We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment at Grande real Santa Eulalia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Ranked #12 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Apartment at Grande real Santa Eulalia”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We arrived late to the hotel, about 11:30pm. Unfortunately there was a mix-up with our booking. We had booked through Hot Wire who apparently passed the booking to Expedia. I would never use Expedia as I have always found them expensive when comparing prices. So be careful when using a little known company. I think they are popular in USA. Anyway, back to the hotel, the reception staff informed us that we were booked into an apartment, not the hotel. As we were disappointed and very tired we were given a room in the hotel the first night. The following day we were given the opportunity to stay in the hotel room (to pay an extra €15 per night) or move to the apartment. We viewed the apartment , we were very pleasantly surprised , transferred our luggage with lots of help and spent a lovely week in a Studio apartment. It was spacious , well equipped, cleaned daily, including the dishes! Lovely extras in the bathroom and towelling robes. I am so glad we chose to move , as the Hotel is basically like any other 4/5* hotel I have stayed in in a popular holiday area. This hotel and some of the apartments are quite close to the beach. This resort is big and nicely spread out. With lots of swimming pools distributed throughout. The Spa, indoor swimming pool, Thalasso Spa and treatments were, as I have said, like any other 4/5* hotel, extremely over priced. In my opinion you are paying for the location and maybe a quieter type of clientele, we stayed 21st-28th Sept. Overall we found the staff pleasant and helpful with us and other guests.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room at the front of this hotel, you are over looking the car park. Do choose an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that our reception team was able to assist you in a quick and efficient way in sorting out the problem with the booking.

Thank you very much for having left us your feedback and for your kind and detailed description of our services and facilities.

We look forward to welcome you back, hopefully, soon to the Grande Real Santa Eulália and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,281
    745
    250
    82
    30
See reviews for
896
921
44
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We rated it an average because although the rooms need some serious updating and a thorough cleaning (twin beds pushed together to create a queen which were hard as a rock, worn furniture, dingy carpeting, hand prints on the headboard, old tube TV and a shower curtain that should just be thrown out), the staff at the front desk was very good. They were helpful and very pleasant. In fact, they sent up to our room fruit with chocolate and champagne for our 25th anniversary. Also, breakfast was very good and the service as well. The bar next to the lobby was a nice spot for a nightcap, as the drinks were very good and the bartender was very pleasant. Unfortunately, the rooms were not worth the money spent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miarossii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad that you were impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of our team, the quality of service and breakfast, but regret that you were not as impressed with the room as with the rest of the hotel. We are very pleased to inform you that amongst other scheduled works, we are currently replacing our TV’s and are also gradually replacing the carpet in the rooms.
Please be also informed that we do have convertible beds and mattress toppers with which we can prepare the beds of our guests who prefer a softer mattress than the ones we have.

We trust that these measures will help making your next stay even more comfortable and enjoyable and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

stayed 2 weeks sept..hotel very good .stayed half board .restaurant down on beach was just bril..buffet reataurant just ok..good tip if half board you must get drinks package..6euros per person for house wine water and soft drinks..ex value...wine waiter philip.was excelent..as were all staff ..stayed in one bedroom apt with a garden patio..just lovely....just one minus had to go to old town every night..hotel no entertainment.nothing ..hotel missing a trick here...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenneth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, which we really enjoyed reading.

We are really happy that you have had a great time with us and that most facilities and services corresponded or even exceeded your expectations. We will make sure that your kind comments will be passed on to our team and would like to thank you on behalf of them, and especially Filipe, for your consideration.

Please be also assured that your suggestion to offer more evening entertainment will be passed on to the department heads in charge.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another fantastic time at the Grande Real Santa Eulália Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Weather was shocking which made it difficult with a 3 year old boy, however, the hotel was excellent. Kids club was excellent too and made a real difference with the weather being so bad. Breakfast buffet was fine, pools were great, and the beach Connected to the hotel was lovely. The pool bar was expensive and only sold cold snacks which was the only poor point. Gym was great for a hotel and the spa was a nice extra for the wife. Gated development with parking felt secure and the one bed apartment was perfect. Would definitely come back. Wifi was hit and miss... Good enough to watch the match if you find the right spot but drops off completely in some areas.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank johnscott20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy that despite of the bad weather, you were able to enjoy a relaxing and pleasant time with us.

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed comments and also for your suggestion to increase the range of food offered at our pool bars, which will be passed on to our Executive Chef.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália with hopefully nicer weather and more of the sunshine the Algarve is usually known for.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have just returned from our first holiday in Albufeira and stayed for 10 nights at the Grand Real Santa Eulalia Resort. We chose self catering and had a Studio Resort Suite, which was well equipped and very spacious. Although we were self catered we benefitted from all of the services of a hotel that you'd expect, such as daily cleaning of the room and replenishment of toiletries etc. It was my boyfriend's birthday whilst we were away and we came back to the room following a day by the pool to a birthday cake and bottle of something bubbly, which we felt was a really nice touch! The location of the hotel was idyllic, with direct access to a beautiful beach. We were able to get a fresh towel everyday to use at the pool or the beach, which again was very useful. The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly in the pool bars, cafe atlantico and the hotel bar. There were a number of weddings whilst we were there, which supports the pretty location. There's also a free shuttle that goes into the new and old towns of albufeira, which helped reduce the reliance on taxis. On the last day the weather wasn't good, and as we had a late flight they kindly allowed us to stay in the room until 2 pm, despite a checkout time of 10 am. We finished our stay with a trip down to the spa, which was nice and very relaxing! Ultimately a lovely and very clean hotel, which offered a very comfortable break and good value for money!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 338Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review and how much you enjoyed staying with us. We are also glad that our team helped to make an already pleasant stay even more special, by giving you a late check-out and a small birthday surprise for your boyfriend’s special day.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another great stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Was here for just one night and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. the hotel is clean, comfortable and the staff were very helpful and diligent. Food was excellent. Pool side I thought was perhaps a little too tight for everyone to enjoy some space but the weather was excellent and the beach was worth sitting by instead. there was a great sense of luxury here and I would like to go back to stay for longer sometime in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidGrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We honestly believe that the biggest sign of appreciation is a repeated guest. It was therefore very gratifying for us to read that you have had such a lovely stay that you are hoping to return.
Thank you so much for this. This is a real motivation for us and we will make sure that your comments will be passed on to our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália for a hopefully equally pleasant, but longer stay with us.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel for one week. Good points about the hotel are: 1. The apartment rooms are very big 2. The hotel is very clean. 3. Plenty of choice for breakfast 4. Plenty of sun beds to choose from even at 10.30 half of the beds were still empty.5. The hotel put on a free shuttle bus to the old and new town, the safes are free, wifi is free and clean towels are provided each day for the pool/beach. 6. Location was good only 10 minutes to the new town. 7. Security the hotel is very safe. You have to use your room key to get to the beach and through the front gate. Bad points about the hotel: 1. The reception staff are very rude. 2. I requested a 2nd floor apartment and got a ground floor on arrival and told me I could move the day before we were leaving! 3. No entertainment during the day or evening. They could have some music around the pool. They would have made their money back on the drinks if they provided entertainment anything would have been nice I found most of the people wondering around the hotel at night bored! 4. If you are not full board don't eat at the hotel as it will cost you 34 euros for a buffet meal, not including a drink. Overall if you are looking for a quiet holiday and not to do much this is a perfect place to go. It's a shame the hotel is missing any atmosphere as they are going to loose many customers from this. Whilst staying there the people I spoke to all said the same they would not return due to the hotel not having any atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honestperson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We regret that the stay at our Hotel did not entirely correspond to your expectations. We appreciate however that you took the time to list the points that in your opinion require improvement and also the ones that you enjoyed.
We were surprised that the friendliness of our reception team was one of the points that you would like to see improved since the feedback that we usually receive is extremely positive. We will however make sure that your comments will be passed on to our Front Office Manager and assure you that we will do our utmost to provide a friendly high-quality service at all times and circumstances.
We understood that one of the points that influenced your rating of the reception was that your room was not located on the second floor. Whenever we receive a request regarding the location of a room, we try our utmost to have it in consideration, but given the number of requests we are not able to fulfill all of them. Therefore, location requests are never confirmed, but the preference of the guest is registered.

Thank you also for your suggestion regarding the evening entertainment, which will be passed on to the department heads in charge and taken into consideration.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,009 reviews
1.7 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
3,160 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
861 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Property: Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing