We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Ranked #12 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay right on the beach”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed for 2 nights at the end of June. The hotel is very impressive from the outside, and has great views of the sea as you walk in to reception. The hotel is definitely a family hotel and is very resort like. I had a sea view room which was wonderful. The room decor was a bit dated but it was clean and the bed was very comfy.

Breakfast was fantastic, and the drinks were reasonably priced. I had lunch in the cafe but it wasn't great. Loads of mayonnaise on everything, white bread, chips etc but it seemed popular with other guests.

The view and direct access to the beach are definite plus points. It was great to swim in the sea and not have to walk for ages to the beach.

I'd definitely stay here again for a relaxing beach break! Not sure I'd rate it as a top 5 star but I had a great time anyway.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciated your kind review and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately, it was not completely perfect as you were not quite satisfied with the Menu of the Café Bar Atlântico. Apart from the dishes with mayonnaise, there are also healthier options in the Menu, but it is true that the Café Bar Atlântico is a Snack Bar serving what could be considered the typical Snacks Menu, as sandwiches, pizzas, etc.- It is not exactly the healthiest kind of food, but guests of the Bar Atlântico look primarily for quick meals in an informal atmosphere. For everyone with more time and looking for healthier options and a proper meal, we would recommend the Lunch-Buffet in the main restaurant of the Hotel, or the Restaurant Santa Eulália by the beach, which serves a small BBQ in an informal atmosphere with sea-view.
Thank you once again for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália soon.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    696
    236
    72
    30
See reviews for
827
884
43
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2012

As in previous reviews, we found the pool area very nice, clean and well laid out. I was very disappointed with staff, I'm afraid. It seemed there is no overall person or persons leading the team, no structure. The 5 star rating, especially for bedrooms, is not merited. They are well cleaned but lack any 'wow' or 5 star status, as indeed does the premises, as indeed do the overall majority of staff. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Request a room above the lower/basement level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corkonian_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.
We sincerely regret that you were disappointed with the staff in general. Unfortunately, no details were provided if the disappointment was caused by the quality of service or if you considered our team not to be friendly or helpful enough.
Both points have usually been highly praised by our guests and it is therefore very surprising for us that, although the feedback in the majority of reviews and questionnaires is positive, there have been a few less positive reviews on Tripadvisor lately. One reason could be that we received trainees over the last few weeks, whose level of knowledge and skills is, of course, not as high as the level of our own team is. However and since you were not impressed with the majority of staff, the trainees can’t be the reason or main reason for your disappointment. We assure you that there are several persons leading the team and that they and I will monitor our performance very closely and try to make sure that our standards are followed in order to guarantee a consistent quality and a friendly service at all times.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back in order to prove you that your experience did not correspond to our usual standards.

Kind regards


Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Recently returned from a week stay at this hotel and can't believe anyone would consider it as a 5 star hotel. I would suggest it is closer to a 3 star with1 star rooms.
The reception area is fairly impressive but the standard room was small, dirty and with the most uncomfortable beds imaginable. The room wasn't cleaned properly all week and toiletries were not replaced. The room was very cramped and when one person was sitting at the 'dressing table' the other had to climb over the bed to get across the room. Despite requesting a room upgrade we were told there was nothing available which seemed to be to facilitate the arrival of large numbers of delegates from a hotel industry forum - they certainly wouldn't learn anything from this hotel.
The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful especially the reception staff who failed to acknowledge guests coming in and out of the hotel.. Service in the bar in the evening was very poor despite there only being half a dozen people in the place.
The two pools are too small for the number of people and the salt water pool was freezing cold. The approach to checking towels in and out is just ridiculous - one per person per day and can only be picked up and returned within specific times. Every time we brought towels back the reception staff waited until we were right at the towel desk before coming across - you have to wait to get your towel ticket back!! All in all a very disappointing stay in a hotel which is never 5 star and compares really badly with other 5 star hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank airds58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.
We sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with your stay at our Hotel and especially with our standards of cleanliness and the courteousness of our staff. This was very surprising for us, since these are precisely the points that guests usually praise most and consider being our biggest assets. We were also surprised about your remark regarding the size of the room, which is also not the feedback we usually receive. There also some small errors or misunderstandings that we would like to correct. We do not have two pools, but we have 4 adults’ pools and three children pools in three distinctive areas. By offering separate pool areas, we do not only offer enough space for all our guests, but also a wider choice, allowing guests to chose between the livelier or more relaxing atmosphere the different pool areas have.
It is also not correct that the towels have to be picked up and returned at specific times. As during the night, pool towels are hardly ever or never requested, the desk is obviously only open during the day time, but there are no pick up and return hours. We would also like to clarify that a towel control system is used by most Hotels and Resorts, at least in this area. Most guests perfectly understand the need for some kind of control and so far we also haven’t receive the feedback that guests had to wait for an unusual long time to get their towels or towel cards.
Although we try our very Best, it is unfortunately not always possible to please all guests, but we would like to thank you for having taken the time to post a review and assure you that we will continue trying to constantly improve our service and guests experience in our Resort.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I visited this hotel for a conference with a number of other delegates. It's my 3rd visit to the hotel. It's getting tired in places with cracks in bathrooms and lots of scuff marks, but the hotel is still comfortable.

Same old frustrations with this place. €5 euros a day to use an iron - unheard of in any international standard hotel. Ordered room service and it arrived raw. Promised a refund. Never came. Multipack can of diet Pepsi - €4 - talk about cashing in on remote location. The TV's are from a 1990's Travelodge and the channel selection is less than 5*

The beach is great, the conference facilities are slick, and it's a very relaxing place.

Take an iPad full of movies, a travel iron and fill the fridge with your own produce, and avoid room service, and you'll have a great holiday.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank tonyblogging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We regret that your stay, although enjoyable, was not perfect. Unfortunately, we do not know which room you were in, in order to repair any damage or imperfection it might have. However, we will ask our Housekeeping and Maintenance department to check the rooms more carefully and to make sure that the room is always in the best possible conditions when the guest arrives. Apparently, this was not done carefully enough before you arrived and we would like to apologise.
Although not from the 1990’s, we agree that our TV’s are not the latest and most stylish model and would love to be able to replace them. In fact, we have been planning to do this for a long time now, but it is a big investment to make and we haven’t been able to do it yet, but hope that we will be able to replace the TV’s soon, at least gradually. We would also like to apologise if the meal ordered through Room Service and the quality of the service provided on this occasion did not correspond to our usual standards and assure you that we will do our utmost to improve.
Unfortunately, we won’t be able to change the other points mentioned by you. We are aware that most hotels in Ireland and the UK offer irons as a standard, but we as most other hotels in the area, do not have them available as a standard, but offer them as an extra service and upon request. Although it might be difficult for guests to understand, we are also not able to sell drinks at supermarket prices. A hotel has standards to guarantee, a whole different structure and staffing level and therefore will never be able to compete with supermarket prices. Also, our location, though not in the centre of Albufeira, is not so remote that we could charge exorbitant prices. Both, Oura and Olhos d’Água, are in walking distance and on the way are a few restaurants, cafes and several supermarkets, being one located almost in front of the Resort.
We are glad that you still enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed here last May with our 2 kids 3 and 9. For the kids club alone this place is worth it. The staff were amazing, always cheerful & friendly. The kids spent a couple of hours most afternoons here for a break from the hot afternoon sun. The mornings were spent in the heated pool we always founds loungers close by to keep an eye on them and they met new friends in the pool each day. We had the luxury of a few hours to ourselves each afternoon to have a glass of wine and chat. It is a requirement of the kids club that you stay on site while the kids are there which is fine as most days we stated by the pool or relaxed on the veranda of our apartment over looking another pool & green area. The accomodation itself was fine, it could probably do with a refurb we stayed here 5 years ago and it is still the same. They are brightly coloured and have all you would need apart from an oven in the kitchenette. Only noticed as my daughter wanted to buy a fresh pizza at the local supermarket one evening. Hotel was very quiet in the evenings which was ok for us as we are usually up early & to bed early with the kids. Adjoining beach beautiful for a morning walk. All round good value quality hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms in hotel on 2/3 floor seem to have the best view. Apartments beside green areas great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SerendipityCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review and for having visited the Grande Real Santa Eulália again.
We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the Kid’s Club. Thank you also for your suggestion to refurbish the Resort Suites and equip them with an oven. We are constantly carrying out Maintenance works in our Resort and have just finished painting some of our Resort Suites, but there are no plans for a complete redecoration and installation of new equipment, at least not in the immediate future.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália.

Kind regards


Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallorca
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The hotel is quite okay, but I would take them one star away, it doesn't look like a 5 star hotel. The rooms and beds should be improved. The views are great, the swimming pool is fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapiszon292929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.
We sincerely regret that you feel that we do not deserve our 5-star rating. We agree that the decoration of our rooms is not modern, but classic and that our televisions are certainly not the latest state-of-the-art equipment, but our hotel offers quality services and facilities and fulfills all criteria required for a 5-star Hotel and has therefore earned and deserved its classification, even if the decoration of the room, is, arguably, not everybody’s taste.
We hope that despite of this you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to spend a relaxing and pleasant time.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We arrived at around 10pm after our transfer by Yellowfish Transfers who were excellent and efficient. Upon arriving we walked into the lobby of this hotel and then over two reception, were we waited for 5 minutes for the receptionists to finish looking down at their computers and walking around until finally we were acknowledged.

The check-in process was fast once they finally decide to look at us and the receptionist was friendly. After receiving our key cards and an envelope stuffed full of promotional leaflets on dolphin cruises and plenty of other rubbish we were directed to the elevators. We were staying on the second floor in a standard resort view room ( we did wish to pay for an upgrade but we were told throughout our stay one was not available, even though the on-line booking showed plenty of availability PATHETIC.)

Arriving to our room which was average decor at best with a stain on the ceiling, stained carpet but at least the beds had been turned down. Having a look around the room I discovered a mattress topper in the wardrobe which was very beneficial as I don't take to sleeping on concrete beds when I come to so called 5 star hotels. As for the bed linen it was of terrible quality and the pillows, well they must have been el Tesco Value.

We were hungry and decided to order room service which turned out to be a complete rip off. A hamburger, Pepsi, Vanilla Ice Cream and rolls totalled over 30 euro. To add to insult we asked for a plain hamburger which was of course not fulfilled in this hostel and came with all the rubbish on top. NICE ONE!

The following morning we went down for breakfast which was rather busy even at 8.00 am. I must say the first morning we had Breakfast it was excellent, however all good things come to an end and it got gradually worse each morning of our 5 night stay. On the last day of our holiday whilst eating breakfast at a window far away from any of the open doors and to our horror we were eating surrounded by flies. Needless to say we walked out in disgust at how this HOLE can say they are Grande or 5 star is beyond me.

One day at the pool bar we ordered a pot of Tea and Pepsi. The pot of Tea came complete with a stained plastic cup and saucer (Disgusting vile hotel) and the Pepsi we noticed had flies on the lemon. Oh yes the Pepsi came in a plastic beaker for me to drink out of. I have never been to any hotels that give me plastic beakers to drink out of, it truly shows how rubbish this place is.

The Restaurant Santa Eulalia, well if you like eating like cannibals this is the place for you, the food was disgusting and as for the service my next paragraph deals with you. Once the waiters discovered we did not take to eating pig food they began to ignore us, we paid the bill and got out of that awful place. I think this hotel has a fascination with serving their drinks in plastic beakers, as we again received this at the Cafe close to the beach.

The pool area is a joke, I think they designed it for the umpa lumpurs to paddle in as it was far too small. We decided to use the pool area round by the resort apartments which was quiet. I must say it was like stepping into a third world country. The deck boards around the pool had peeling paint, broken parasols, seagulls in the pools. The sun loungers that the hotel expects you to lie on are terrible and the most uncomfortable sun loungers I have ever sat on, CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP.

The spa is a complete rip off, I paid 17 euros to use what I though would be a great pool area, sauna and steam room. Instead I was greeted by a salty pool which I nearly choked on after getting a mouthful and the sauna was out of order. THIS HOTEL DISGUSTS ME!

This place really needs to close for a full refurbishment, buy some Glass Glasses! paint the pool areas, replace the loungers, hire the fly patrol, replace the carpets... Oh what the heck just knock the place down. I do not recommend anyone stays here unless you like squalor.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear guest,

We always try our very Best to make our guests stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible and regret that we did not succeed in this case. Whilst we understand that there is always room for improvement, we do certainly not agree that the only possible solution would be to knock the Resort down and although some comments were very offensive, we will try to interpret them in a constructive way and do our utmost to continuously improve our quality of our service and facilities.
Still, we are surprised by the amount of unpleasant and “disgusting” experiences you claim to have had in our Resort and your review is certainly not representative for the usual feedback we receive. Unfortunately, it is however not possible to please all guests all the time, and, in this case, and no matter how hard we would try we would never be able to satisfy you completely, as there are some things that we are not able and will not change, as for instance the fact that drinks by the pool and beach are served not in plastic, but in polycarbonate glasses. This obviously is done for health and safety reasons, as guests walk around barefoot and could hurt themselves with broken glass. Also, the “salty pool” is a Thalasso circuit. As you probably know, Thalasso is a treatment and requires the use of sea water, which unfortunately is salty, so we won’t be able to change that either.
Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#66 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Property: Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing