We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Ranked #11 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2009

My husband and I chose to stay here for a 6 night 'sun break'. I found the hotel on the internet and despite the good reviews you're never quite sure what you're going to get when you arrive. To say we were not disappointed would be an understatement. What a fabulous hotel in an idyllic location. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I know maybe you should expect that in a 5 star hotel but it is not always so forthcoming. Definitely worth paying for a sea view room as to wake up to that was a treat every day. It is in a very quiet area although the hotel does provide a shuttle to Albufeira but if you like your nightlife right on the door step this isn't for you. There is a good choice of restaurants although before the summer season gets going they are not all open every night. The buffet breakfast was fantastic and included champagne if you wanted it! The spa facilities were amazing and the therapists were excellent, definitely worth treating yourself whilst you are there. All in all a fantastic hotel, well deserving of its 5 stars. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2009

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA. We really appreciate your kind and motivating comments and are very pleased that we were able to provide you an enjoyable stay and even exceeded your expectations. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon for, hopefully, another pleasant and relaxing break at our Hotel.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,008 - 2,014 of 3,022 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2009

We stayed in a ´´resort suite´´, an extremely-well appointed one-bed apartment with two sofabeds in the large sitting room, colourful bathroom complete with kiddie soap and shampoo, a nice terrace and a great little kitchen - fridge, hotplate, coffee machine, microwave and toaster, plus a good selection of crockery and cutlery.

We ordered room service the first night (we had a toddler and a 2-month-old baby), which came complete with tablecloth and food piping hot in a special heated box by delightful, highly professional staff - maybe this is normal for room service in five-star hotels, I wouldn´t know, but I was dead impressed. breakfast was excellent too (lunch was a combination of dinner and breakfast leftovers!). not cheap, but not nearly as expensive as some posh hotels. kids´ club, gorgeous beach with picturesque cliffs, beachside cafe with exotic fresh fruit juices. we didn´t use the spa, but it looked very impressive. Weather not great, but we know beach anyway from before hotel was built (it´s very new), and it is beautiful.

The apartments are opposite the main hotel building, and I had specifically asked for one near the hotel, but if you´re further away, there are little golf cart things to take you there. each area of apartments has its own pool, which is an excellent idea.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fififlores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2009

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review and comments about your stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA. It is always gratifying and motivating to hear that guests enjoyed their experience at our Resort and we are glad that you and your whole family enjoyed your stay with us. We regret if you had the impression that breakfast leftovers were used for our Lunch Buffet and would like to assure you that this was not the case. All our Buffets are prepared individually and we never use leftovers from a Buffet, or food in general, for another Buffet or meal. It is not according to our standards and would also be a major infraction of the HACCP, Health and Safety Program and Audit, implemented in our Hotel.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our Resort in the near future, with hopefully nicer weather than you had that during your last stay.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

I have just returned after a long weekend with 5 other girls - the hotel is immaculate and with arguably the nicest staff I have come across in a larger type facility. We had 2 appartments which were very well equipped - we never cooked but made good use of fridge and such facilites for breakfast and light snacks. The standard of cleanliness all over the resort was of a very high standard, even poolside toilets. We used one retaurant which was the seafood one, it was excellent with the most attentive staff. I personally could not eat like this every night, I don't mean this in a critical manner just that the restaurant was slightly formal and that is not for me every night. Our only other choice was a restaurant with a set menu which did not suit all of our party - another one was closed so that would be my only slight moan. I probably put this down to being not the busiest time, early May is probably considered off season. There were many portuguese guests over the weekend so for me this is a good sign. Also very quiet later on but we just got cabs into busier parts which were around 5 euros so no real hardship. We were there for a special ocassion so if you fancy a bit of luxury (apparently the best in Albufeira) choose this hotel - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gillasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2009

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review of the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our Resort. We also noted that you were not quite satisfied with the entertainment program and that you would have liked to have a larger choice of restaurants. As you correctly supposed this is due to the fact that we were still in the off season and as the occupancy has been unfortunately low, we had to adapt the number of open outlets to the number of guests. We hope that we will still be able to welcome you back to our Hotel, maybe during the summer months, when we have a larger choice of available outlets.


Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I cant wait to go there again, my boyfriend and i went last minute for a 4/5 day break over Easter.The hotel is immaculate, the reception staff & waiters can not do enough for you.The views are amazing.We had a lovely room with a sea view.I would say families and couples , it is an ideal , relaxing resort with plenty on offer.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samib36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2009

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having stayed at the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA and for your kind review and comments. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at our Resort and hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

This was a first on several counts for us. The first time we had been abroad with our two girls (1 year and 3 year old), the first time I chose a hotel on the previous recommendations from this website, and the first time I have booked a holiday (flights, everything) via the web. Well we have just got back and can happily recommend this hotel.

We had a resort suite (previously described) which with a large fold down bed for our 3 year old, a travel cot for our 1 year old, and a bedroom which was partially separated by floor/ceiling wardrobes. Enough privacy, but safe in the knowledge that if the children were to get up in the night, we would know about it. View over the gardens and only a short walk across the footbridge to the main hotel and the swimming pools.

We had a hire car and over the 11 days spent the morning (after a wonderful breakfast) exploring the Algarve, with afternoons by the pool, late tea on the balcony, alternating lunch out at restaurants, or a snack lunch in and a meal in the evening (usually a takeaway or food purchased from the Ecomarche or Intermarche supermarkets locally.

Our lasting memories will be of the hotel staff who really could not have been more attentive. We arrived late and the children were asleep in the car, the night porter was really attentive, cheerful and kind. Sonja (?) our maid was great, with a clean through daily and putting the childrens teddy bears in different places each day as part of little game, always smiling and trying out her english on us and helping us with our portugese. Also Paulo (the head waiter) and his team who welcomed us every morning at breakfast with a smile (they all love the children), with every day a new word of Portugese for our 3 year old to try. Our 1 year old got restless at breakfast on the first morning, colouring books and crayons appeared as if by magic, its that kind of service you will get at this hotel. Both our children have dairy allergies, so the availbility of fully skimmed milk at breakfast was also appreciated.

Weather was low.mid 20's with a nice breeze. Avoided Albufera apart from shopping for food and found lots of wonderful places to explore (took a DK portugal guide book)

Lastly a previous reviewer suggested that not enough hotel guests appeared to smile. We did not understand this either, maybe it was our bad attempts at portugese (they spoke great english but i think appreciated our efforts!) or that the staff loved the children, all I can say is that this hotel gets full marks from us, and out thanks to all the staff for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFCBBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2009

Dear guest,


Thank you for your kind and rewarding comments about our staff, services and facilities. We were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Algarve and our Resort and, especially, that our staff made your and your family’s holiday a pleasant and memorable one. We will transmit your thanks and gratifying comments to our entire team and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.


Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We have just returned from a fantastic week-long stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulalia.

Everything about the hotel indicates quality and attention to detail - its decoration and design are modern and stylish.

All staff were friendly, helpful and courteous throughout our stay. Maid service was twice daily with a turn-down service in the evenings.

Our room was spacious and comfortable. We had a "resort-view" room, which basically meant it overlooked the car park area and main hotel entrance. This was not an issue, as we were not at all troubled with traffic noise from people arriving or leaving. The room had a small, useable balcony area with table and chairs. Bed was large (possibly super kingsize) and comfortable. Bathroom was also large with an excellent shower! The room also came equipped with a small safe and fridge (which doubles-up as the minibar, although only stocked with minibar items if requested).

We stayed on a half-board basis. Breakfast was excellent with a large buffet selection of pastries, fresh fruit, cereals, ham, cheese etc. Hot breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausages, even baked beans!) was cooked freshly on request. Evening meals were truly fantastic! Since we were staying off-season, only one of the hotel restaurants was open. Despite this, we were given vouchers to the value of around 40 euros per person per evening to spend on food from the fixed menu. This was easily enough to get a three course meal. As an alternative, on four of the evenings we were offered a four course set meal (daily menu). In addtion to the three or four courses chosen, we were also given an "amuse bouche" appetiser course each evening. Our board was sold as "beverages included", which meant we could have a free bottle of house wine (reasonable quality), beer or soft drinks with the evening meal. All of the evening meals were of a very high standard - staying half board is highly recommended.

As its name suggests, the hotel is in the Santa Eulalia district which is a few miles away from Albufeira. The hotel offers a complimentary reliable, reasonably frequent shuttle bus to "old-town" Albufeira. The nearest supermarket , bars and restaurants are about 15 minutes walk from the hotel. There is a very nice beach adjacent to the hotel.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulalia and would highly recommend it to anyone holidaying in the Algarve.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SFA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2009

Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Grande Real Santa Eulália. Your comments are very much appreciated and we are very pleased to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA n the near future.

Kind regards


Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

We (me and my wife) stayed at the Grande Real Santa Eulália from 17th to 19th December 2008 (my wife´s birthday) and the Hotel gave us a free offering of two thalassoterapy entries and one birthday cake with a bottle of champagne, without beeing asked for!

This Hotel has the biggest thalassoterapy (warm and dinamic sea water) pool of Portugal with a temperature of 35.º (only less 1.º than the normal temperature human body).

This Hotel is very big and has very nice gardens, and it is very close to the sea shore (only about 200 meters)

This is the best 5 stars Hotel in Algarve.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank NAVEGADOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2009

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind review about the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA. We are very proud that you consider our Resort to be the best in the Algarve. We will do our utmost to continue to deliver to your expectations and look forward in welcoming you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA in the near future.

Kind regards


Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
2.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £49 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing