We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, clean hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpinus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alpinus Hotel
Ranked #54 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
INGLEBY BARWICK, STOCKTON-ON-TEES
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good, clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

This hotel seemed to cater more for Spanish/Portugese visitors. Unfortunately during our week long stay, we had 6 days of constant rain - couldn't go in the pool, too cold. The hotel room was huge for the 4 of us, exceptionally clean & modern - could not fault this hotel. The location is a 15 min (complimentary) bus ride to the old town, we did feel as tho' there is nothing in the area except a couple of bars, shops etc. Would definately recommend the hotel if you just want to sit by the pool in high season.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if you want a huge balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JANJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    398
    231
    99
    54
See reviews for
440
280
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

This was a girlie holiday stayed for 3 nights. Could not fault it all. Apartment was big and clean, two big double rooms with one en-suite. Big kitchen and lounge area, and the balcony over looking a golf course.Maids cleaned every day. Reception staff very helpful and polite. Quiet area, perfect for adults looking for a bit of peace and quiet.
Walk to the beach is about 20min walk, nice beach. Free shuttle bus very good at the hotel, it takes you the beach in Albuferia and the Strip where the nightlife is.
The stay was perfect from start to finish. Would definatley stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank winsome_annakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2016
Dear Guest ,

We appreciate the comments shared about your experience at the Hotel Luna Alpinus .
Your feedback helps us to improve our service and quality in order to exceed wherever possible their expectations .
We hope to return to get it next visit , this hotel or other Hotel Luna Hotels Group .
Best regards
Tiago Afonso Pais
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Hotel Luna Alpinus is situated in a quiet environment. Just round the corner there are a number of places that serve good food at reasonable prices (our favorite were "O sole mio" and "Casa di Falesia"). If you are looking for a busy place with a lot of shops and restaurants, you should choose Albufeira centre instead.
The hotel accomodation is ok, very clean and very spacious. On the other hand, a 4 star hotel should have a better service, especially at the reception. Nobody was rude but a little more effort and some basic manners such as saying Hi! (or Ola!) to guests when they are passing by wouldn't hurt anyone.
We didn't experience anything unpleasant while staying at this hotel but we think that there are a few things that can be improved to make us choose this hotel again.
The breakfast was very boring and tasteless. Good choice of white bread sorts but nothing for those who wish to eat healthier. Very poor coffee and beverages. Fruit from a can! Vegetables? Tomatoes, bell peppers and onion! You see where I'm going..Why don't they serve something local (fish pate, macrel and so on..)?? It would be very appreciated!

The best: environment, price, room, cleaning service
The hotel should work on: giving updated information (timetables for the local buses we got at the hotel didn't work and the hotel's map of the area was completely useless!), making more effort towards the guests, (breakfast) food

We found some beautiful beaches nearby, not at all a bother to walk a few hundred meters. There is a little shopping centre in Falesia with coffee shops and restaurants (also just a few hundred meters from the hotel).

We enjoyed our holiday very much. Algarve has one of the most beautiful beaches in Europe. At the time of our stay it seemed like there were very few tourists, which suited us very much but of course, it didn't seem to please the local restaurant and shop owners. So don't hesitate and book your holiday in Algarve now! :))

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank evuniaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

This was our second trip to the Luna Alpinus after being impressed with it back in 2009. As we experienced before we arrived at 11am and the room was ready at 2pm. This time we were given a room overlooking the Pine cliffs resort. We had a different room than before but still the same cleanliness and amenities was on offer.

The staff all appear to have been given personality upgrades since last time as they actually smile now. However, unless I was mistaken, the number of staff on duty were few and far between. Sometimes the pool bar - on both pools - would be empty.

The North pool area was as usual very well looked after, the pool itself clean and crystal clear. WiFi is now available in the foyer for free ( just ask for the password at reception). However the router signal is very weak and drops out frequently.

In 2009 I noticed how noisy the area was. This was due to a new apartment complex being constructed down the road. This is now complete yet every few minutes a truck will drive past, clanking away loudly. Returning 30 minutes later filled up with sand. Very Very noisy.

My advice is that if you use the North pool, buy some ear protectors.

All in all though the Alpinus provided another quality stay. Totally recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Quinndexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Travellers: Two Adults (very early 30’s) and two little monsters (aged nearly 3 and 18 months).

Accommodation: Two bedroom self-catering apartment.

Hotel comments: Firstly the two bed apartment is absolutely massive! It is nearly as big as our house and comes equipped with two small shaded balconies and a chuffing huge roof ‘garden’. This massive size is all due to the fact that the complex was originally built as timeshare apartments but was sold to a hotel company instead. Well worth the money, if just for the terrace, let alone the two very reasonably sized bathrooms (one en-suite).
The staff are friendly but of average competence, with the exception of the shuttle bus driver who was lovely.
Two large pools and two kiddies ones suitable for babies and toddlers who love a bit of splashy-sploshy. One of each located on each half of the complex. All four clean (although unmonitored in June) and surrounded by a large number of sun beds and parasols. No real sunbed ‘reservation’ issues although that could be due to the lovely manners from the large number of Portuguese families who came for a long bank holiday weekend, and always removed all their stuff when going for the long lunches freeing up sunbeds. Note: Pools are unheated but weren’t too bad, especially the kiddy ones which even the fussy toddler would play in, and probably even more lovely in the real peak heat of August.
It is a one minute walk to the nearest supermarket which is very well stocked and relatively cheap (considering). Has a fresh fruit / veg, full butchers and delicatessen section for anyone actually doing any cooking…. It opens 8am(?) and closes at around 8.30pm. It may come as no surprise to know that all I can remember despite it only being two days later was that a 100g bag of sweeties was 1E, a litre of Super Bock was 1.60E and Robinsons squash was 2.5E.

Resort Comments: Firstly, the beach is chuffing miles away! (i.e. a good twenty minute walk – not great in the heat). Pavements narrow, bumpy and non-existent in places. It is also down a steep set of slopes. So much so that I lost weight over the holiday thanks to pushing the double McLaren buggy, but at least the beach body got a final tone up. Also the nearest one has a very large flight of steps at the bottom, which even has seats for the oldies to rest at two points along the way. However, it is lovely when you get there and a very pretty walk.
In addition, the hotel has a FREE (5 minute ride time) shuttle bus to Olhos d’Agua village, which runs relatively regularly and all days except Sundays and public holidays. There is also a regular ‘pay for’ bus outside the hotel. If you have a buggy, then ignore the massive flight of steps (which leads you to the other end of the same beach approached from the hotel). Instead go down the hill via a large pavement all the way to the heart of the village. It is complete with cafes and facilities by the beach (unlike the main beach which has some very expensive tourist traps) as well as rock pools for the little people to poke things with sticks in the name of science.
The same buses (both free and ‘pay for’) then continue to Albufeira. The paid buses ditch you by the large supermarket in the centre midway between the Strip and the old town, the free one ditches you in the middle of no-where, but if you turn right and walk 5 minutes you hit the strip and if you continue going right (over the roundabout despite what your other half then says) you then hit the beach and start of the ‘old town’. Note: The old town is not very old or picturesque and the Strip had more stags / hens than you could start a fight with, but still worth a visit.
There are about 10 restaurants and bars in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, for those who have children too young to go ‘granny grabbing’ on the Strip, via the late night shuttle. Pateo d’Golf was our favourite, a euro or so more expensive than some of the others but the cataplana (local meat and fish stew) is huge and well worth a punt. A good beer and ice lolly can be had at Hugo’s which sold Super Bock beer at 1E a half (20CL) and 1.5E (40CL). The glasses are oversized and generously filled, or they may have just thought we needed it, so it comes relatively close to a proper pint. Most places were the same, beer size wise, although expect to pay 1.5E (20CL) and 2.5E (40CL) for the local restaurants or in a café on the Strip. Food worked out at about 4E for a kiddy portion, and about 8E for an adults (Chicken piri-piri), although 12-15E if you wanted steak or big meat dishes.
Hidden Gem: Quinta Do Mel – a lovely little boutique Café. Turn right out of the hotel heading to the super market, at the cross roads turn right (towards Olympic bar) then just keep going past all the lovely rental villas. Keep going on the road when the pavement ends and the orange groves start (it is a country road, wide and with good visibility as well as minimal cars and lots of cyclists). It is a large white building with blue window decal. Does a lovely cake and coffee / homemade herbal tea and is so different to anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank SarahDManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madeira, portugal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

This a nice hotel, near the beach, but far from city center.
The apartments have lots of space and are clean.
I didn´t like dinner, because the food was always the same, specially the main courses.
They have parking space outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Necas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

All you could ask for in the apartment, air conditioning good and quiet the pool clean and well managed but a bit out from the town centre but there is a free schuttle bus
Well laid out rooms with a safe(2.25 euros a day but worth it)
Kitchen had all you will need and bathroom was nice with a bidet.
Food however was a different matter we had dinner once and the meat was either incinerated tuna steak, hamburger or PORK BELLY????? breakfast is much the same a better option is the restaurant A Lagosteira just down the road. All in all a

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ulsterman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#94 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#20 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
3.8 mi away
Luna Miramar
Luna Miramar
#65 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#64 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
3.7 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#44 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
2.0 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#33 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpinus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpinus Hotel

Property: Alpinus Hotel
Address: | Pinhal do Concelho - Acoteias, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal (Formerly Luna Alpinus)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpinus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exclusive touristic areas, near the famous beaches of Albufeira. With an exceptional view over the pine trees and the golf course, the Alpinus Hotel is the perfect place for holidays in the Algarve. Features 185 apartments and studios (128 one-bedroom apartments, 52 two-bedrooms apartments and 5 studios) comfortably furnished, all with balcony, equipped kitchen, bathroom, direct telephone, satellite TV, stereo system, air conditioning and safe. The hotel includes two pool areas for adults and children, buffet restaurant, bar, coffee shop, meeting and events room with support equipment, private parking and free Wi-Fi. LOCATION The Alpinus Hotel is located between the exclusive area of Vilamoura, with its Casino, Marina and some of the best golf courses in the Iberian Peninsula, and the cosmopolitan town of Albufeira, with a diversity of handicraft shops, restaurants, bars, clubs and the vibrant nightlife of the Algarve. 29 km from Faro Airport, 12 km from Vilamoura, 10 km from the historic center of Albufeira, 1.2 km from the Falesia beach and 200 m from the Pine Cliffs golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Alpinus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Alpinus Albufeira
Luna Alpinus Hotel Albufeira
Alpinus Albufeira
Hotel Alpinus
Alpinus Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing