We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Ranked #11 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. The lobby and reception are stunning and I instantly felt we had made the right choice. We stayed in room 137 which is a two room / two bathroom suite that is on the groundfloor and looks over the pool and beach but is still very private and peaceful. I loved sitting on our balcony of an evening hearing waves lapping onto the beach. The room was beautiful, clean and comfortable and was cleaned every day by a lovely lady who even made sure my daughter's teddy and blanket were laid out on her bed ready for bedtime. There was a tv (cartoon network for the kids) and mini bar in each room plus a safe with a pin code entry.
We stayed half-board and would recommend this option as the food can be expensive. The restaurant for breakfast served a wide selection of options, our children loved the pancakes and chocolate sauce. The fresh fruit was always ripe and delicious but they also served the good old "full english". Don't worry about your morning cuppa, they provide english breakfast tea. Lunch and dinner was always buffet style consisting of a few meat and fish options with plenty of different salad, pasta and potatoe accompaniments. The only very slight criticism I would make of the food is that the childrens menu was very limited which could leave fussy eaters with the same food every night (my 6 year old daughter lived on bread and chicken and red jelly but my 9 year old son loved the food).
The pool area consisted of three pools, a small shallow baby pool, a larger fresh water warm pool and a larger cold salt water pool. There were plenty of good quality sunbeds and parasols and the hotel provided beach towels daily for the loungers. There was also a poolside snack bar that was alot cheaper than the main restaurants.
The only criticism of the hotel would be the kids club. We were assured that we could leave the kids at the club and they would not be allowed to leave unless we collected them and this was the case on their first two occassions they went but on movie night our children made their way back to our room on their own. To be fair to the hotel, movie night might have been the exception to the normal rule and maybe we should have checked at the time also our kids are very sensible and knew to come back to the room. For this reason we didn't feel the need to complain.
We used the free bus into Albufeira on one day. We got the 10:20 into Albufeira and the 16:05 back and had no problem getting seats. The journey took approx 10-15mins but a taxi would have only cost about 7 euros if the bus was full. I think Albufeira has had it's day, it was dirty, scruffy and stank of sewage in parts and if you love browsing tat shops then you will be in heaven because that is all there is. If there was a quaint old fishing town there somewhere then it's long gone. The tat is also not cheap.
TIPS...
Get an odd numbered suite (they seem to have the sea views whereas the even numbers look onto the car park and entrance)
Book half board and use vouchers for dinner. Then buy your lunches at the snack bar or leave the hotel, turn right and walk 5 mins up the road to a supermarket and stock up on drinks and goodies that can be stored in the minibars.
Go and have dinner at the beach front Santa Eulalia Restaurant that accept your meal vouchers, the fresh fish is delicious and the view is divine.
Use Bravo Tor for your airport transfer, they were fab, friendly and efficient.
Overall a great holiday made possible by a great hotel and it's staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LadyAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and very detailed review about our Hotel, its services and facilities.

We are very glad that you and your family have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that our team was able to make it even more special and memorable.

Thank you also for sharing useful tips in order to allow other guests to make the most out of their stay, which we and, prospective guests for sure as well, really appreciated. We would just like to add that the only way to guarantee a sea view is to book this category, so we would recommend everyone for whom an ocean view is really important to book a sea view room, Sea view Suite or Real Suite.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA and assure you that we will do our utmost to make your next stay as or even more enjoyable.

Kind regards



João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,730 - 1,736 of 3,081 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

Very good hotel..... car hire recommended as just too far to either Montechoro or Olhos d'agua.
Quiet location for relaxing stay. Nice beach but if you prefer a longer beach.... faleisa beach is fairly close.
Hotel shuttle bus to Albufeira each evening but limited in numbers.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AaronCaddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Guest,

We are happy that you have spent an enjoyable, relaxing time at the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA and would like to thank you for your kind review.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another pleasant experience and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards



João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

A really fantastic hotel and resort, it provides everything for a really enjoyable holiday, a five star complex at five star prices, so was a bit disappointed that still had to pay if I wanted to use the wifi.

Booked a studio apartment which had everything we need for a self catering holiday, including being able to sit out on a balcony to have breakfast, or any other meals. The apartment had all the facilities you needed, was clean and well decorated, BUT as we found at the weekend, with an influx of weekenders, noise carries from one apartment, and we were subjected to banging doors and load music in the early hours on Saturday/Sunday nights. We were allocated an apartment at the back of the property, which suited us only to find that an adjoining property had a dog that enjoyed barking in the early hours of the morning, causing disruption of sleep.

We only used the restaurants once, on the last morning for breakfast and it was excellent, providing everything you needed from a buffet breakfast.

If we return to this resort again, we certainly would make better use of the facilities it has to offer, but would recommend this to anyone, however we probably would not book an apartment again.

Room Tip: Avoid the apartments, unless you are prepared to put up with potential noise from neighbours, such a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flowingfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are even considering returning, which is the biggest compliment a Hotel can hope for.

Please do not hesitate to contact our reception team as they will be able to assist you with anything you might require, including “neighbours” that disturb the peace at night.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Just like my previous stay in Algarve ( Filipa, see previous review) this hotel is graded 5 stars when truthfully it is not, unless of course Algarve hotels grading system is not up to UK standards.
However, having started out on a negative comment, I have to say our stay was very good, and it was only the decor in rooms, and little extras you get at 5 star establishments that let it down.
The staff were excellent, at all times polite and helpful. Food, well breakfast was brilliant buffet with all you could expect, and chef cooking to order when required ( I had poached eggs and no trouble having this cooked in front of me)
Evening meal, well we went half board, and I would say the buffet was good, albeit a little below par just before we left, with numbers in hotel falling due to date ( we left mid sept) the quality started to suffer. I would however say it was not worth the 38 euros per head walk in price, if you are going to eat make sure part of package when book.
The pool area in main hotel was brilliant, overlooking the sea, 3 pools, and plenty of sun beds, however would question if enough during peak summer. One grumble, for a 5 star I would have expected cushions for the loungers.
We stayed in a sea view suite which I have to say disappointed, the decor very substandard for a 5 star, however room size was good. We even had an old style 1990's tv in room!
The biggest disappointment however was reserved for the town itself. The hotel is situated some 20 minutes walk from Albufeira, which is split into 2, The Strip and Old Town. 20 minutes walk from hotel takes you to The Strip, which if you like Sky Sports, Karaoke, and Foam Bars, plus absolute rubbish shopping, then this is for you, a further 30 minutes walk, or taxi, or free shuttle from hotel, takes you into the second part called Old Town. We had visions of cobbled streets, quaint shopping and lovely atmosphere, we got the exact opposite! Same as Strip, but extended around several areas, this is not what we expected, it really is Margate on a Sat night, albeit warmer! Did not feel safe in evening, we left as drunks began to emerge around 10pm. Would not like to be around this resort during peak summer! Maybe during day it is different.
In summary, hotel was good but not 5 star, please do not go with 5 stars in mind, you will be disappointed, town itself dreadful and would never return.

Room Tip: Sea Views excellent, Suite very outdated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Molby_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is very difficult to meet the individual tastes and preferences of all our guests when it comes to the décor of the room. Whilst some prefer a classy design, as ours, others prefer a more modern style, as you do. We therefore would like to suggest you for your next trip to the Algarve our sister Hotel in Olhão, where you will find the hospitality and the high-quality service of the Hotéis Real Algarve, which you enjoyed so much, but in a Hotel with a modern, contemporary design, located in a typical, charming fisherman’s town.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Hotéis Real Algarve and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Room:
Ground floor close to the road, a little traffic noise but not too bad. Pool right below us so kids could go in it with us watching from the balcony area. Excellent condition - staff said these rooms get less wear as they are less popular, being furthest from reception/dining building. Can cook a basic meal in the little kitchen area (2 rings). Maids came every day, clean towels etc.& made beds.
Pools:
three pool areas, all pools too small for real swimming. As the sea is so VERY cold we were surprised the pools weren't bigger. Little bar at each. Free beach towel use.
Food:
Breakfast buffet excellent quality & variety & always topped up in time. Didn't try evening buffet (38 euros a head walk-in price! Ouch!). Lunch at cafe overlooking the sea good value. Drinks (inc fizzy) prices pretty scary but to be expected in 5 star place. Minimarket within 2 mins walk, other bigger places 5 to 10 mins away. Tap water safe but tastes better when chilled.
People:
Friendly, helpful, locals and staff seemed genuinely pleased to see you. Portuguese fiendishly hard to learn so go armed with a few basic phrases to start with to be polite, then everyone v happy to speak English.
Kids Club:
Very flexible, drop in & out. Spacious & cool in basement of main building.
Beach:
2 mins walk from pool through locked gate, clean & lovely, quite small, sunbeds if you want.
Weather:
Hot in late August but breezy too makes it bearable. V pleasant. No bitey bugs that we noticed.
Free internet access in main building, v slow but useful for the odd Google.
Summary: v impressed, will probably return.

Room Tip: "Resort view" can mean car parking area view. Next to road is 3 min walk to reception are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happybrits_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Guest,

We really appreciated your kind, detailed review of our Resort and are very happy that you were impressed with our services and thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I cannot fault this hotel. The best place I have ever stayed in. Room was really big with a lovely view of the beach. Absolutely lovely reception area, pools, bars, restaurants, staff. Food was really nice. I can't believe people can moan about this hotel! Please ignore all other reviews and go and enjoy your holiday. You will not be disappointed. I want to go back asap!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaB2720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review and enthusiastic comments!
It was a real pleasure to read your review and to learn that your stay was not only enjoyable, but an absolutely perfect dream holiday.

Thank you once again, on behalf of the whole team, for your kind comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the Grande Real Santa Eulália.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Booked a 3 night stay on Booking.com. Nice Ocean view room, good facilities, and great beach.
Can imagine in high season it is madness, but mid September it is still hot and much quieter.

Would certainly come back for a long period again.

Food good, not outstanding but what you expect from a. Mainstream 4-5* hotel.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália and especially the stunning views and the quiet and relaxing atmosphere of our Resort.

Thank you so much for having shared your experience on Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again for another pleasant stay.

Kind regards



João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
1,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#13 of 154 in Albufeira
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £51 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing