We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleased with this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Ranked #12 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very pleased with this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Myself and husband stayed 10 nights in this hotel in July 2103 and had a wonderful holiday. I feel I must review as to date they are so varied. Overall we had a wonderful holiday. Staff are amazing, friendly, especially bed room and restaurant staff. Amenities are great, 3 different pool areas, which always had a sun bed free. Food and beverages are expensive in comparison to other hotels in Portugal, but not to Ireland.
Yes there are a number of children, but they never said otherwise, not sure what some people expect, and no I don't have my own children.
I've never slept as well, blackout curtains, crisp sheets and the mattress toppers were all excellent.
I do agree it should not be listed as a five star, but if management wanted this could be achieved. Some ideas for improvement and to achieve 5 stars are. Bottled water in the room everyday & tea/coffee making facility. Make one pool area child free. Open indoor pool & sauna to guests. Replace sun towels with better quality ones and change when wet. More than one barman in the evening, trying to make all those wonderful cocktails.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tfortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are happy that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and that you took the time to leave us such constructive feedback.

Please be assured that your suggestions will be taken into consideration and we are pleased to inform you that some of them are actually already offered.
Although we do not provide tea and coffee facilities as a standard, we do have kettles available upon request. Just contact us before your next stay and we will equip your room with one.
We will also be pleased to inform you our packages and advise you the most suitable for you, as several packages include the use of the Thalasso Thermal Circuit and Sauna. The Thalasso Thermal circuit is a renowned treatment, recommended for the treatment of rheumatism, vertebral, respiratory or dermatological problems, depressions, etc. Being a treatment it is a charged service and a quiet and relaxed atmosphere, essential for the success of any therapy, is required, but packages and cures which already include its use are available.

Thank you once again for your feedback and be assured that we will try to improve wherever we can.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália for another pleasant stay with us.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,041
    602
    219
    67
    30
See reviews for
706
798
39
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moffat, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is a really beautiful hotel. We stayed in a one bed apartment in July 2013 and couldn't fault the accommodation, pools, beach, staff, room service and bars. The kids club deserves a special mention.... it is the best run kids club we've ever come across with an extremely high level of provision and incredibly good young staff. Our children wanted to spend so much time there.

The only areas we were disappointed with were regarding the evening meals. If they would only lower the buffet prices for the evening meal at the hotel restaurant it would be full instead of practically empty. The hilly walk to Albufeira to eat was a bit much for young kids. Also regarding the hotel restaurant on the sea front, we were annoyed to be brought (what we assumed was a complementary) starter plate and bread before the waiters took our order only to find we were charged for these at the end of the meal. This is not acceptable in our opinion considering we hadn't asked for these to be brought to the table. A bit of a con.

Otherwise a very lovely hotel and holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileenpalmer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review, which we really appreciated.

It was a pleasure to read it and how much you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the service provided by our team.
We will make sure that these comments will be shared with our team and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of them for your kindness.

Also your constructive comments will be taken into consideration and will be passed on to our F&B Manager. Regarding the bread, we would just like to note that in Portugal it is common for restaurants to serve bread and butter, sometimes also cheeses, olives, marinated carrots or fish as a starter, as standard. It is the so-called “couvert “ and listed in the menu together with the price.

Thank you once again or your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Kind regards

João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

If you are looking for a romantic getaway, don't go to this place. It is advertised a family resort. The rooms are dark and have spiders. Spa was mediocre at best and overpriced. Food was terrible. And, it's not directly on the beach. If you want to have a chair, there's an additional charge. The front desk staff all need to take customer service classes as they have none. The only good thing about the resort is the bar - where the staff is very friendly. The place was crawling with little kids...

I would say if you are from the US, avoid the Albufeira all together. Save your money and go to Panama City as I'm sure it will be a similar experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CMT60605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret that your stay at our Resort did not correspond to your expectations, especially since there were more children staying with us than you expected.

As you mention we are advertised as a Family Resort and offer many facilities specifically for children as thus, it is not unusual that we receive families with children in our Resort, especially during school holidays. We are sure that a stay outside of school holiday periods would suit your expectations and needs better.
Please note as well that we are located just on top of the Santa Eulália Beach with a direct access to the beach. The beach however does not belong to the Hotel, nor is its concession run by us, which is why the chairs at the beach have to be paid.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again for hopefully a more enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed Bed and breakfast at this hotel in June and were very pleased with our choice regarding the location. It might not suit everyone as it's a bit of a walk (about 15-20 mins) to the centre of Albufeira where all the restaurants are, or around about 40 mins walk the other way to Olhos d'Agua, where there is also a good choice of bars and restaurants. It really suited us because we like to walk, especially when eating out on an evening, in order to work up an appetite. The location also means it's fairly quiet at night ensuring you can get a good nights sleep.
The room was very comfortable and the service, friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was pretty good. However, I don't consider the hotel is 5 star, so read on to find out why I think that.
It was disappointing to find there were no tea and coffee making facilities provided in the room. I like to make a drink when I wake in the morning. I did ask about this at reception and they confirmed this was the case, but said they could provide us with a kettle, although we'd have to provide our own tea and coffee etc. A trip to the supermarket then! Not impressed.
The pools were quite small although there were two other pool areas in different parts of the complex. There were notices that said the reserving of sunbeds was not allowed and unused sunbeds would have the towels and any other items removed after 30 minutes. This never happened, in fact, on a number of occasions sunbeds had towels on them all day and were never used. (People who do that I think are despicable.) The removal of towels by staff for this valid reason is to be applauded, if the rule was actually applied, but I'm not so sure that 30 minutes of sunbed vacancy is long enough. People can spend that amount of time at the pool bar or in the pool. I think and hour would be more realistic. It's academic anyway because the rule was never enforced while we were there.
The food at the pool bar was just sandwiches accompanied by a bag of crisps, no hot food at all which again was disappointing. If you wanted a hot meal at lunchtime you had to go into the restaurant or to the small independent eatery near the beach. To get to this eatery you had to go through a gate but needed your room key card to get back to the hotel because the gate was access controlled. We weren't told about this when we checked in so found ourselves locked out on the first day. Would've been nice to know beforehand. Also at reception we were not asked for a credit card as is usual when checking in. This led to some embarrassment when I was refused credit at the pool bar for drinks I'd ordered. I paid cash and later went to reception to register my credit card but the next day I was again denied credit. Apparently it still hadn't been set up.
I don't want anyone reading this to think we were unhappy with the hotel, we were not. We both really enjoyed our stay, but I take issue with the 5 star rating. The rooms were large and comfortable and we had a nice balcony that got the sun in the afternoon which was nice for relaxing with a Gin and Tonic before venturing out for dinner. We like to try different places so will probably not return unless we got a really good deal, but don't let that put you off. If you like a bit of a walk maybe this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with sea view. It's worth the extra in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeedsTravelnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are happy that you have spent an enjoyable stay with us and that you were impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of our team.

We regret however that not everything was perfect and would like to thank you for having left such detailed and constructive feedback. Please be assured that your comments will be passed on to the department heads in charge and that we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can.

It was gratifying to read that you would consider visiting us again, although you usually don’t repeat hotels, and we look forward to welcoming you again for an hopefully improved and even more enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Pool areas crowded and pools disappointingly small for those who like a proper swim as opposed to a play amongst the kids. Indoor pool proved to be part of the spa and attracted a charge of 15 euros. It was empty!! Residents should have had the use of it included.

Evening entertainment was provided by a lone guitarist stood in a corner on the verandah. Food was good as was the view over the sea in the evening whilst dining.

No British tv except for the news.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnyboyodis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We regret that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay in our Resort and especially with the pools. July and August are our busiest months and attract many families with children. Due to the increased number of guests the pool areas are obviously not as quiet as they might be during other periods, but we offer three different pool areas in our Resort and usually the ones by the Resort Suites are a good alternative for guests who seek quietness and relaxation.

We would also like to clarify that we do not have an Indoor Pool. The pool in our Spa is a treatment pool, a Thalasso Thermal Circuit, which is a renowned therapy. Being a treatment it is charged and also because we need to guarantee peace and tranquility, essential for the success of treatments. We do offer however Spa packages and cures which already include the use of the Thalasso Thermal Circuit, as well as other treatments.
Just contact us before your next visit as we will be happy to advise you travel periods and packages that might suit you better.

We look forward to welcoming you again and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Short trip but was upgraded to apartment as partners birthday. Great food, pools, gym, spa, close to beach! We had an amazing 4 days here! Magical stay, we will go back as close to airport and Albufeira too!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review, how much you enjoyed your stay and how impressed you were with the Resort, food, facilities and the value for money received.

Thank you so much for having shared your feedback with us and on Tripadvisor and we are already looking forward to welcoming you again for another magical stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
317 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel claims to be a five star hotel - complete JOKE! We arrived via private driver, were told by our travel agent this is a romantic getaway with a private beach and it was anything but that. We counted 3 couples without kids and it was a complete free for all. Imagine, other Europeans on holiday with their kids and none of them care about anyone else. This place was a nightmare. The front desk service was a joke, there was no service, they made no attempt to wait on us, we had to ask to be checked in several times before any of the four talking amongst themselves would help. The food was crap banquet food you would see in an all you can eat restaurant (and the food at this place was even worse than that). There is no private beach access, they have a guy collecting 5euros for each hour to use a chair per person, the only good thing was the bar service after the kids went off for the night. The downtown area is a joke as well, unless you like the trinket shops you would see lining Daytona beach. A never return venture. Don't waste your money.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Ronald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret that neither our Resort, nor the town corresponded to your expectations.

We indeed do not have a private beach, but we also do not claim to have one, as there are no private beaches in Portugal at all. The concession of the beach is also not run by the Hotel and we therefore have no one collecting money for the use of the loungers or shades at the beach, nor do we have influence on the prices charged for this. We believe though that the price is €15 or 20 per day and not €5 per hour. Please note as well that we do have a beach access that is exclusively for our guests.
We also regret that you were not satisfied with the food served in our restaurants and the friendliness and efficiency of our staff. Most feedback we receive is extremely positive and we do not understand why your experience has been different, but we will inform the department heads in charge.

Thank you for your feedback and be assured that we will try to improve wherever we can. It would be a big pleasure for us to be able to welcome you back to our Resort, as we trust that you would enjoy it more if visiting us on other seasons than the summer holidays, during which we as a Family Resort, receive many families with children.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
2.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
2.2 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
9.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Property: Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing