We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One weeks Holidway in May 2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Ranked #12 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One weeks Holidway in May 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Beautiful hotel , Excellent buffet breakfast ,friendly staff.
cleaning and standards really first class. Easy access to a lovely beach.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tonyd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear guest,

We are very glad that you have spent an excellent time at the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA and that you were impressed by our services and facilities, particularly with the standards of cleanliness, the breakfast and the quality of our service.
Thank you so much for your kind review and we really hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our Resort soon.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,040
    602
    219
    67
    30
See reviews for
706
797
39
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

A family group of six, the hotel had something for us all. The pools were clean (one heated) and there were plenty of sunbeds, and towels provided. The sandy beach was easily reached from the hotel and that was clean and attractive. Food was good, both in the buffet restaurant and the fish/meat grill restaurant. There is a free bus to Albufeira but plenty to do around the resort. We had a room for two in the main hotel which was clean, comfortable and well appointed, and a bungalow for four with a kitchenette in the grounds which was ideal for the family. All Staff smiled and were very helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DWM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear guest,

We know how challenging it can be to find a holiday destination for a family, especially when it is a larger group as yours was. Therefore, it was especially rewarding for us that you all enjoyed your stay with us and that our Resort suited the needs and tastes of all of you. Thank you very much for your kind comments and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back for, hopefully, another enjoyable stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

Our first stay in the self catered rooms was brilliant however after revisiting the hotel in one of the main suites the service and experience disappointed.

We were interested in revisiting as we were offered a deal that included bed and breakfast and full us of the hotel spa. The spa was amazing however the breakfast and service was substandard. On the first morning we were practically frisked when leaving the breakfast hall to ensure we didn't take food away for "hygiene" reasons yet there were free apples available at reception not under the same restriction. It was a very unpleasant experience especially as we were the only couple experiencing this and witnessed numerous people doing this in subsequent days.

Other restaurants did not represent value for money however the pool and spa were great. I would unfortunately not visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank teekayzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We sincerely regret that your second stay did not live up to your expectations and previous stay, as far as we understood from this review and the questionnaire you filled out after your stay, mainly because of the incident occurred on the first morning. Our Resort is accredited to a Hygiene Risk Management Program for years now and has been awarded for the good standards obtained in the control of safety of Food & Beverage and Water. We are very committed to this and do everything to follow HACCP rules and principles in order to ensure the health and safety of our guests. One of the rules is precisely that guests are not allowed to take food or beverages out of the restaurant and we assure you that this rule is valid and applicable for all our guests. We sincerely regret if you feel that the approach was not the most appropriate one or that our restaurant staff lacks attention sometimes. We will definitely try to improve, not by abolishing this rule, which we can’t, but by making sure that this rule is followed all the time and that the approach is always made in a friendly and gentle way.

We hope that despite of this, we will be able to welcome you back to our Resort.

Kind regards




Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

A big thank you to all the staff at the hotel as they made the stay exceptional. The hotel was in the perfect location for our tastes, right on the beach, away from the madness of Albufeira but accessible if we wanted a lively night out. It is also only five mins in a taxi to Olhos de agua which is nice little resort which was perfect for us and our 3 year old in the evening. We had a sea view suite which was perfect, couldn't ask for more and was kept lovely and clean. If you needed anything you just had to ask and it was sorted straight away, the service was excellent. We will be returning again next year.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank karenvincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear guest,

It is really rewarding to read a review from a guest who had enjoyed his stay so much as you did, and particularly the service provided by our team. Thank you so much, on behalf of the whole team, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália next year.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

I read a few reviews before going to this hotel and as ever with trip advisor you become anxious about what you will find when you get there, you need not worry.

I went with my fiance for one week and stayed self catering and absolutely loved it here. The hotel and its facilities were spotless and staff couldnt do enough to help. Our room was cleaned everyday. We had one of the pools to ourselves for part of the week that we were there and it was so peaceful and laid back. The hotel restaurant on the beachfront has delicious food but is not cheap unless of course you are on all inclusive. The hotel is also in a very good spot for getting to Olhos D'Agua which is in walking distance one way along the coast and the other way to Praia D'Oura and the new town of Albufeira. The hotel also runs a free shuttle around seven or eight times a day to the strip and Albufeira old town.

This area of Portugal is one of the most scenic places i have ever been.

The hotel is rated as 5 star and you couldnt argue with this in terms of the reception area, food, bar, pools and beach but the rooms are not what you would find in 5 star hotels in say UK, USA and Germany but I would not let that put you off. The only other slight negatives are that the beachfront nightclub was not open when we were there (early June) and the spa facilities are quite expensive. Everything else is absolutely spot on. If you go here with the right expectations of what a mediterranean 5 star hotel will offer you, you will love it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colvickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear guest,

It is really rewarding to read a review from a guest who had enjoyed his stay so much as you did, and particularly the service provided by our team.
Thank you so much, on behalf of the whole team, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália next year.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

This is my FIFTH visit to the hotel. The previous 4 visits have been amazing - by far the best hotel and country that I have ever stayed in. However, this time is has been the complete opposite from the word go.

Firstly, there were ants in our room near the bed. I had to ask at reception for this to be sorted. Then, there were ants in the bathroom (At least 50 or more. I killed around 20 and then went to reception again for them to sort out this problem.) Then when this was solved, ants were found in the wardrobes, drawers AND on the balcony.

Next, things were missing in our room. There were no spa slippers, no gift bag in the wardrobe, and for 3 days in a row we have had no complimentary chocolates on the side of the bed. This isn´t such a problem, however their famous motto is ´Small Details Make All The Difference´. This is a false motto when things are missed off on a daily basis by the housekeepers.

I was disgusted to find that women were sunbathing topless around the pools. This is meant to be a FAMILY FRIENDLY hotel. There are lots of children playing and running around. I am pleased I didn´t bring any children here. I would not want them to see that. I found it very offensive and have walked away from the pool area on several occasions for that reason. There should be strict rules put into place for the pool area. I paid for a family friendly, relaxing atmosphere. I did not pay to see that!

It is very uncommon that I complain about things, however I am disappointed and disheartened more than anything else because this hotel has always provided everything, with no problems and nothing missing in the rooms. I have made a lot of friends with staff members throughout the years of visiting, too. But this year it has been one thing after another. I will unfortunately not be returning again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear guest,

We regret that your fifth stay did not correspond to your previous experiences at our Hotel and that you feel that the quality of services has declined, but in fact the things you thought were missing in your room, were not actually missing, but are not provided as a standard anymore, but upon request, as they were hardly ever used. The chocolate, which our guests receive as a small complimentary treat, is still provided but due to a stock rupture it had been temporary unavailable, but is now being provided again. It is also not usual to have ants in the room, especially in the drawers and cupboards, but unfortunately, we cannot eliminate completely the risk of ants. That’s why we alert guests to only store food in the refrigerator and why we disinfest the Resort regularly. It seems as only your room has been affected, as we are not aware of other reports or complaints, but we asked our Housekeeping to check the rooms even more carefully.
We also didn’t receive any other complaints from guests who felt disturbed by a guest sunbathing topless. Although it is not something that happens often, we do not try to incentive it, but tolerate it. This has been our attitude towards it since the opening of our Hotel and we didn’t receive complaints before, which proves that it is tolerated by most guests and, as you never complained during your previous stays, that it is also very rare.
We hope that you will give us another opportunity and that we will continue to deserve your trust and confidence.

Kind regards




Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Our third visit to the hotel was during the first week in June 2012 (previously visited May 2011 and July 2011)

We had emailed the hotel in advance to request the same room as our first visit (a suite with seaview) in the main hotel. We were really pleased that on arrival this had been arranged, as well as the fact that the room was ready as soon as we arrived which was early in the day.

We visited a restaurant called La Cigale during our stay which was recommended by the hotel, it was only a short distance by taxi, and was well worth a visit.

Halfway through our stay the hotel began filling with delegates for a conference. We felt this took over the hotel entirely, especially at breakfast and at the buffet restaurant at lunchtime, we did feel maybe a special area should have been segregated for the delegates, as I am sure they did not wish to be surrounded by holidaymakers, as we did not wish to be seated amongst delegates attending a conference!!

We visited the World of Sand (Fiesta 2012) which was about 25 minutes from the hotel - this was well worth a visit.

On our last evening we asked at reception what we would do for breakfast as we were leaving at 6.45 a.m. They explained that we should complete the room service menu and leave it hung on the door of our room at 9.30 p.m., so we did this and it was only when nothing arrived that we checked and the room service menu was still hung on our door!! Reception luckily arranged for a quick drink before we left the hotel but we were disappointed we didn't get our breakfast before we departed!!

We shall be returning!

Room Tip: Suites with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Identity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciated your kind feedback and are very glad that you enjoyed your third stay at our Hotel.
We regret however that not everything was perfect and would like to apologise for the incident occurred on the last morning of your stay. We understand how disappointing it must have been for you to leave without breakfast. Our Food & Beverage management has been informed and we assure you that we will do our utmost to avoid similar situations in the future and increase our quality of service.
The other point mentioned by you however is something that we won’t be always able to avoid, which is that conference and holiday guests sometimes share the same area. Delegates usually have breakfast in the regular breakfast room and, of course, they are free to use the Hotel facilities if they have any free time. But whenever possible, we try to separate Conference guests from our Individual guests, by booking separate function areas which are usually not used by our Holiday guests, as for instance the Conference Centre, where groups spend most of their days and usually have dinners.
We are glad that you still enjoyed your stay with us so much that you are even planning to return next year and we would like to thank you for your trust and preference. Please accept once again our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we will do our utmost to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
2.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
2.2 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
9.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Property: Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing