We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Polana Residence Hotel
Ranked #141 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great value and central location”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

You couldn't get a more central hotel if you tried - right in the middle of all of the bars (but at the quieter end of the street) and a couple of minutes to the beach. The rooms are fairly basic but are very clean but perfectly adequate. Staff on reception are very friendly and helpful and make a real effort to get to know you during your stay.

An ideal hotel for solo travellers, young couple or a group of friends. Don't choose this hotel if you have mobility problems as you need to use stairs to get to the rooms. There is a small lift but it stops between the floors.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CamGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    27
    23
    18
    26
See reviews for
5
70
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

the hotel is right in the heart of everything had a lovley week rooms lovley and clean ,cleaned every day and clean towels everyday, small bathroom though had to go in on a side then close door to get round to the toilet but the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was nice , and tea and coffee in room everyday but no milk so take some if you want drink in a mornng .

Room Tip: if you dont get a balcony room would go for 4 th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank largie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This hotel is right in the middle of all bars/restaurants, not suitable for more mature people as it is very noisy. The rooms basic but bathroom very small. The rooms were cleaned every day with clean towels replenished daily too. Basic continental breakfast. Kettle and coffee/tea in room but no milk. No fridge, safe in wardrobe but had to pay a daily fee.
The lift that is available can only be reached after climbing a flight of stairs 13 to be exact.
Not what i expected after asking before booking if there were any steps as i was in a wheelchair, what a shock i got on entering the small reception area.
The staff were very limited with english but were unaware that i was disabled when they received our booking from ASDA travel. The hotel was small and friendly and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

just had our usual september weekend away with the lads, the hotel was clean and tidy, had 24 hr reception, and was close to all the fun. situated on bar st you do encounter some noise but this weekend it was us making it so no issues there. i would certainly recommend this hotel for the lads though it may not suit some girls who would prefer a more luxurious room. the cost is fair for what you get and i will probably be back next year.
tried the breakfast one morning but wasn,t impressed. there are lots of places to eat nearby which are good and cheap.
room has tea and coffee making facilities but no fridge.

Room Tip: the higher the quieter but not a problem if you are a night owl
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graeme b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Great 2 star hotel right at the heart of the old town and at the tail end of "bar street". Good reception, security and foyer. Main areas very clean and well maintained. The room was bright and thoughtfully decorated. Small bath and shower in good order. Fresh bedding and towels, tea and coffee (no milk) each day; room spotlessly cleaned so no service issues. The rooftop pool at the California was much better than I anticipated, so it was easy to flit between beach (200 yds) and the pool. there was early evening noise from the street but even the Neil Diamond crooner finished about 9.30 and the momentum moved higher up the street to the disco bars.
Overall I would not normally stay so close the the centre as I would have expected a reduction in quality and increase in disturbance, neither were signifiant and I would gladly return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveandjaneLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Myself and my partner had a week here at this hotel, it was basic (we referred to it as a Travelodge) but it had good facilities, good standard Air Conditioning, a well equipped bathroom and a small balcony to do a spot of people watching to start or finish your day.

The location for this hotel is fantastic, you cannot ask for a better location, on your doorstep is many restaurants and bars all across the strip - in the main part of old town, even better is that the beautiful beach is a mere slow 5 minute walk.

The staff are very accommodating, friendly, give you tips on hot spots and help you out with all your holiday needs, rooms cleaned to spotless conditions everyday too.

So you literally can't ask for anything more (unless you want luxury).. although we didn't use it that much, you had access to the pool over at Hotel California, which is near enough next door.

The only thing I would say need improving is their breakfast isn't particularly fantastic - we ate out most mornings even though we chose the bed and breakfast option mainly due to no hot foods available and not a great selection admittedly.

For me, the noise wasn't a problem, I got to sleep near quickly each night. The best thing for us was to open the balcony doors allowing the noise in whilst you get ready for bed just for ten minutes then closing them as you climb into bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deano85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Just had a weeks stay here and we loved it. Great location, close to everything but very very noisy at night until 4am when all the music stops and the revellers return to their hotels. However, close the double glazed doors and sleep like a baby! The staff are all helpful and man the receptions all night. The room we had,403, was fine and had a small but adequate balcony. Breakfast was ok but nothing hot..well it was very warm outside from early on so who wants fried bacon and egg anyway? The beach was 5 minutes away and is fantastic, but as this hotel has no pool they have a sister hotel, Hotel California, which does and is ok to use showing your room card. All in all we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westburywander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
#142 of 154 in Albufeira
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#144 of 154 in Albufeira
378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Turial Park
Turial Park
#111 of 154 in Albufeira
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#68 of 154 in Albufeira
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#36 of 154 in Albufeira
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polana Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polana Residence Hotel

Property: Polana Residence Hotel
Address: Rua Candido dos Reis 32, Albufeira 8200-103, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the vibrant heart of the old town of Albufeira with her restaurants and bars.The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the beach.This, for the most part, recently renovated hotel has a cozy, modern and friendly atmosphere.The hotel has comfortable, tastefully decorated rooms, some with terrace, all with tv and airconditing. In the morning you can enjoy a full continental breakfast.There is 24 hours reception available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Polana Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polana Hotel Albufeira
Polana Residence Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing