We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Ranked #12 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The view from our hotel was superb overlooking the pool and sea. I was totally surprised when I opened the door, we had a double bedroom with a big bathroom and another room with dining area and another bathroom. both had large flat-screen T.V's and we also had 2 balconies. There was 2 dressing gown each and the whole hotel was exceptionally clean. The only point I would like to make is that it needs a food shop on-site and tea/coffee facilities in the bedrooms. It is also quite a distance from Albufera, but I liked that. Apart from that it was superb and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
Thank Toni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Your comment is very special for us!

We are very happy to see that your experience with us was great! Our main concern is offer unique experiences.

Our guests comments help us to improve our service every day.

Thank you for the time that you spend with this comment.

We are excited to know that you will return!

Best Regards,
Jorge Teixeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,379 - 1,385 of 2,987 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Myself and my partner had an amazing break at the Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Spa. From the momment we arrived we felt relaxed. The entrances were all electric gated which made us feel safe and secure knowing they had a good security system in place. After checking in at reception a lovely young man took our cases and showed us to our room no 203 with a great seaview :) Our room was large with a lovely big balcony overlooking the sea and was cleaned daily to a high standard. we were also very impressed with the food, always a good selection we went full board so had breakfast, lunch and dinner all of which were great! The best thing about this hotel are its staff they were fantastic! always helpful and there to greet you, always happy and cheerful and nothing was ever too much trouble for them. Also the Resturante staff were great we were really well looked after and couldnt fault the service in any way! we even had the chance to have a look around the wedding venues which were lovely and excellent prices so we are hoping to look further into this shortly. Overall we cannot fault anything about this hotel and we were concerned after reading some of the reviews but are happy to say that It is the best hotel we have stayed in so far and look forward to returning for another break soon! thank you! Becky & Adam

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comment.

It’s very rewarding when our guests enjoyed our hotel and our facilities.

Our main concern is improve every day and offer the best service to our special guests.

Comments like yours prove our daily work and our high quality standards.

We are very happy that you pretend to return and we look forward to welcome you again very soon at Grande Real Santa Eulália.

Best Regards,
Jorge Teixeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I travel 2 or 3 times a year to hotels similar in price and similar in standard - this is easily one of the hotels with the highest standard that I have stayed at! Where earlier reviewers have suggested this is not a 5* and more like a 3* I can only wonder if they stayed in the self catering apps and not in the main hotel as the main hotel is wonderful! My daughter and I stayed in room 108 and had a lovely sea view.
We were the first out to sunbathe every morning, which was at 9am, how refreshing not to have to get up in the middle of the night to secure a sunbed! Beds were still available every day until after 11am. The breakfast had lots to offer, and again no queues at 8am, 9am or even 10am.
The staff were, as people had previously commented 'very friendly'
Access to the private beach was through a gated area also offering access to a restaurant one level down which had wonderful views overlooking the Ocean. Prices were reasonable, with lunch each day for 2 mains and drinks costing between 17Euro and 22Euro. Lots of choice.

Had read previous reviews on Tripadvisor I was a little concerned about being in the middle of nowhere....this is NOT the case. Turn left out of the hotel gates, walk for only 14mins (at a very slow pace I add) and you will arrive in Santa Eulalia town. This has 50/60 bars and restaurants and food was really good in the 3 we ate in. Another 5 minutes further and you were in New Town. So I can only assume some people wish to come out their hotel and be in the middle of a bustling strip - which isn't for me. A 10-15 minute walk and everything you could need is available. Old town is only 7Euro in a taxi and offers you more choice. On the last 2 nights live music entertained us from a duo called 'table for 2' excellent - so lots and lots of choices for evening entertainment.

The only few things that could make this hotel even better are extending the shuttle bus to include a couple of evening trips to Old Town, at maybe 8 and 10pm, as more people wish to go out and about at night as oppose to day, when the bus was half empty.
Also 15Euro for a sunbed on a private beach is really steep
The lovely terrace area showing ion the photo's is not available to use and only seems open for weddings - perhaps this should be taken off the photo's as having them there suggests that it is a facility we can use and it isn't.

Overall though wonderful wonderful wonderful and we will be going again.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

It is very special to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service.
It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service, our staff and with the hotel in general. Thank you for the qualification of our hotel as “the hotel with the highest standard that you have stayed”. It’s very important for our team.

Thank you for the suggestions, certainly will be useful for our improvement goal.

Only the best guests make possible to us to be the best hotel.

We look forward to welcome you again, soon.

Kind regards,
Jorge Teixeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

5th July 2014. I have just returned home after staying at the Grande Real Santa Eulalia resort. I can hardly think of anything good to say about this hotel it certainly doesn't come close to any of the 5 star hotels I have stayed at before, I would be generous if I rated it 3 stars. Apart from one extremely officious waitress in the restaurant the staff were excellent, helpful and friendly but service was slow mainly due to the outdated computer system.
The high price I paid was for a room with a sea view but all you could see from my 3rd floor balcony was a brick wall being the rear of the beach restaurants, OK yes I could just about see the sea over the top but it wasn't a nice view.(see photo's)
The beds are the worst I have ever tried to sleep on, terribly hard and seemed to dip too one side.
Despite several complaints to reception about the internet it never worked in my room.
The web sites deceptive photo’s show a lovely view with dining tables overlooking the beach but this balcony is only used during wedding ceremonies but locked at all other times to hotel guests.
The swimming pools are tiny (see photo's),one is very warm, probably from all the kids peeing in it and I was amazed to see one mum thoughtlessly breast feeding her baby in it, just think of all those germs,the other pool was just above freezing.
The food is very poor standard, the English breakfast consists of bacon that is more like shoe leather, the eggs are crispy underneath and runny on top, scrambled eggs are a cold watery mush, all the food is cold as only the flies check that its at their desired temperature, this led to my partner and myself having upset stomachs during our stay.
Evening meals are no better, still not hot, there are no children’s favourites like chicken nuggets or French fries, the bits of fish were OK but the bowls of processed salad with lettuce and tomato everyday became very boring, worst of all they charge an extra 3 euros for ice cream per scoop!
A small glass of house wine is 6 Euro and an ice filled glass with a little coke is 3 Euro, water is expensive too, I think it should always be included free with half board and inclusive deals.
All prices are extortionate when you consider a good bottle of wine is only 4 Euro in the town.
Always pay as you go, don’t charge it to your room as mistakes were often made on the bills that one female waitress refused to correct blaming the till operator.
The hotel is not within walking distance of shops of any kind so you either have to use the shuttle bus which was always full or take a taxi which costs between five and seven euros each way. Be warned they drive like Jeremy Clarkson at the Nurburg ring.
I advise eating and drinking at the lower beach restaurant its better value but not great.
It’s a lovely beach but a sun bed and parasol cost 15 Euro a day for 1 or 2 persons, buy your own and save money.
I have many favourite hotels but this will never be one of them even if I was to be offered 2 weeks free.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pondsidehomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely regret that your experience was not the best one.

We have to inform you that our hotel filled all the requirements needed to be classified as a 5 star hotel.

We are surprised with your comment regarding the quality of the food. Usually our guests praised the quality and the variety of our food. Our team makes all the efforts to provide a excellent F&B service, to suit all tastes.

Our breakfast service is not an English breakfast but a Buffet breakfast.

As part of our HACCP program the quality of the food and the temperature is regularly checked and registered. We could not detect any unusual discrepancies.

The hygienic conditions of the pools are verified every day, several times a day so we have to assure you the perfect hygienic conditions. It’s 100% safe for the health of our guests.

However, we are not responsible about our guests behavior.

Our team makes everything to offer excellent experiences to our guests. The cleanliness, the quality of the food and the availability of our staff is very important to us,
We will take in consideration your comment and shared it our team.

We regret that your experience was so different to the majority of our guests.
Thank you for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Trip Advisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, for a better experience.

Kind regards,
Jorge Teixeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

With the exception of the food this is a very good holiday hotel. It's well located on the beach, a lovely terrace to sit on above the sea for drinks. Good bar staff , good reception staff , bedrooms are large and clean with a very comfortable bed and very quiet indeed. The bathroom has an over the bath shower and is more than adequate. Evening entertainment was really good ; background music provided by a couple of guitarists playing well known cover versions of modern music very well. Breakfast was average except we had to queue behind at least 40 people when it was busy (. 5 star ?) . An apologetic member of staff told us that the hotel can accommodate 700 and the dining room can sit 150 !! The dining room staff rushed around doing their very best to turn tables round quickly. One thankfully quiet night provided a strange insight to their operation. Senior man , Nelson, when told we required a table to seat 11 said we would have to 15 to 20 minutes ! The dining room was quiet and I saw 2 tables at a glance that would take all of us. He was very officious and told us we must book for the following evening even though we were there half board.
Anyway the food at night was poor. Repeat salads and poorly cooked , poor quality meat and fish and a display area for the buffet which was often too small for the numbers in the restaurant . We ate in 6 nights and never had better than an average meal and frequently worse ...the soups were so bland as to be not identifiable ! It's a pity as the hotel is on a great beach and is good in most other respects.

Room Tip: Avoid dinner ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imhonot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We regret that your experience was not the best one. Those are a set of observations that happen exceptionally, to which none Hotel can escape due to its operation and daily use.

Usually the comments about our hotel food are very positive. We will take in consideration your opinion and we will share it our F&B team.

We sincerely regret that you feel that we do not deserve our rating since we were evaluated for the Portuguese authority responsible for the hotels ratings and our hotel exceed the requirements needed to be a 5 star hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to provide you an excellent experience, signature of any of the Real Hotels Group.

Kind regards,
Jorge Teixeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Me & my boyfriend have just got back from a 5 night break here, we we're in room 102 with a sea-view on a b&b basis. It was our first time in Portugal.

The Room.
We had two twin beds pushed together, the beds are firm but very comfortable and extra pillows were provided, I slept like a baby every night which is a rarity as I normally struggle sleeping away from home! A large flat screen TV with a few English channels, large vanity table with drawers and a chair, and a small coffee table with armchair. Large wardrobes/drawers and cupboard area, plenty of space for storage. Lovely bathroom with great shower pressure, bath, toilet and bidet. Toiletries provided aswell. Large towels and bathrobes. Rooms can be cleaned daily if you wish (just hang the card on the door) - beds made, hoovered, dusted, towels changed, balcony sweeped etc - very good - they leave the room spotless.

The Location.
The hotel is in Santa Eulalia, a small town beside Albufeira. 30min drive from Faro airport, 5min drive to the New Town and 10min drive to the Old Town. it is possible to walk to the New Town but the walk there is a bit hilly and gets a bit steep. A bus is provided to old and new town at regular intervals throughout the day and also offers a pick-up service which comes in very handy but can get filled quickly in the evening drop-off (only 27 seats so queue early) The other option is a taxi - 4 euros to new town and 7 euros to old town, reception can call you one and it arrives in minutes.
New Town is a strip full of bars, clubs and a few decent restaurants - Wild&Co is superb albeit quite pricey, but definitely recommend saving one night to eat there - the steaks are sublime!
Old Town is beautiful, lots of lovely white villas and apartments overlooking the beach, a square with lots of little bars and restaurants, and cobbled streets with little souvenir shops etc.


The Hotels' Facilities.
The hotel is in two sections - as you drive in the self catering apartments are on the left and right, with their own pool. It was apparent that a few guests did not realize how far they would be from the main building, which is a 4min-ish walk away where all the restaurants, reception etc are.
The main hotel building is beautiful inside and out, 2 main pools are fairly small and it seemed one was for parents and children and the other anyone else! Plenty of sun loungers available, even very late in the day, and the hotel operate a hogging policy! If a sun lounger is left unattended with towels on for longer than 30mins they will be removed!

As mentioned we only booked for breakfast, but this was fantastic 8AM-10.30AM, full English breakfasts sausages bacon scrambled/fried/boiled eggs, baked beans, hash browns etc. Continental - a selection of breads, cheeses, cold cuts and delicious pastries. Pots of tea (Tetley! :)) and gorgeous coffee served to you at your table. Delicious pastries. Cereals, fruits and yogurts also available.
Cannot comment on other restaurants or lunch and dinner because we did not use these but if the quality is anything like breakfast, I don't think they would disappoint!

The hotel also had a spa which we did not use, but did go and have a look and it seems lovely.

The hotel is on the beach, a short walk down a few steps and there you are! They provide towel cards to retrieve a towel for beside the pool and the beach, and you can change these once daily by reception between 9am and 6pm.

Overview.
A fantastic hotel with friendly staff ready to help with a smile. In a perfect location in my eyes, a short way away from the hustle and bustle of the newtown! Cannot praise it enough and would definitely consider returning! Thankyou Grande Real :) xx

Room Tip: Pay for a sea-view room it is SO worth it! Room 102 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GenevieveLondon89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments so complete and excited! We loved it!

Thank you for the description of our services, certainly it will be very useful to other guests.
It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service and staff.

Regarding the comment about the sun loungers, we will share your comment with our team and will make all efforts to improve the control.

Thank you also for your detailed description of our services and facilities, but also our location as well as the services closer. We are sure that these will be greatly appreciated and very helpful for future guests. We are very happy that you will return!

Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on TripAdvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again for another good time at our Hotel, Grande Real Santa Eulália Hotel & Spa.

Kind regards,
Jorge Teixeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Having just checked in we're instantly disappointed. The pools are tiny and over crowded with strangers packed on top of each other and not a single sunbed is free!
We've had a salad for lunch served from a plastic bowl. I ordered tuna and probably got half a tin and a bit of greenery and a token olive. There was nothing 5 star about that.
The parasols are frayed and tired.
We arrived with numerous bags, buggy, car seat and baby. There was no concierge to help us.
It's an ok place, just not what we expected given the photos on the website and the 5 star rating. Probably more 3 star.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElleDougs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Gerente at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely regret that you feel not satisfied about your stay with us, since the feedback we receive is usually extremely positive with many guests praising the helpfulness of our team and our service quality. We regret your experience has been so different but we will pass your comment on to the department heads and assure you that we will continue trying to always provide a high-quality service in all areas and circumstances.

We understand that in a full occupancy time the service was affected but we assure that our team makes all the efforts to provide the best service to our guests.

Thank you for having left your feedback.

Kind regards,
Jorge Teixeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#11 of 154 in Albufeira
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,426 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £41 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing