We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent hotel and setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Ranked #12 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We just spent a week at this beautiful hotel. A really beautiful hotel, beautiful foyer and marvellous proportions. Our room was a classic facing the car park, if you can go for the view on the seaside, the view is spectacular. Also if you have a choice take the half board, the food was very very good and it's too far out of town to walk down for all meals. The breakfasts are sumptuous and the staff are lovely. I found the bed and pillows to hard but they will change these for you so just ask early in holiday. As I say the staff are very nice, there is a small shop with excellent value. We had a fabulous day trip to Seville, a long day but well worth it, as it happens, it was my birthday and when we returned they had delivered free wine and a birthday cake to our room, it was a really lovely surprise, how kind!

Room Tip: The rooms are very large and comfortable but if you can afford it ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that you were impressed with the setting, decoration, food and our team. We are also glad that you enjoyed our small birthday surprise and hope that it helped you to relax after a long, exhausting trip.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA for what will hopefully be another lovely experience.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,746)
There are newer reviews for Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,293 - 1,299 of 2,746 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel over the new year. On arrival at the hotel check in was efficient,and the reception staff welcoming. Our room had a garden /sea view which was very pleasant. The room was extremely clean and well presented. Now for the problem. If you don't like firm beds don't stay here. We requested mattress toppers when booking but didn't get one, we asked at reception who informed housekeeping and although they did provide some padding it wasn't effective. The poor sleep and muscle pain was rectified to some degree by spa treatments every day.
Now for the food. Buffet breakfast was adequate with everything you could ask for so no complaints there. The evening ala carte meal in the main restaurant was at best average but to be honest typical hotel standards. The cafe bar over looking the beach had stunning views, and was a great place to spend an hour or so. It just a shame the food wasn't in the same league.
The bar staff were faultless and served top end cocktails at reasonable prices.
Now for the million dollar question would I come back. Yes if the beds were softer.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank pas1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us, but regret that not everything corresponded to your expectations.
We understand that some guests prefer a softer mattress, rather than a firm, especially our northern European guests, while southern European seem to prefer firmer ones. In order to suit the preferences of as many guests as possible, we provide the mentioned mattress toppers, which usually close this “cultural gap”. We regret if the bed even with these still did not match your preference. We are very pleased to inform you that we are currently analyzing the possibility of changing the mattresses and hope that these new ones will suit you better.
Should you visit us however, before this change happens, please do not hesitate to contact us as we will be happy to try to find an alternative solution.

Please be also assured that your comments regarding the food will be passed on to our Executive Chef and F&B Management and that we will try to improve wherever we can.

We look forward to welcoming you again and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

What can i say from the moment we arrived it has been a great stay! We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment facing the pool which was well equipped with all we needed. Got like 5 pools in total and great beach. Breakfast was great everyday with very friendly staff. Got a kids club with different activities everyday which is great for families. Room service is excellent and they even washed up things we forgot. Reception staff are very helpful too. Room service menu seem a bit expensive but prices on the coffee shop near the beach is very reasonable and they do great selection of food all day till 5pm. Free shuttle service for the old town was great too. Great stay and we will come back for sure. Only 20 min cab ride away from Vilamoura marina which will cost you around €16. Only recommendation will be to have some coffee and sugar in the apartments rather than free toiletries since everyone remembers to bring that but need a coffee soon as you arrive after your flight.....Would recommend to stay if your coming to Algarve...very clean...great hotel. Sad to be going back tomorrow.

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank ish2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

It was really gratifying to read that you had such a lovely stay that you will be definitely returning, which indeed is the best feedback of all.
Thank you so much for having shared your experience with us and also for your suggestion to offer coffee and sugar in the apartments. We currently do not offer tea and coffee facilities, only kettles in the apartment as a standard and in the Hotel upon request, but we will have your suggestion in consideration.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you again for another great stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked a one week getaway in January, and I cannot fault this hotel in any way. The staff are all so attentive, every little detail is taken care off. We were in a self catering apartment and it was huge, it had everything that you could possible need. Bathrobes, free tv in the lounge and the bedroom, free safety deposit box in your room, free wi fi in your room and all over the hotel, every cooking utensil you could possible think off, toiletries replenished everyday, (shampoo, soap, shower gel etc.) hair dryer in the bathroom, we even had a telephone in the bathroom. The Hotel in huge with 3 outdoor pools and one of them is heated, a private beach, accessible through the hotel terrace. What impressed me most was a knock on the door the evening of my husbands birthday, we opened the door to find a waiter with a tray containing 2 x champagne glasses, bottle of champagne in an ice bucket, birthday cake with a candle in it and a birthday card from the hotel and staff, we had not told a soul that it was his birthday....they must of picked it up from his passport, that's a lovely gesture and made us feel special. We had a fantastic week and will certainly return later in the year

Room Tip: We were in a room outside of the main hotel, if you get a room with the balcony facing away from the...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gailforce7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are really happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that you were so impressed with the Hotel, its service and facilities that you will be definitely returning next year ! Thank you so much for this.

It was also gratifying to read how much you enjoyed the small birthday surprise and that it made your husband’s birthday even more enjoyable and memorable!

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back next year for another lovely stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We recently came back from the Grande Real Santa Eulalia where we stayed 10 days over the New Year's period. We all had a great holiday there.
The kids loved going to the kids' club and we would like to thank again the amazing, hard-working staff there (Carmen, Ana and Juan). They were brilliant with our little ones.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment and were very happy with the accommodation. It was spacious and even though the kitchenette is small it had everything we needed on holiday. The apartment was cleaned daily & thoroughly and the maid always left some lovely little touches like folding our kids' pyjamas and cuddly toys on top of their beds.
Breakfast was delicious and had everything you could want: a variety of fresh fruit, variety of yogurts, different types of cheeses and cold meats, fresh fruit juices, cereals, different types of bread and pastries, branded jams & honey, "Nutella", lovely little portuguese cakes, sparkling wines and plenty of hot food too (eggs, bacon etc). You could have an omelette made in front of you. The perfect start to the day!
The location of the hotel is fantastic. Right on the beach - which is gorgeous. We spent a lot of time with the kids there. The hotel cafe-snack bar overlooking the beach was really good for lunches and mid-morning coffee. The view was fabulous.
We normally hire a car when we come to the Algarve but we didn't this time. We were happy walking to the nearest shops (10mns) or hopping in a cab if going a bit further. There is shuttle bus at the hotel, which we used twice and found handy to go to Albufeira - which isn't a particularly "nice" place in itself unfortunately.
The spa at the hotel was good. We used the thalasso therapy pool once (It costs 15 euros per person) and we had a very relaxing time there. There is a gym which looked pretty decent for a hotel. Treatments are overall quite pricey but every day there is a promotion on a couple of treatments making them reasonable enough.
The lobby is a very nice place to sit down, read a book or and have a drink. It is really spacious with high ceilings and nice furnishings.
We found staff to be very professional: always helpful and discreet.
We will definitely be coming back to the Grande Real Santa Eulalia. The excellent kids' club, breakfast, location & very good standards of apartments make it a perfect choice for young families.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 5cariocas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind, detailed review.

It was really gratifying to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how impressed you were especially with the Kid’s Club and breakfast. We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to our team and would like to thank you on behalf of them for your consideration.

Reading that you will be definitely returning was the icing on the cake and we look forward to welcome you and your family back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália, hopefully soon.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Had a superb 4 day break over the New Year in this hotel. Never stayed here before but last Christmas stayed in another hotel in this chain in Olhao which we really enjoyed. We were not disappointed, once again The Real chain gave us a break to remember. A special mention must go to the staff, all were superb ! Friendly, helpful and professional - a real asset for the hotel. Bed was slightly firm for us but within one hour of asking in reception for a topper it was on our bed. After that we slept much better. Best breakfast ever ! We hope to return to this hotel again next year or maybe the Real Marina in Olhao, difficult to choose as both are superb but very different in their location but for sure we will be returning.

Room Tip: Highly recommend booking a room with a sea view, well worth paying the extra.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fiestababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review, which we really enjoyed reading.

It was really gratifying to learn that you were as impressed with the Grande Real Santa Eulália as you were with the Real Marina and that you once again had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at one of our hotels.

Thank you so much for your kind comments, especially the ones about our team. We will make sure that these will be passed on to them and are sure that our Executive Chef will be very pleased to her that our breakfast was the best ever!

We really look forward to welcome you again to one of the Hotéis Real Algarve and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.


Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Myself and boyfriend paid 460 to stay here HB for a week over New Year through a package company . The hotel was a pleasure to stay in...comfortable, expansive lobby, well maintained grounds with excellent access directly to a beautiful section of beach. Easy parking outside reception. Food was plentiful, always fresh and dinners both Al a Carte and Buffet were a highlight. Waiters were always on hand with coffee top ups and drinks even during busy breakfast times. Room cleaned and tidied daily with staff never intruding. The room itself was the "classis or standard" but there was noting else I would have wanted. It was spacious & direct access to gardens was great, bath robes provided and in my opinion very comfortable beds. The jazz entertainment and fireworks on new years eve were an unexpected bonus. The outdoor heated pool is a nice touch in winter. Free gym was adequate for holidays and indoor water circuit worth paying the 18E at least once! I have paid similar prices for many holidays but this is the best value and quality I have experienced to date. As a tip Villamoura is much nicer area & better maintained than Albuferia but I would still choose to stay in this hotel and travel into Villamoura due to the high quality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LauraKerr001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review and how much you enjoyed staying with us.

We are happy that you have spent a wonderful time and New Year’s Eve celebration with us and that everything corresponded or even exceeded your expectations.
We are also glad that you consider us to be Hotel with the best value for money and that we would be your top choice in this area.

Thank you so much and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA for what will hopefully be another excellent stay with us.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
2.5 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
3,338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £47 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing