We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful gem of a place!!”
Review of Giania

Giania
Ranked #135 of 854 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Come to GIANIA for a thin-crust wood-fired pizza made from scratch with the freshest local ingredients. The pizza base and the tomato sauce are made with the highest quality olive oil. Our repeat customers tell us that it is wonderful to enjoy a little piece of Italy in the lovely setting of the Algarve. Come see it for yourself- a lovely outdoor seating area where you can indulge in pizza, beer, sangria and wine. You may prefer an air conditioned inside space with some very lively music. Come for Pizzas, Pastas, Italian desserts and wonderful Alentejo wines! Our best selling house Pizza is topped with fresh peppery rocket salad leaves on a bed of mozzarella & cherry tomatoes. We also serve different types of Pastas, and not to mention, our home made Tiramisu and Pannacota for dessert. GIANIA is located in Albufeira near the bullring. It is opposite the old globe(water fountain) round about. There is parking at the back of the restaurant. Come give GIANIA a try and experience it first-hand, Thank you.
Reviewed 24 September 2013

On recommendation we dined at Giania last week and were simply wowed by the superb service by the owner, the quality of the fresh tasting food and the value for money, half the price of other Indian restaurants nearer the strip. Highly recommended......the tikka starter and sangria is a must. We will most certainly revisit. Rp from London

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pancho_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nilesh d, Owner at Giania, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thanks alot, really appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 73 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Wow we were very impressed by this Indian. We passed it a few times and eventually decided to give it a go and are very happy we did! The menu is small but only as they cook everything fresh and especially for you. The food was very fresh tasting and delicious. Everything we had we could not fault and the owner went out his way to please. I asked for a spicier chilli sauce to have with our poppadoms which was no problem...and it was certainly more spicy! Please don't be put off by the small menu as you won't be disappointed! We will definitely be back :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nilesh d, Owner at Giania, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thanks alot, really appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I walked passed Giania and did not give it a second look, on the way back, which was at a considerably slower pace it caught our eye so we had a quick look and decided to come back in the evening for dinner, one of our better decisions, the food was fresh and exquisite, highly recommend you eat there and the staff are friendly and informative, thanks for the great food and a lovely evening, Tina & Jerome Chandiram

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JeromeC0563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nilesh d, Owner at Giania, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thanks alot, really appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We visited this restaurant twice on our recent stay in Albufeira and were really impressed. There was 5 of us dining and we had both nights, popodoms to start with chutney, raita dip and tomato and onion dip, all really fresh. We had the samosas which were wonderful and spicy and not at all greasy. We had between us the chicken Korma and tikka masala which were excellent, the wine was very reasonably priced and staff very friendly and accommodating. My only criticism is that there was only one dessert an Indian dish which just sounded too filling, an option of icecream would have gone down well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nilesh d, Owner at Giania, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thanks alot, really appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We visited this on Sunday evening 7th July '13. There was one other table occupied with 4 young lads who going by their comments really enjoyed the meal which they just had. This gave us a good feeling about this restaurant. it is only opened for 4 weeks so everything was new and exceptionally clean and the service was absolutely 1st class. We took our seats and the server came over to welcome us in and gave us the menus. He asked if we spoke English so he could give us the correct menu then asked what drinks we wanted. The menu is a bit limited to ensure everything is cooked fresh but includes chicken, lamb and vegetable dishes. We ordered the poppadoms with mango, salad and mint yogurt which tantalised our taste buds for what was to come. Our son (11yrs) preferred lamb korma which was not on the menu but the chef had no problems catering for his request. I had chicken Bhuna/pilau rice and my wife had chicken Tikka Masala /pilau rice and everything tasted as it should. There is only one sweet which is a traditional Indian dish and this could have been complimented with ice cream but was nice to finish off. We were offered tea or coffee but did not want any.
We would definitely recommend the Giania for those who want a lovely meal in a fantastic new venue about 10 min walking distance from The Strip and directly opposite the Albufiera Sol hotel.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank raymondmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nilesh d, Owner at Giania, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thanks alot, really appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giania also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Giania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing