Friday) seemed to be a lot more lively with background music by the pool and there were more people also.

The food was great although there wasnt a large selection. We only ate in the buffet restaurant and the pool bar therefore could not comment on the other restaurants.

The pool area is definately a 5 star and the board walk is fab. The only downfall to the pool is that the water is salt water and the large pool is very cold, although it isnt too bad once your in.

The staff were brilliant with us, although in the restaurant and the pool bar the service was very slow although the food was great.

I think moving forward this place could be really great, it just needs some more entertainment especially during the night time. However as it has only been open a couple of months this might pick up July/August time.

Also a bus into the local towns would be useful as I believe that a taxi is quite expensive.

All in all we loved our time here and would love to go back next year, however it might just be out of our price range if it fulfills the potential it is showing at the moment.

Room Tip: We had a pool view room on the 2nd floor and the views were fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonesreb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My wife and I stayed for 15 nights in June and enjoyed a very relaxing holiday.

I would agree with most of the comments that have already been made. The staff are extremely helpful although some were obviously being trained. I think the soft opening was intended to bring the staff up to scratch and work together as a team and the improvement was evident during the course of our stay. They had a very positive attitude to constructive criticism and acted accordingly. A special thanks to Monica on the front desk who is a credit to the Hotel.

The room quality was excellent although some might find the minimalist decor not to their liking. The pool area was superb and the large swimming pool was a joy to swim in. It was refreshing without being too cold. I would have to agree with the previous comment regarding the "kids swim up bar".

The food was somewhat hit and miss, the breakfast buffet was first class but it was somewhat inconsistent in the evening. The Japanese and Portuguese alternative restaurants were fine but I did not like the electronic tablets used in place of menus. I felt that a little more information regarding the dishes on offer would have been helpful. It would also be a good idea to extend the Japanese menu to include other Asian cuisines. It was very quiet whilst we were there and Japanese food tends to have a limited following. The Italian restaurant when it opens will have greats views over the Ocean.

I was pleased to find that the prices of extras in the hotel were not over the top as found in some 5 star hotels. Wine from 3€ a glass/13€ a bottle. A large beer was 3.5 Euros. Sandwiches in the snack bar were 4.5€ and up and were presented and served in an impeccable manner.

This is a hotel for those looking for peace and relaxation. If you are looking for easy access to the Centre of Albufeira,stay somewhere closer. There are a number of bars and restaurants within a 20 minute walk including a sports bar in Gale for those who need their fix. There are also great beach walks in both directions.

If you are looking for quiet and relaxing stay in a quality hotel, I would certainly recommend the Vidamar.

We wish the Hotel every success and have no doubt it will soon sort out it's few teething problems. We look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms on floors 1 & 2 have their views restricted by numerous palm trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NickMaggieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Arrived yesterday and having been here for more than 24 hours, I am very pleased to say that this is very worthy of it's 5 stars.
The staff are superb and nothing is too much trouble.
As far as the hotel and facilities go it's WOW! Especially the massive oval pool.
Will be making the most of the next few days and will be sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richardlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed here 4 nights on a special deal mid June. Promised room upgrade not forthcoming. Room was acceptable, comfy bed but seating was poor. Only two restaurants were open. No information provided on local amenities, bus connections, maps etc. Plenty of friendly staff but in the self service restaurant the drinks service was only average. Remote location means you are dependent on hotel entertainment activities and they were enthusiastically organised and helped pass the time for a couple of days. Beach and pools were very good.

Room Tip: If you can get a 4th floor room at the back looking over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeeboTeebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
8.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 153 in Albufeira
1,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salgados Dunas Suites
Salgados Dunas Suites
#22 of 153 in Albufeira
654 reviews
7.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 153 in Albufeira
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,173 reviews
5.5 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 153 in Albufeira
257 reviews
3.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vidamar Resort Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vidamar Resort Algarve

Address: Rua Boca da Alagoa, Lote 1-Fase 2 | Guia, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#13 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £74 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vidamar Resort Algarve 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-Star beachfront Hotel enjoys a fabulous location: on Salgados beach sand dunes, alongside a golf course and nearby a nature reserve. The Vidamar Algarve Hotel Guests can experience the MAR laid-back experience with the lively VIDA family facilities. All hotel Guests stay on Half Board basis and can take advantage of the Dine Around concept, whereby you can sample a variety of cuisines at a selection of restaurants. This Hotel offers 250 double rooms and suites, with different views. Doubles rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children 0-11yrs. The Aquatica Kids World is designed around children and their daily needs. From 3 to 11-year-olds, the emphasis is on fun in a safe, secure environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L., LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Vidamar Resort Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vidamar Resort Algarve Albufeira, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing