We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb place, great service, ideal for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“superb place, great service, ideal for families”
Reviewed 9 May 2009

We stayed in a ´´resort suite´´, an extremely-well appointed one-bed apartment with two sofabeds in the large sitting room, colourful bathroom complete with kiddie soap and shampoo, a nice terrace and a great little kitchen - fridge, hotplate, coffee machine, microwave and toaster, plus a good selection of crockery and cutlery.

We ordered room service the first night (we had a toddler and a 2-month-old baby), which came complete with tablecloth and food piping hot in a special heated box by delightful, highly professional staff - maybe this is normal for room service in five-star hotels, I wouldn´t know, but I was dead impressed. breakfast was excellent too (lunch was a combination of dinner and breakfast leftovers!). not cheap, but not nearly as expensive as some posh hotels. kids´ club, gorgeous beach with picturesque cliffs, beachside cafe with exotic fresh fruit juices. we didn´t use the spa, but it looked very impressive. Weather not great, but we know beach anyway from before hotel was built (it´s very new), and it is beautiful.

The apartments are opposite the main hotel building, and I had specifically asked for one near the hotel, but if you´re further away, there are little golf cart things to take you there. each area of apartments has its own pool, which is an excellent idea.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fififlores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 20 July 2009
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review and comments about your stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA. It is always gratifying and motivating to hear that guests enjoyed their experience at our Resort and we are glad that you and your whole family enjoyed your stay with us. We regret if you had the impression that breakfast leftovers were used for our Lunch Buffet and would like to assure you that this was not the case. All our Buffets are prepared individually and we never use leftovers from a Buffet, or food in general, for another Buffet or meal. It is not according to our standards and would also be a major infraction of the HACCP, Health and Safety Program and Audit, implemented in our Hotel.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our Resort in the near future, with hopefully nicer weather than you had that during your last stay.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,208
    699
    236
    73
    30
See reviews for
828
888
43
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

I have just returned after a long weekend with 5 other girls - the hotel is immaculate and with arguably the nicest staff I have come across in a larger type facility. We had 2 appartments which were very well equipped - we never cooked but made good use of fridge and such facilites for breakfast and light snacks. The standard of cleanliness all over the resort was of a very high standard, even poolside toilets. We used one retaurant which was the seafood one, it was excellent with the most attentive staff. I personally could not eat like this every night, I don't mean this in a critical manner just that the restaurant was slightly formal and that is not for me every night. Our only other choice was a restaurant with a set menu which did not suit all of our party - another one was closed so that would be my only slight moan. I probably put this down to being not the busiest time, early May is probably considered off season. There were many portuguese guests over the weekend so for me this is a good sign. Also very quiet later on but we just got cabs into busier parts which were around 5 euros so no real hardship. We were there for a special ocassion so if you fancy a bit of luxury (apparently the best in Albufeira) choose this hotel - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 20 July 2009
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review of the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our Resort. We also noted that you were not quite satisfied with the entertainment program and that you would have liked to have a larger choice of restaurants. As you correctly supposed this is due to the fact that we were still in the off season and as the occupancy has been unfortunately low, we had to adapt the number of open outlets to the number of guests. We hope that we will still be able to welcome you back to our Hotel, maybe during the summer months, when we have a larger choice of available outlets.


Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HUDDERSFIELD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I cant wait to go there again, my boyfriend and i went last minute for a 4/5 day break over Easter.The hotel is immaculate, the reception staff & waiters can not do enough for you.The views are amazing.We had a lovely room with a sea view.I would say families and couples , it is an ideal , relaxing resort with plenty on offer.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samib36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2009
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having stayed at the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA and for your kind review and comments. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at our Resort and hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

This was a first on several counts for us. The first time we had been abroad with our two girls (1 year and 3 year old), the first time I chose a hotel on the previous recommendations from this website, and the first time I have booked a holiday (flights, everything) via the web. Well we have just got back and can happily recommend this hotel.

We had a resort suite (previously described) which with a large fold down bed for our 3 year old, a travel cot for our 1 year old, and a bedroom which was partially separated by floor/ceiling wardrobes. Enough privacy, but safe in the knowledge that if the children were to get up in the night, we would know about it. View over the gardens and only a short walk across the footbridge to the main hotel and the swimming pools.

We had a hire car and over the 11 days spent the morning (after a wonderful breakfast) exploring the Algarve, with afternoons by the pool, late tea on the balcony, alternating lunch out at restaurants, or a snack lunch in and a meal in the evening (usually a takeaway or food purchased from the Ecomarche or Intermarche supermarkets locally.

Our lasting memories will be of the hotel staff who really could not have been more attentive. We arrived late and the children were asleep in the car, the night porter was really attentive, cheerful and kind. Sonja (?) our maid was great, with a clean through daily and putting the childrens teddy bears in different places each day as part of little game, always smiling and trying out her english on us and helping us with our portugese. Also Paulo (the head waiter) and his team who welcomed us every morning at breakfast with a smile (they all love the children), with every day a new word of Portugese for our 3 year old to try. Our 1 year old got restless at breakfast on the first morning, colouring books and crayons appeared as if by magic, its that kind of service you will get at this hotel. Both our children have dairy allergies, so the availbility of fully skimmed milk at breakfast was also appreciated.

Weather was low.mid 20's with a nice breeze. Avoided Albufera apart from shopping for food and found lots of wonderful places to explore (took a DK portugal guide book)

Lastly a previous reviewer suggested that not enough hotel guests appeared to smile. We did not understand this either, maybe it was our bad attempts at portugese (they spoke great english but i think appreciated our efforts!) or that the staff loved the children, all I can say is that this hotel gets full marks from us, and out thanks to all the staff for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFCBBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2009
Dear guest,


Thank you for your kind and rewarding comments about our staff, services and facilities. We were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Algarve and our Resort and, especially, that our staff made your and your family’s holiday a pleasant and memorable one. We will transmit your thanks and gratifying comments to our entire team and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.


Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We have just returned from a fantastic week-long stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulalia.

Everything about the hotel indicates quality and attention to detail - its decoration and design are modern and stylish.

All staff were friendly, helpful and courteous throughout our stay. Maid service was twice daily with a turn-down service in the evenings.

Our room was spacious and comfortable. We had a "resort-view" room, which basically meant it overlooked the car park area and main hotel entrance. This was not an issue, as we were not at all troubled with traffic noise from people arriving or leaving. The room had a small, useable balcony area with table and chairs. Bed was large (possibly super kingsize) and comfortable. Bathroom was also large with an excellent shower! The room also came equipped with a small safe and fridge (which doubles-up as the minibar, although only stocked with minibar items if requested).

We stayed on a half-board basis. Breakfast was excellent with a large buffet selection of pastries, fresh fruit, cereals, ham, cheese etc. Hot breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausages, even baked beans!) was cooked freshly on request. Evening meals were truly fantastic! Since we were staying off-season, only one of the hotel restaurants was open. Despite this, we were given vouchers to the value of around 40 euros per person per evening to spend on food from the fixed menu. This was easily enough to get a three course meal. As an alternative, on four of the evenings we were offered a four course set meal (daily menu). In addtion to the three or four courses chosen, we were also given an "amuse bouche" appetiser course each evening. Our board was sold as "beverages included", which meant we could have a free bottle of house wine (reasonable quality), beer or soft drinks with the evening meal. All of the evening meals were of a very high standard - staying half board is highly recommended.

As its name suggests, the hotel is in the Santa Eulalia district which is a few miles away from Albufeira. The hotel offers a complimentary reliable, reasonably frequent shuttle bus to "old-town" Albufeira. The nearest supermarket , bars and restaurants are about 15 minutes walk from the hotel. There is a very nice beach adjacent to the hotel.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulalia and would highly recommend it to anyone holidaying in the Algarve.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SFA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2009
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Grande Real Santa Eulália. Your comments are very much appreciated and we are very pleased to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA n the near future.

Kind regards


Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

We (me and my wife) stayed at the Grande Real Santa Eulália from 17th to 19th December 2008 (my wife´s birthday) and the Hotel gave us a free offering of two thalassoterapy entries and one birthday cake with a bottle of champagne, without beeing asked for!

This Hotel has the biggest thalassoterapy (warm and dinamic sea water) pool of Portugal with a temperature of 35.º (only less 1.º than the normal temperature human body).

This Hotel is very big and has very nice gardens, and it is very close to the sea shore (only about 200 meters)

This is the best 5 stars Hotel in Algarve.

  • Liked — The biggest thalassoterapy pool of Portugal
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NAVEGADOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 9 February 2009
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind review about the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA. We are very proud that you consider our Resort to be the best in the Algarve. We will do our utmost to continue to deliver to your expectations and look forward in welcoming you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA in the near future.

Kind regards


Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Came back yesterday from 4 wonderful days at The Santa Eulalia I wasnt going to write a review as everything so far was so positive.

From the moment we walked through the door,we felt totally relaxed and welcome,. The staff are incrediblly efficient yet unobtrusive.We arrived at about 11.00 AM after a very early flight from Dublin..We were cheerfully checked in to our lovely room and given an envelope with complimentary stuff, sadly we could not take advantage of any of it as we were so tired.

We immediately ordered a meal from room service and were told it would be delivered in 30 minutes and sure enough it arrived (complete with table and complete setting even a rose!) before the time stated.

This is not our first time staying at a Luxury Hotel,we are seasoned travellers,but the service here was by far the best we have ever had.

I was surpried that there were so many staying for the time of year, but I can see why.

One of the other reviewers was disappointed about the absence of tea and coffee facilities in the room I cannot do without my tea so I brought a travel kettle and used it in the morning as the water is never hot enough in non tea drinking countries. (Im sure this is a no no but it made me happy!)

I cant wait to tell all my friends about this wonderful place, The weather was great like summer days in Ireland neither too hot or too cold.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank bigsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, 9 February 2009
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice and motivating comments about the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA. We are very pleased that you were so satisfied with the service provided by our Team, that you even consider it to be the best service you ever had, which is really the biggest compliment we can get.
It is true that we do not have kettles in the rooms as standard equipment, only in our Resort Suites, but we do provide them upon request. So, should you ever return to our Hotel, please feel free to request a kettle upon reservation.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our Resort in the near future.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#64 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Property: Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing