We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good classic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Ranked #11 of 153 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Stayed here in November as a celebration but have been here twice before. Very nicely decorated and kept exceptionally clean. Only had bed and breakfast as was far cheaper to go into either the "strip" or the old town to eat. Our room on the third floor had a seaview which was extremely quiet apart from the crashing of the waves. Tastefully decorated, king size bed which was (as is usual in most 4/5* hotels) bit too firm. Bathroom was very nice indeed and kept exceptionally clean. Plenty of wardrobe space with enough hangers which makes a pleasant change. Small fridge and non-flatscreen tv. Were a bit worried about our room being near the lift as it makes a strange noise when it opens (the lift that is) but never heard anything at night so no problem. The staff were very helpful on reception and the guys in the bar were very pleasant and looked after you well. There is a very nice beach bar where they offer a pretty good selection of snacks, meals, ice creams and drinks. Beautiful to sit there of a lunchtime on a sunny day, very relaxing. Excellent selection of food for breakfast, could'nt fault that at all, and everything was nicely cooked. There also was a good selection of pastries and rolls and other items too numerous to mention. A waiter or waitress came to your table to offer tea or coffee but you could help yourself to other drinks if you wanted. There was also sparkling wine in an ice bucket if you preferred something alcoholic! We used the courtesy bus quite a lot to get into the old town of an evening but the last bus from the hotel leaves at 6.20pm which, although a bit early, saves you a taxi fare. We always left some coins for the driver, as did other guests. The bus stopped off at both the new town "The Strip" and the old town. Very easy to get a taxi back in the evening from wherever and the fares ranged from about 4 to 6 euros - works out cheaper than eating at the hotel! Quite costly to drink at the hotel bar. Some days the weather was so bad we could'nt get out and cost us a fortune to stay in. Every time we have stayed at this hotel there has been some sort of conference being held by firms in Portugal. You may therefore notice quite a few people in suits walking around which might appear to be a bit disconcerting but was really no problem at all - we just dressed casually as did other people. Quite a few of the larger hotels like this have conferences, even in the summer. Very quiet in the evening apart from a singer on Saturday and Sunday nights in the bar area which we felt was totally unnecessary especially as there were only a few couples sitting down, all a bit embarrassing really. This is a spa hotel and the facilities were excellent but again expensive and we were offered a 40 euros reduction on any treatments over 85 euros. A lot of people used the spa.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madeformadeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review.

As we already said, there is no bigger compliment than a returning guest and the fact that you already visited us three times and enjoyed every single sty with us, is really the greatest sign of appreciation we can hope for.

Thank you very much, also for sharing many useful tips and recommendations with future guests and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,712 - 1,718 of 3,114 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel end of October 2012 5* it is not 3* at most Very expensive even had to pay for use of pool. Most of the staff were good. The carpet in our was FILTHY Mini bar didnt keep any cold. Air conditioning had to be repaired whilw we were there. If you liked recycled food your fine, Evening leftovers uses next night with sauce poured over it Rashers were always "streaky" never "back" Rem this is supposed to be a 5* hotel There was plenty of food if you werent fussy. Several desserts nightly almost all based on eggwhite.Very boring in the evening,must get a taxi to wherever you want to go as this hotel is NOT within walking distance of anything. would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank axed18605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We sincerely regret that you were disappointed by your stay at our Resort and especially by our food. We try to offer an as diversified selection as possible and include typical dishes and desserts, which you obviously didn’t like, but we will pass your comments on to our Executive Chef and will take them into consideration.

Please note however that we do not serve leftovers with sauce on our evening buffets and that we do not charge for the use of the leisure pools. We do charge for the Thalasso Thermal Circuit in our Spa, since it is a treatment and not a pool.

Thank you once again for your feedback and please be assured that we will try our utmost to improve wherever we can and to maintain our high standards of cleanliness and service.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you again for an hopefully improved experience.

Kind regards



João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel is not 5 star like you get in an Irish 5 Star more like 3 Star at most !!
Beach Good .Lobby Good .Sea View Good.
Bedroom, Bed, Bathroom, Very Very Poor.Staff not helpful
Spa you have to pay every time you use indoor Pool.
Outside Pools Small
When we were there in Oct they never told us they had only one Resturant open.
Very Disappointed,only one good thing the weather was great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mary2144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We regret that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay at our Resort and were especially surprised that you considered our staff to be not helpful, since usually the helpfulness and friendliness of our team is the point that guests appreciate and praise most.

Thank you for your comments and please be assured that we will try our utmost to improve and to make your next stay more comfortable and enjoyable, by placing, for instance, mattress toppers on your bed. In order to avoid misunderstandings, we would also like to clarify that we do not have an Indoor Pool and the reason that we charge for the “pool” in the Spa is, that it is a Thalasso Thermal Circuit, a treatment itself. For anyone who wants to benefit the most of its healing properties, we recommend to look for our special Spa packages, which often include the use of the Thalasso circuit.

We look forward to welcoming you again and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A family holiday here in July and it was amazing. We booked a sea view suite which was fantastic as our son has his own room with separate bathroom which he was thrilled with. The food was brilliant - especially the bread and cakes available at breakfast, I couldn't get enough of that. My only gripe would be the location as we like to walk a lot and where it is situated there isn't a nice promenade or much in the vicinity that make walking a pleasure, but other than that we hope to return sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edith56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate all reviews, but the ones we enjoy reading the most are obviously the ones from guests who have spent a perfect time with us, like you did.

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review and we look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable family holiday.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed at the end of October and had a very pleasant stay. We had a resort view room which was fine, view isn't too bad & the room was everything we required- bathrobes, mini fridge, water etc. The resort is very spacious & it is beside the beach. As the weather was cold we didn't use the outdoor pools but used the indoor salt water pool which is fab but is very expensive at €15 per person for an hour/hour & a half. The breakfast is very good & the staff were very helpful & friendly. It was quiet this time of year but we expected that. Overall, had a lovely time at this hotel & would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brookieireIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed with our services and facilities, especially our Thalasso Thermal Circuit, although you were surprised by its price. Since it is a treatment, its use has to be charged, but as a small tip for anyone planning to use it frequently: some Spa packages or special offers include its use. Please contact us for further information or advice about the package that could suit your individual preferences and needs most.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I stayed for the last week in October 2012 with my wife.

We flew from Bristol to Faro, took a private transfer from Faro direct to the hotel (£50 return). On arrival, the hotel looked just as good as it did on the websites and brochures. The reception staff were very professional and ever so helpful throughout the entire holiday. The hotel was incredibly clean, tidy and we could not fault it. From the room attendants to the management, the standards were extremely high. The main restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was superb with a vast choice for everyone including continental, English, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, cakes, breads, fruit, juices, champagne................the list is endless.

We stayed on a half board basis. Evening dinner in the main restaurant was either A la carte or a buffet at choice. Each person had a 39 Euro allowance at dinner which included the food, but not drinks. The A la carte menu was the same each night but the buffet was different every day with plenty of choice. There really was something for everyone. The restaurant staff really were professional - they had obviously been very well trained in every aspect and knew exactly what to do and when to do it.

My only criticism was that the wine list (although varied) was very expensive, but then this was a 5* hotel.

The beach below the hotel had a beach restaurant (same staff, I think) but where the wines were considerably cheaper than in the main restaurant. The menu included snacks, lunches etc.

Our room was on the 3rd floor (339) we had upgraded to a suite for an additional £180 (total) before we left the UK. The suite had a lounge, bedroom, two bathrooms, two fridges, two balconies, 2 TV's including one large, modern flat screen one. The bed was comfortable and the rooms were extremely clean and cleaned/serviced daily without exception.

The hotel clientele were pleasant and more discerning than you would get in the more popular (cheaper) hotels. For example, the vast majority of children who used the hotel restaurant knew how to behave, could use a knife and fork and were dressed nicely by their parents. The hotel is about 5 or 6 minutes drive from Albufeira (which wasn't our most favourite place). That particular part of Portugal has quite a few big "concrete" towns which we tend to avoid. We took a couple of excursions out into the country which was much more pleasant. The Grande Reale Santa Eulalia is placed in a superb location with an absolutely fabulous beach right underneath the hotel. The sea was audible from our rooms and we had a fantastic view.

We stayed during the last week of October, so not all of the bars and restaurants were open at the hotel, nor was the demand there. The main restaurant, the main bar, beach restaurant and occasionally the poolside bar was open. It was more than warm enough even during the last week of October to swim in the pools and sit outside in the sun.

We had a super stay at the hotel and would like to thank each and every member of staff at the hotel for making out holiday such a good one.

Room Tip: The higher, the better! The rooms higher up have fantastic views. Ensure a pool/sea view, not a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank informatorchoristaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your detailed review and to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciated your kind comments, especially the ones about our staff and we would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team. We know how hard they try to make our guests stay as enjoyable and special as possible and we are very proud that these efforts are recognised and so much valued.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully soon, to the Grande Real Santa Eulália.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My wife and I had a lovely 6 day break at this beautiful hotel, we found the rooms nice and tidy and the staff were very friendly and polite. The pool area and sun terrace had plenty of sun loungers and there was no hassle in obtaining one for the day. We particularly liked the Cafe Atlantico where we would go for lunch, we found the food and drink here very enjoyable and not costly, it also overlooks the beautiful beach. Although we did not have dinner at the hotel the breakfast was very good with a good selection of food available. Overall I would definatley stay at the hotel again and found it the perfect place to relax and enjoy the Algarve.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank matty19642016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear Guest,

A returning guest is one of the biggest compliments for a Hotel. Therefore it was really gratifying to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you would recommend us and return without hesitation.

Thank you so much for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you again for another enjoyable, relaxing stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 153 in Albufeira
1,019 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
2.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 153 in Albufeira
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 153 in Albufeira
257 reviews
1.7 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 153 in Albufeira
2,467 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £49 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing