We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrun with children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Ranked #11 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

If you are looking for a romantic getaway, don't go to this place. It is advertised a family resort. The rooms are dark and have spiders. Spa was mediocre at best and overpriced. Food was terrible. And, it's not directly on the beach. If you want to have a chair, there's an additional charge. The front desk staff all need to take customer service classes as they have none. The only good thing about the resort is the bar - where the staff is very friendly. The place was crawling with little kids...

I would say if you are from the US, avoid the Albufeira all together. Save your money and go to Panama City as I'm sure it will be a similar experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CMT60605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We regret that your stay at our Resort did not correspond to your expectations, especially since there were more children staying with us than you expected.

As you mention we are advertised as a Family Resort and offer many facilities specifically for children as thus, it is not unusual that we receive families with children in our Resort, especially during school holidays. We are sure that a stay outside of school holiday periods would suit your expectations and needs better.
Please note as well that we are located just on top of the Santa Eulália Beach with a direct access to the beach. The beach however does not belong to the Hotel, nor is its concession run by us, which is why the chairs at the beach have to be paid.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again for hopefully a more enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,028)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,549 - 1,555 of 3,028 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed Bed and breakfast at this hotel in June and were very pleased with our choice regarding the location. It might not suit everyone as it's a bit of a walk (about 15-20 mins) to the centre of Albufeira where all the restaurants are, or around about 40 mins walk the other way to Olhos d'Agua, where there is also a good choice of bars and restaurants. It really suited us because we like to walk, especially when eating out on an evening, in order to work up an appetite. The location also means it's fairly quiet at night ensuring you can get a good nights sleep.
The room was very comfortable and the service, friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was pretty good. However, I don't consider the hotel is 5 star, so read on to find out why I think that.
It was disappointing to find there were no tea and coffee making facilities provided in the room. I like to make a drink when I wake in the morning. I did ask about this at reception and they confirmed this was the case, but said they could provide us with a kettle, although we'd have to provide our own tea and coffee etc. A trip to the supermarket then! Not impressed.
The pools were quite small although there were two other pool areas in different parts of the complex. There were notices that said the reserving of sunbeds was not allowed and unused sunbeds would have the towels and any other items removed after 30 minutes. This never happened, in fact, on a number of occasions sunbeds had towels on them all day and were never used. (People who do that I think are despicable.) The removal of towels by staff for this valid reason is to be applauded, if the rule was actually applied, but I'm not so sure that 30 minutes of sunbed vacancy is long enough. People can spend that amount of time at the pool bar or in the pool. I think and hour would be more realistic. It's academic anyway because the rule was never enforced while we were there.
The food at the pool bar was just sandwiches accompanied by a bag of crisps, no hot food at all which again was disappointing. If you wanted a hot meal at lunchtime you had to go into the restaurant or to the small independent eatery near the beach. To get to this eatery you had to go through a gate but needed your room key card to get back to the hotel because the gate was access controlled. We weren't told about this when we checked in so found ourselves locked out on the first day. Would've been nice to know beforehand. Also at reception we were not asked for a credit card as is usual when checking in. This led to some embarrassment when I was refused credit at the pool bar for drinks I'd ordered. I paid cash and later went to reception to register my credit card but the next day I was again denied credit. Apparently it still hadn't been set up.
I don't want anyone reading this to think we were unhappy with the hotel, we were not. We both really enjoyed our stay, but I take issue with the 5 star rating. The rooms were large and comfortable and we had a nice balcony that got the sun in the afternoon which was nice for relaxing with a Gin and Tonic before venturing out for dinner. We like to try different places so will probably not return unless we got a really good deal, but don't let that put you off. If you like a bit of a walk maybe this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with sea view. It's worth the extra in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeedsTravelnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are happy that you have spent an enjoyable stay with us and that you were impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of our team.

We regret however that not everything was perfect and would like to thank you for having left such detailed and constructive feedback. Please be assured that your comments will be passed on to the department heads in charge and that we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can.

It was gratifying to read that you would consider visiting us again, although you usually don’t repeat hotels, and we look forward to welcoming you again for an hopefully improved and even more enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Pool areas crowded and pools disappointingly small for those who like a proper swim as opposed to a play amongst the kids. Indoor pool proved to be part of the spa and attracted a charge of 15 euros. It was empty!! Residents should have had the use of it included.

Evening entertainment was provided by a lone guitarist stood in a corner on the verandah. Food was good as was the view over the sea in the evening whilst dining.

No British tv except for the news.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnnyboyodis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We regret that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay in our Resort and especially with the pools. July and August are our busiest months and attract many families with children. Due to the increased number of guests the pool areas are obviously not as quiet as they might be during other periods, but we offer three different pool areas in our Resort and usually the ones by the Resort Suites are a good alternative for guests who seek quietness and relaxation.

We would also like to clarify that we do not have an Indoor Pool. The pool in our Spa is a treatment pool, a Thalasso Thermal Circuit, which is a renowned therapy. Being a treatment it is charged and also because we need to guarantee peace and tranquility, essential for the success of treatments. We do offer however Spa packages and cures which already include the use of the Thalasso Thermal Circuit, as well as other treatments.
Just contact us before your next visit as we will be happy to advise you travel periods and packages that might suit you better.

We look forward to welcoming you again and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Short trip but was upgraded to apartment as partners birthday. Great food, pools, gym, spa, close to beach! We had an amazing 4 days here! Magical stay, we will go back as close to airport and Albufeira too!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review, how much you enjoyed your stay and how impressed you were with the Resort, food, facilities and the value for money received.

Thank you so much for having shared your feedback with us and on Tripadvisor and we are already looking forward to welcoming you again for another magical stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel claims to be a five star hotel - complete JOKE! We arrived via private driver, were told by our travel agent this is a romantic getaway with a private beach and it was anything but that. We counted 3 couples without kids and it was a complete free for all. Imagine, other Europeans on holiday with their kids and none of them care about anyone else. This place was a nightmare. The front desk service was a joke, there was no service, they made no attempt to wait on us, we had to ask to be checked in several times before any of the four talking amongst themselves would help. The food was crap banquet food you would see in an all you can eat restaurant (and the food at this place was even worse than that). There is no private beach access, they have a guy collecting 5euros for each hour to use a chair per person, the only good thing was the bar service after the kids went off for the night. The downtown area is a joke as well, unless you like the trinket shops you would see lining Daytona beach. A never return venture. Don't waste your money.

Stayed: July 2013
9  Thank RknRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We regret that neither our Resort, nor the town corresponded to your expectations.

We indeed do not have a private beach, but we also do not claim to have one, as there are no private beaches in Portugal at all. The concession of the beach is also not run by the Hotel and we therefore have no one collecting money for the use of the loungers or shades at the beach, nor do we have influence on the prices charged for this. We believe though that the price is €15 or 20 per day and not €5 per hour. Please note as well that we do have a beach access that is exclusively for our guests.
We also regret that you were not satisfied with the food served in our restaurants and the friendliness and efficiency of our staff. Most feedback we receive is extremely positive and we do not understand why your experience has been different, but we will inform the department heads in charge.

Thank you for your feedback and be assured that we will try to improve wherever we can. It would be a big pleasure for us to be able to welcome you back to our Resort, as we trust that you would enjoy it more if visiting us on other seasons than the summer holidays, during which we as a Family Resort, receive many families with children.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel last year with one friend and we liked it so much that we came back this year with a group of 8 . However we were disappointed with the overall service this year. The bedrooms are lovely and they are cleaned to a high standard daily.the locations and pool area are also lovely. The service however really lets this hotel down. We arrived on sat 20th July.8 of us arrived in total at 11pm. While checking in the reception staff were very rude and horrible. They were firstly overcharging us for breakfast and when I questioned this I was told to "calm down". Then they told another girl in our group to "be quiet". We booked the hotel in January and requested the rooms close by and we were given 4 rooms miles apart from each other.then another member of staff came in a buggy to drop us to the studio. He threw our bags at the bottom of the steps and drove on.This is not 5 star standard. Also our key card decoded 3 times in total during our stay and the staff kept saying we were due to check out that day which was incorrect. Also breakfast is not 5 star standard-i have received better breakfasts in 3 stars. You have to queue for everything. The rashers,eggs etc were cold every morning. I raised my complaints with a staff manager and she barely acknowledged them. To conclude I will not return to this hotel again.The service is a big let down to a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dublin_Laurc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with your stay at our Resort.

It was especially disappointing that the reason for this, was precisely the point that guests usually praise the most, which is the service provided by our staff.
We apologise if on this occasion it was not up to our usual standards and assure you that we will do our utmost to provide a constantly high quality service at all times and facilities.

Thank you for having shared your feedback with us and we look forward to welcoming you again for an hopefully improved and more enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Real Bellavista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had a truly wonderful holiday, by we have very mixed feelings about the Hotel. I will outline some great, good and poor points for future travellers.

Firstly, I would like to say that the Portuguese people were so welcoming throughout our holiday. The staff in the hotel were very helpful and our self catering accommodation was immaculate. We had daily maid service and the cleaner was meticulous to detail. Towels changed daily, and pool/beach towels available from reception each day, which was great. As a family travelling with 2 children aged 8 and 11 the accommodation was perfect. We chose to book a 2 bedroom apartment for extra space. This was ideal, as it offered 2 bathrooms and showers and was definitely worth the extra money. From our accommodation we had a great view of the pools and garden. Air conditioning can also be altered on a per room basis,

Great pool area. The blue flag public beach in front of the Hotel is wonderful, but you should be aware that there are a considerable number of steps to the beach which is difficult with a buggy or anyone with mobility issues.

We used the Hotel gym on one occasion during the trip. As a runner I brought my gear to avail of the treadmills as I didn't want to run in the heat. However, although the gym had 2 treadmills, both were out of order, which was really disappointing,

The Hotel restaurants are very expensive. Lots of choice at breakfast with great fresh fruit, drinks, pastries, cold meats and breads. However, the cooked breakfast was cold every morning no matter what time we arrived. 1st into the breakfast room on 1 of the mornings, but it was still cold?? Also,if you arrive for breakfast after 9.00 the queue to get into the restaurant is huge. This meant getting out of bed early every morning to miss the queue. Tiring!!!!

A lovely restaurant called Restaurante Martins just outside the gates of the Hotel. Supermarkets are about a 5 minute walk. A beach bar offered reasonably priced snacks, lollies, ice creams and drinks, although these are outside the Hotel. The old town of Albuferiera is about 10 mins in a taxi and roughly 14 euros return. Villamoura was about 20 mins and roughly 30 euros return. The Hotel offers excursions to the Zoo Marine and Waterpark. My sister took her kiddies on the Waterpark trip and felt this was well worth it. Albuferiera is close by in a taxi. We felt it was better to visit Albuferiera in the mornings when it is less busy, as at night time it was packed and too much stress with 2 young kiddies. Getting back to the Hotel late also meant navigating a long taxi queue!!!!

The downside of this Hotel is that the children's animation and entertainment was very poor. We booked the Hotel knowing it was in a quiet location but it boasted entertainment and animation in the marketing materials. We therefore assumed that the Hotel would offer plenty of entertainment. This is not the case. When we arrived we were given a full itinerary of activities. However in reality the activities are so basic and more often didn't run due to lack of numbers. For example, children's disco cancelled due to lack of numbers. Water aerobics never happened. Play park consisted of a climbing frame with no swings, slides, sea saw or equipment for toddlers. The children's club was in a downstairs conference room during our stay which had a few toys at either corners of a room. For a five star hotel, the entertainment is 1 star for adults and children. During out stay the family entertainment consisted of a woeful jazz singer with an awful violin. The Hotel residents seemed to play cards in the lobby. We did buy a pack of cards and played 'Jack Change It' in our room!! Quiet with no atmosphere in the evenings and no reason to stay about the Hotel any evening as a family.

Overall, if you are interested in a quiet, relaxing break, far from the madding crowds, with the assurance of great accommodation, then this is the place for you. However, if you like good entertainment, or the facilities to walk to local amenities, then this Hotel may not tick all the boxes.

I would add that this Hotel has the potential to be exceptional given the right quality of family entertainment to match the brilliant accommodation.

Room Tip: As for a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barravore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review.

We were happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, but regret that the entertainment did not correspond to your expectations. We do offer a daily entertainment program with several activities for adults and children, and especially the ones with children are very popular, but it can occasionally happen that an activity is cancelled if the number of participants is not high enough. We will however pass your comments on to our Entertainment Manager and will check if anything can be done to attract even more guests or improve our entertainment.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
2.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £46 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing