We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
VidaMar Resort Hotel Algarve
Nearby Hotels
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clube Humbria by 3HB(Olhos de Agua)
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
PortoBay Falesia(Albufeira)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Topazio(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Baia Grande(Sesmarias)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Eden Resort(Albufeira)
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Golden Beach by 3HB(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$403
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$285
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,104)
Filter reviews
1,104 results
Traveller rating
556
354
130
38
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
354
130
38
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgin barnature reservemamma miaocean buffethalf boardbuffet restaurantsunset barprivate swimming poolrainfall showerbreakfast and dinnerfive star hotelsalgados beachwet roombedroom villadirect accessmodern hotelkids club
Filter
Updating list...
478 - 483 of 1,104 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed with our 2 kids (aged 6 and 9) for a week from 9 August. It was peak holiday time and the hotel was completely full. We usually do self catering and off-the-beaten-track holidays, but as we really needed a complete chill out we decided to try the half board resort holiday. We were pleasantly surprised! Here's a quick summary:

Rooms and facilities - excellent! Rooms were really comfortable, modern with a high quality finish, and clean. We had fantastic sleeps. The pools are great, and its fab to be so close to the beach.

Service - a few teething problems but overall they tried really hard.

Food - ok, eating on mass in a crowded self service restaurant is not our thing but being able to sit outside made it better. Breakfasts were fantastic, the dinners not so, but definitely seemed to improve massively towards the end. We tried the Portuguese restaurant one night at extra cost but it wasn't worth it, we were a bit disappointed with it. We also went into Albufeira one night - do not go there unless you want the Benidorm type experience.

Location - we were happy to be close to the beach and the golf course, we didn't need to venture further. The neighbouring golf course was great for us as a family - not too busy and quite relaxed.

For kids - they say there is a life guard, but unless the towel man doubled as one, or there was an under cover lifeguard, we didn't feel it was safe enough to let the kids swim without our supervision. Our kids weren't interested in the kids club - they felt the activities were for younger kids, and the sports were mainly in Portuguese. None of that mattered to us as we wanted to spend time with our kids.

Spa - treated myself to a pedicure which proved problematic, but was re-done two days later free of charge. The spa is lovely.

Would we go again? It was a really great holiday, but I think we've had really great holidays that have been better value for money. If there was a special offer, or last minute deal, we might go again because it was really a wonderful place to relax.

Well done to the Vidamar and its army of hard working staff.

Room Tip: You can either have a room facing the pool/sea or out to the golf course/nature reserve. Definitely worth getting the pool facing room, the higher up the better.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magsinpoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The location is very good, the pools are great and the kids club was really fun. On our 8th day, our
5-year olds refused the pool and opted for the kids club instead!
The buffet is a bit crowded but the queue was never more than a minute or two, continuously restocked, lots of variety and dishes hardly repeating - cheese table, at least a couple of beef dishes, fish (bacalhau sometimes), and cooked before you - crêpes and omelette at breakfast, grill and pasta at dinner.
Criticism for the mosquitoes at the hotel is a bit silly - there's a quite large spell going on in the Algarve this year - it's on the news, repellent running out, it's not the hotel's fault.
We never waited more than 2 minutes at the Nespresso bar, espresso is only 1.25 eur, drinks by the pool are reasonably priced.
Nevertheless the hotel has the charm of a warehouse - quality of individual items is high but everything is kind of oversized, e.g. reception is a huge cavernous hall, corridors look like from a hospital, ...
Overall great choice especially for families.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stopover74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CardosoJ, General Manager at VidaMar Resort Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience in our Hotel and for your positive comments.
This is our first year of operation and we've already identified certain procedures that need to changed for next year in order to provide a better quality of service to all our Guests. These have to do with creating a more orderly service in the Ocean Buffet, have a second themed restaurant included in the Half Board basis, have more choice of restaurants at lunch time and have different service procedures in the current restaurants, create a differentiation of kids' entertainment programme according to age groups, have some other service procedures for the outdoor pools, etc. They are identifieed and will be in place in the future. A Hotel is very dinamic and we know we need to be on top of the daily service and the changing and demanding needs of our Guests.
Again thank you and we hope to be able to welcoming you again in our Hotel sometime in the near future.
Joao Cardoso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

A brand new hotel open since last May 2013, modern lobby & rooms, a wonderfull terrace with 3 pools which one 50 meters x 25 meters!
You don't have to reserve your lounge chair & umbrella... this is a very good point!
Direct access to the the "Salgados beach" which is not one the top Algarvian beach but very nice anyway.
If you don't like children, don't stay there!!!
The common parts of the hotel & the rooms are very clean.The staff is warm & helpfull but the Food & Beverage service is poor!
Just one snack open for the lunch with a very poor menu à la carte with a very cheap presentation & food quality! If you try the Nespresso bar, you will wait at least 30 minutes ... The buffet at night is OK if you don't expect to eat good grilled meat or fish... This is definitly not a 5* standart buffet!
Last but not least: many mosquitos in the air that will keep you inside after the sunset!!

Room Tip: Take care with the 1st floor rooms with a pool & sea view just because of the mosquitos!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patjeninks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CardosoJ, General Manager at VidaMar Resort Hotel Algarve, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience in our Hotel.
The Algarve is mostly a family destination in July and August, it has always been and most probably always will be. Except for a couple of hotels, all hotels are geared towards families from all possible destinations. August is Algarve's pick month and is also know as beeing the month were generally the Portuguese families take their main holiday and drive down to the Algarve.
Salgados is indeed one of the most beautiful beaches in the Algarve, it is about 7km long of natural clean sandy beach and even has a Nature Reserve next to it with many exotic birds. The Hotel has a flat direct access to the beach through a wooden walkway (about 200m long) wi«hich definitely a big plus.
Regarding the food outlets, we will have 3 outlets for lunch next year (the Portuguese 'Sabor a Mar', the Sunset pool snack-bar and the Italian Mamma Mia restaurant) and 4 outlets for dinner (the Ocean Buffet, the italian Mamma Mia, the japanese Koi Sushi and the Portuguese 'Sabor a Mar'). Booking a table will be compulsory and we will also have shifts in the Ocean Buffet restaurant. The Ocean Buffet will also have 2 showcooking stations and 2 or 3 buffet stations.
Mosquitos have been in great number this year in the Algarve (not just in Salgados), perhaps because it has been hotter than usual but obviously we can predict what's going to happen year. We'll certainly take measures to reduce this inconvenience (mosquito repellents, sprays, citronella plants, etc.) if the situation is the same as this year.
Again thank you and we hope to welcoming you again in the near future.
Joao Cardoso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We spent two weeks at this resort at the start of July. When we booked, we were aware that the hotel was new and having a 'soft opening.' I suppose I should start by saying we had a nice holiday, but definitely won't be returning.

We stayed in one of the villas that are located approximately 5 minutes walk from the main hotel complex. The two bedroom villa was spacious and the private pool in the garden was a real haven, particularly considering we have two young children (aged 1&2). Our one real criticism of the house is the fact that there is no barrier around the stairs that lead down to the basement car park. Our 20 month old fell down five feet onto a tiled floor and was lucky not to be badly injured. If you are going with very small children, this is dangerous and needs to taken into consideration.

The hotel has three pools. The kids' paddling pool is grand, but the main pool is magnificent. It is huge and I can imagine spending days lounging at the side, as many of the other guests did. However, we had kids, and so most of our time was spent at the chill out pool, which is heated and comfortable. Our kids loved it, and there was a great atmosphere around it. It was closed for two days while we were there, but that really is no big deal, especially when the hotel is also within five minutes walking distance of a beautiful beach. However, they really need to get the food service by the pool sorted out. It was slow and inefficient. Oh, and the pool-side toilets were very poor. There were no anti-slip mats and the toilet seats were hanging off in two of the cubicles in the gents.

Our main gripe with Vidamar is that nobody seems to be paying attention to detail. This is supposed to be a five star resort, and comes no-where near that standard of service. I wouldn't blame individual staff members, who I found both polite and friendly. It just feels like a hotel without a manager, someone paying attention to detail. When we arrived after a 45 minute journey from the airport, at 8 in the evening, with two kids, nobody came out to help us with our bags. There were plenty of staff, just nobody directing operations. There was no system in place for entering and exiting the restaurant. I imagine that most guests, like us, we're half board, as there are no other restaurants in the vicinity. This meant the restaurant was always busy, but people entering and leaving had to give their room number and sign for drinks at the same little desk, which resulted in delays and confusion. The breakfast, incidentally, is decent, but the dinner buffet was not. Again, this is in the context of Vidamar selling itself as a 5 star resort. The buffet was ok, but a million miles from 5 star.

I feel I am being quite negative here, which is unfortunate, as we enjoyed the holiday. We definitely plan to revisit the Algarve, as it is a really beautiful place. We won't however, be returning to Vidamar. Not until they manage to hire a management team that wants to pay attention to the many, many little details that go into transforming average into great, potential into reality. And please, do the basics, and put an information pack about the hotel and area into every room and villa...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thane_of_Cawdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa for 10 days in July.

The resort is a bit isolated although I expected that from the reports and thought it would not be a major issue with the 5* hotel close by with dining options.

VILLA

The villa was superb. Very spacious and private - beautifully decorated (albeit a little sparse). If I was to look for a fault - given we paid a substantial amount of money for our stay- I would say:

for a villa of its quality the showers were bog standard "over the bath" style - I would have thought they would be equipped with "walk in" showers. Also due to the style - they were DARK. No lighting at all and if you closed the shower curtain you were in total darkness. Speaking of shower curtains - it was a fitted on a plastic extendable plastic pole which you could probably get at B & Q for £1.99. Not exactly what you pay £7k for...but maybe I'm nit picking...

2 of the 3 en-suite bedroom extended on to terraces above the pool. Perfect for sunbathing - except there was NO balcony furniture at all. What are you supposed to do - stand?

Other very minor issues were - despite an adequately furnished kitchen - there were no cereal bowls and oddly, no tea spoons. Not exactly Armageddon but again - £7k and (with kids) no cereal bowl or teaspoons? Just odd.

The above didn't put me off the villa one bit but I must take issue with one other matter.

I know this is probably a "one-off" but I cannot review the resort without mentioning it.

The villa has a safe (which I always think essential) but after a few days it failed to operate and would not close. I contacted reception and some-one came to look at it - couldn't get it working and said he would have to call maintenance. With our valuables (inc a large amount of cash, ipads, and passports - (probably very safe in my used sock drawer) - we left for a day away in our hire car.

On return in the evening (several hours after we left) we found a key to our villa in the door!!!! - WHAT!!apparently left by "housekeeping" by mistake. Could have been an expensive mistake for us but thankfully nothing was stolen.

Once again - is this the security you can expect for £7k...?? (we left 4 days later and no-one had turned up to fix the safe)

THE HOTEL

We used the hotel only rarely. It looks superb and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The pool area is excellent and facilities look great.

And that was the contradiction. Everything LOOKED great but the fact is on one of only two visits to eat in the hotel (the buffet) I have to say it was terrible. Apart from a lack of hot dishes (any beef, fish or chicken trays were empty) the overall standard is what you'd expect in a 2* hotel not 5* . The waiters were clueless, ( we ordered 5 drinks and were served by 3 waiters several minutes apart - eh? maybe something new - drink by instalment? but we normally like to socialise which isn't easy when half the table have drinks and the other half are awkwardly looking at their feet) there seemed to be no-one in charge and the whole thing was just chaotic. We didn't go back.


Ok - it all sounds a bit petty and harsh but I write this on the strength of the cost of the holiday - I just expected a little bit more for the money we paid and I would be reluctant to pay the same again until they get it a bit better organised.

To finish on a more positive note - the failings of the hotel catering made us eat at a couple of local restaurants just outside the resort which were superb ( and inexpensive) Another plus is the golf course right beside the hotel. It is superb - very inexpensive - (none of which made me play any better) but I would happily return in the expectation that the teething troubles encountered this year are rectified (This is the first year its been opened and to be fair - some issues may have be expected)

I'd go again - in 18 months or so.

Victor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews