We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small rooms but quite ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Polana Residence Hotel
Ranked #148 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Small rooms but quite ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Nice hotel with small but clean comfortable rooms, ideal position in one of the walking malls provided you can handle a bit of late night music and revelry.
Good TV with plenty of English channels, average but ok breakfast.
Female staff all friendly but disappointed with one male member who closed the front door when we were listening to the music from up the mall in reception because, “he hated music.”
Need to put plugs in bath and sinks to stop bad odour.
Wi-Fi only available at reception.

Room Tip: Try for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swannies_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    27
    23
    18
    25
See reviews for
5
69
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

On a whole I would agree with most reviews here.

Arriving early evening I was half expecting to be staying in the back of a nightclub with how busy the near by bars were but after finding the small reception area amongst the crowds we were met by a pleasant woman on reception. After getting our room keys we made our way to our room 208, (the lift is on half a level meaning you have to climb a flight of stairs before the lift and a flight of stairs after the lift so being that we were only on the second floor we didn't bother with the lift!) Although being so close outside to the bars it never stopped us getting to sleep but does go on til about 2/3am!
Rooms cleaned every day but Sunday, clean towels, bed changed and made and a mopped floor! Fair enough nothing to complain about also nothing to boast about. Free air-con is an excellent service, and the safe is €1.50 per day (we did this however security wasn't an issue what so ever!) very safe reception area and high security! We weren't allowed to take our keys out of the hotel but instead had a red card to present to prove we were staying here. Another security precaution; annoying at times but for our own safety I suppose!
We didn't have breakfast at all in the hotel despite it being part of the package as the first day we walked into tho restaurant area and felt liked we walked into someone's dining room at home on a Sunday afternoon! Stared at by everyone and very small area so we ate out for breakfast instead, plenty of choice of restaurants and pretty much the same price/standard at each one.
We tried the pool at the California, the lady on reception was helpful and pleasant and told us it was located on the 6th floor but again in getting out of the lift the whole hotel turned to stare and there weren't 2 sun beds together or enough space to move 2 together, the pool was fully in the shade and therefore freezing cold! So we paid €9 per day for 2 sun beds on the beach! So if a pool is a necessity of your holiday I'd probably suggest another hotel!

Final thing I have to mention, although not about the hotel, is the restaurant across from the hotel above the bar directly opposite up the stairs on the terrace - the food is TO DIE FOR! Perfect little romantic setting and not crammed in unlike the rest if the restaurants we visited! Not cheap but worth every penny! Wish we'd discovered before the last night!

The hotel should be rated more than 2 star however I probably wouldn't stay again, rather pay abit more and get abit more!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My friend and I spent a week in the Polana in September 2013. We wasn't expecting much but didn't mind because of the cost. We were actually quite surprised at how nice the hotel was. Our room wasn't too basic and was very clean. We had good air-con, a TV and kettle. As the hotel is located on the strip it can be very loud at night. This didn't bother us as we were out all night. I wouldn't recommend it for a family or quiet holiday because of the noise.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and the top of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zara_Method_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at polana for a week in room 307..it was brilliant room lovely clean and cool. We had a terrace which we requested it was lovely.. best of all location best in the town.. noisy but we were up high so no problem..may be a problem in a lower room. Will definately stay there again.. only improvement i would like to see would be something like boiled egg for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanymcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

me and my partner have just spent a week staying in the Palona residence, i wasn't expecting much as we went for the cheap 2* hotel. i was quite surprised how nice the hotel looked, well decorated and clean, however the room was very very basic. there was a kettle and mugs but no tea or coffee to make a drink with, the shower ran off the bath taps and there was no shower head holder which made life a little difficult.
and then there was the issue of the noise, from 8am when the shop, bars and stall holders were opening and setting up till 4am when the music from the numerous bars under across and either side of the hotel stopped. on the bright side you get 4hrs quiet a day if you are lucky. we weren't so lucky as we had a big group of girls staying in the adjoining rooms who thought that 4:30am when getting in from the bars decided was a good time to talk really loudly and play music. the reception staff were nice, the rest a little strange to say the lea. st.
breakfast was a continental buffet which meant orange juice,toast and coffee on the couple of days i did eat there...full english at a nearby bar won most days.
all in all it is a good hotel for the young partygoers but not so good for the older generation

Room Tip: rooms at back of hotel have got to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent. Amongst the night life but the double glazing stops the late night noise. We were a party of 46 and were treated as friends by all the staff. The rooms are very clean with the newly re furbished rooms very light and airy. The owners and staff were really helpfull and helped in any way they could. One of us had a birthday while there and the owners supplied us with a birthday cake and champagne to help us celebrate. I would recommend this hotel to anyone as it caters for all ages. As for walking home at the end of the night, there are no hills and a 24 hour reception.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are the best with a terrace and sunbeds. These are the nost expensive rooms though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Compared to other hotels I have stayed in, this one has very poor value for money.

What we liked:
- Very close to the beach;
- Wifi (although is was broken two times during our one week stay, and it breaks in the afternoon no one will fix it till next day);
- Staff at reception is friendly unless you have some complaints.

What we didn't like:
- Room design: Standard room is extremely basic. Especially bathroom, which desperately needs refurbishing. Real looks of the room are much different from those advertised on booking.com. Bathroom was tiny, with stains on the walls and ceiling and an uncovered window overlooking some backstreet. There was not even towel hanger. Bathroom curtain was very dirty and unpleasant. The 'balcony' was a tiny step with no partition between our room's balcony door and the neighbouring room.
- Extremely noisy: Hotel is located right beside three disco bars open till 3-4 a.m., and after that garbage cleaning in the street is also noisy. Soundproofing in our room on the 4th floor was very poor. We have spotted several other hotels directly in Albufeira old town where you can't hear the music and shouting so well even in the street.
- Cleanness of the room: In our room there were stains on the floor and on bathroom walls. Also during first three days of our stay we've seen plenty of ants in the wardrobe (hotel staff might argue that it was due to the fact we brought food to our room, but the food was packed and stored right at the other end of the room).
- Towels are not changed every day: Although not a problem itself, we did not receive any warning on that matter from reception (the lady at check in said that cleaning was made every day and the bed linen were changed every three days. Towels were not considered bed linen in any of numerous b&b, 2*-5* hotels I'd seen before). Moreover, when I needed a towel change and put the towel on the floor (not very clean floor I must say), the room maid just picked it up and hanged on top of a bathroom curtain. When I complained to Patricia at reception, I got a whole life coaching session along with the new towel, and at check out I got another life coaching from the owners.
Here I must say that the owner was very rude and specified he did not want any customers with complaints in his hotel.
- Advertised half board turned out to include an 'a la carte' dinner in one of the restaurants in the neighbourhood with very limited choice and average service and food quality. Considering plenty of restaurants in Albufeira, food choice and pricing, it's worth refrain from such half board.

Room Tip: Don't book standard rooms on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna_Kiev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
#151 of 163 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#149 of 163 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#41 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Turial Park
Turial Park
#125 of 163 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#60 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sao Vicente
Hotel Sao Vicente
#109 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polana Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polana Residence Hotel

Property: Polana Residence Hotel
Address: Rua Candido dos Reis 32, Albufeira 8200-103, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Polana Residence Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the vibrant heart of the old town of Albufeira with her restaurants and bars.The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the beach.This, for the most part, recently renovated hotel has a cozy, modern and friendly atmosphere.The hotel has comfortable, tastefully decorated rooms, some with terrace, all with tv and airconditing. In the morning you can enjoy a full continental breakfast.There is 24 hours reception available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Polana Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polana Hotel Albufeira
Polana Residence Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing