We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not five star . Wouldn't rush back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Ranked #11 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not five star . Wouldn't rush back.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Pool areas crowded and pools disappointingly small for those who like a proper swim as opposed to a play amongst the kids. Indoor pool proved to be part of the spa and attracted a charge of 15 euros. It was empty!! Residents should have had the use of it included.

Evening entertainment was provided by a lone guitarist stood in a corner on the verandah. Food was good as was the view over the sea in the evening whilst dining.

No British tv except for the news.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnyboyodis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We regret that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay in our Resort and especially with the pools. July and August are our busiest months and attract many families with children. Due to the increased number of guests the pool areas are obviously not as quiet as they might be during other periods, but we offer three different pool areas in our Resort and usually the ones by the Resort Suites are a good alternative for guests who seek quietness and relaxation.

We would also like to clarify that we do not have an Indoor Pool. The pool in our Spa is a treatment pool, a Thalasso Thermal Circuit, which is a renowned therapy. Being a treatment it is charged and also because we need to guarantee peace and tranquility, essential for the success of treatments. We do offer however Spa packages and cures which already include the use of the Thalasso Thermal Circuit, as well as other treatments.
Just contact us before your next visit as we will be happy to advise you travel periods and packages that might suit you better.

We look forward to welcoming you again and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,354
    781
    267
    85
    31
See reviews for
976
956
46
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Short trip but was upgraded to apartment as partners birthday. Great food, pools, gym, spa, close to beach! We had an amazing 4 days here! Magical stay, we will go back as close to airport and Albufeira too!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review, how much you enjoyed your stay and how impressed you were with the Resort, food, facilities and the value for money received.

Thank you so much for having shared your feedback with us and on Tripadvisor and we are already looking forward to welcoming you again for another magical stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel claims to be a five star hotel - complete JOKE! We arrived via private driver, were told by our travel agent this is a romantic getaway with a private beach and it was anything but that. We counted 3 couples without kids and it was a complete free for all. Imagine, other Europeans on holiday with their kids and none of them care about anyone else. This place was a nightmare. The front desk service was a joke, there was no service, they made no attempt to wait on us, we had to ask to be checked in several times before any of the four talking amongst themselves would help. The food was crap banquet food you would see in an all you can eat restaurant (and the food at this place was even worse than that). There is no private beach access, they have a guy collecting 5euros for each hour to use a chair per person, the only good thing was the bar service after the kids went off for the night. The downtown area is a joke as well, unless you like the trinket shops you would see lining Daytona beach. A never return venture. Don't waste your money.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank RknRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret that neither our Resort, nor the town corresponded to your expectations.

We indeed do not have a private beach, but we also do not claim to have one, as there are no private beaches in Portugal at all. The concession of the beach is also not run by the Hotel and we therefore have no one collecting money for the use of the loungers or shades at the beach, nor do we have influence on the prices charged for this. We believe though that the price is €15 or 20 per day and not €5 per hour. Please note as well that we do have a beach access that is exclusively for our guests.
We also regret that you were not satisfied with the food served in our restaurants and the friendliness and efficiency of our staff. Most feedback we receive is extremely positive and we do not understand why your experience has been different, but we will inform the department heads in charge.

Thank you for your feedback and be assured that we will try to improve wherever we can. It would be a big pleasure for us to be able to welcome you back to our Resort, as we trust that you would enjoy it more if visiting us on other seasons than the summer holidays, during which we as a Family Resort, receive many families with children.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel last year with one friend and we liked it so much that we came back this year with a group of 8 . However we were disappointed with the overall service this year. The bedrooms are lovely and they are cleaned to a high standard daily.the locations and pool area are also lovely. The service however really lets this hotel down. We arrived on sat 20th July.8 of us arrived in total at 11pm. While checking in the reception staff were very rude and horrible. They were firstly overcharging us for breakfast and when I questioned this I was told to "calm down". Then they told another girl in our group to "be quiet". We booked the hotel in January and requested the rooms close by and we were given 4 rooms miles apart from each other.then another member of staff came in a buggy to drop us to the studio. He threw our bags at the bottom of the steps and drove on.This is not 5 star standard. Also our key card decoded 3 times in total during our stay and the staff kept saying we were due to check out that day which was incorrect. Also breakfast is not 5 star standard-i have received better breakfasts in 3 stars. You have to queue for everything. The rashers,eggs etc were cold every morning. I raised my complaints with a staff manager and she barely acknowledged them. To conclude I will not return to this hotel again.The service is a big let down to a nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dublin_Laurc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with your stay at our Resort.

It was especially disappointing that the reason for this, was precisely the point that guests usually praise the most, which is the service provided by our staff.
We apologise if on this occasion it was not up to our usual standards and assure you that we will do our utmost to provide a constantly high quality service at all times and facilities.

Thank you for having shared your feedback with us and we look forward to welcoming you again for an hopefully improved and more enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Bellavista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had a truly wonderful holiday, by we have very mixed feelings about the Hotel. I will outline some great, good and poor points for future travellers.

Firstly, I would like to say that the Portuguese people were so welcoming throughout our holiday. The staff in the hotel were very helpful and our self catering accommodation was immaculate. We had daily maid service and the cleaner was meticulous to detail. Towels changed daily, and pool/beach towels available from reception each day, which was great. As a family travelling with 2 children aged 8 and 11 the accommodation was perfect. We chose to book a 2 bedroom apartment for extra space. This was ideal, as it offered 2 bathrooms and showers and was definitely worth the extra money. From our accommodation we had a great view of the pools and garden. Air conditioning can also be altered on a per room basis,

Great pool area. The blue flag public beach in front of the Hotel is wonderful, but you should be aware that there are a considerable number of steps to the beach which is difficult with a buggy or anyone with mobility issues.

We used the Hotel gym on one occasion during the trip. As a runner I brought my gear to avail of the treadmills as I didn't want to run in the heat. However, although the gym had 2 treadmills, both were out of order, which was really disappointing,

The Hotel restaurants are very expensive. Lots of choice at breakfast with great fresh fruit, drinks, pastries, cold meats and breads. However, the cooked breakfast was cold every morning no matter what time we arrived. 1st into the breakfast room on 1 of the mornings, but it was still cold?? Also,if you arrive for breakfast after 9.00 the queue to get into the restaurant is huge. This meant getting out of bed early every morning to miss the queue. Tiring!!!!

A lovely restaurant called Restaurante Martins just outside the gates of the Hotel. Supermarkets are about a 5 minute walk. A beach bar offered reasonably priced snacks, lollies, ice creams and drinks, although these are outside the Hotel. The old town of Albuferiera is about 10 mins in a taxi and roughly 14 euros return. Villamoura was about 20 mins and roughly 30 euros return. The Hotel offers excursions to the Zoo Marine and Waterpark. My sister took her kiddies on the Waterpark trip and felt this was well worth it. Albuferiera is close by in a taxi. We felt it was better to visit Albuferiera in the mornings when it is less busy, as at night time it was packed and too much stress with 2 young kiddies. Getting back to the Hotel late also meant navigating a long taxi queue!!!!

The downside of this Hotel is that the children's animation and entertainment was very poor. We booked the Hotel knowing it was in a quiet location but it boasted entertainment and animation in the marketing materials. We therefore assumed that the Hotel would offer plenty of entertainment. This is not the case. When we arrived we were given a full itinerary of activities. However in reality the activities are so basic and more often didn't run due to lack of numbers. For example, children's disco cancelled due to lack of numbers. Water aerobics never happened. Play park consisted of a climbing frame with no swings, slides, sea saw or equipment for toddlers. The children's club was in a downstairs conference room during our stay which had a few toys at either corners of a room. For a five star hotel, the entertainment is 1 star for adults and children. During out stay the family entertainment consisted of a woeful jazz singer with an awful violin. The Hotel residents seemed to play cards in the lobby. We did buy a pack of cards and played 'Jack Change It' in our room!! Quiet with no atmosphere in the evenings and no reason to stay about the Hotel any evening as a family.

Overall, if you are interested in a quiet, relaxing break, far from the madding crowds, with the assurance of great accommodation, then this is the place for you. However, if you like good entertainment, or the facilities to walk to local amenities, then this Hotel may not tick all the boxes.

I would add that this Hotel has the potential to be exceptional given the right quality of family entertainment to match the brilliant accommodation.

Room Tip: As for a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barravore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review.

We were happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, but regret that the entertainment did not correspond to your expectations. We do offer a daily entertainment program with several activities for adults and children, and especially the ones with children are very popular, but it can occasionally happen that an activity is cancelled if the number of participants is not high enough. We will however pass your comments on to our Entertainment Manager and will check if anything can be done to attract even more guests or improve our entertainment.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I have just returned from a 2 week stay in a 'suite' (room 233) and I have to say that this place is not what it once was. Whilst the communal areas of the hotel, the location, the views etc. are probably worthy of 5 stars, the rooms themselves are in dire need of bringing up to date. The food is outstanding, especially the breakfast and the bar and restaurant staff cannot be faulted. However, the staff on Reception were not 5 star and to be brutally honest, I found them a little rude at times. Having been there with my two kids (aged 2 and 9 years old) they wanted to cool down in the room and watch a movie on different occasions. The first time, they fell asleep half way through the first film. The deal was sold on the basis that you are charged 10 euros to your room account for each film, but it is available to watch again and again for 24 hours. So, less than 12 hours after they fell asleep, we tried to put the first movie back on the TV (which is an old-school TV from circa 1988) in the room but it wouldn't work. We had to call a maintenance guy from Reception, who came but couldn't fix it so we went out and just left him to it. My wife complained to Reception that the kids could not finish watching the movie as a result and she agreed to credit the room account. Which we both thought was reasonable. The same thing happened again two nights later. Since my kids don't really want to spend their holidays wishing they could be watching a film instead of a maintenance guy fiddling around with the back of a TV, we took them out again. Again the lady on Reception said she would credit the room account. We did enjoy a couple of other films in the second week of the holiday and were able to watch them both again within the 24 hours, just as the hotel advertises. What really annoyed me was that upon checking our bill on the day of departure, there were two charges for 10 Euros for the two films that the Receptionist had agreed she would credit. It took them over half an hour to agree to remove the charges from the bill, which for room charges alone was well over 500 Euros. My wife and I were treated like we were trying to scam the hotel out of 20 Euros and frankly, I don't expect to be treated like that anywhere, let alone in a place which claims to be worthy of a 5 star rating. Frankly, it ruined our two weeks there, not least because we were left for such a long time whilst the Receptionist was going to and from the closed door behind Reception. I don't expect to go on holiday and be treated like a suspect. If they had merely honoured their offer to begin with, I would have left without such a sour taste in my mouth. It wouldn't be quite so bad if the TV was older than I am.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank weasel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

First of all, we would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused. The pay TV system does not belong to the Hotel, but to an independent company and we need to inform them about any rebates or technical problems, which is why the check-out process took longer than usual. It was certainly not our intention to treat you as a suspect or to keep you waiting. Our Reception Manager will be informed and we assure you that we will do our utmost to avoid similar situations in the future and to improve the communication within and between departments, which apparently caused the situation in the first place.

We are glad that you and your family still have spent an enjoyable time with us and that most services and facilities corresponded to your expectation. Please be assured that we will do our utmost to improve the ones that didn’t and it is a pleasure to inform you that we actually already started with one. We are currently replacing our televisions by new flat screens TV. Being it such a big Resort and with the high occupancies we have had, we were not able to replace all of them yet, but we hope that soon all our rooms will be equipped with flat screens.

We look forward to welcoming you again and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Excellent staff, especially those working in the kids club and waiting staff at breakfast. The breakfast buffet was excellent, although the rashers and sausages were very different to what we would have at home.
The one bed apartment was ample space for a family of four, with good cooking facilities. The cleaning staff were excellent and the room was cleaned every day to a very high standard (fresh towels and linen every day). However it is very important to security conscious travellers that cleaning staff check they have locked windows and doors.
There were lots of activities every day for children and there was also a lot to do in the local area for a ten and twelve year old.
However although it has its great location NEAR the beach, the hotel has no jurisdiction over the beach and so you have to pay €15 a day (€10 for half day) for 2 sunbeds and one umberella.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your kind review and how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

It was especially gratifying to learn how impressed you were with our staff and we will make sure that your comments will be passed on to them.

Thank you very much, also on behalf of our team, for your review and consideration and we look forward to welcoming you back for another lovely stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,041 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#73 of 154 in Albufeira
3,233 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
0.6 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Property: Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing