We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Star not 4” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpinus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alpinus Hotel
Ranked #54 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“3 Star not 4”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Went with the girls for a friends birthday-we were meant to be staying at the balaia resort and was told they had over booked so sent here-Wouldnt be our first choice.

On arrival we were shown to our rooms which were two bedroom apartments, I have to say very clean and spacious so not dissappointed at all. Fully equipped kitchen with large living area, TV and CD player included.

The pool has a little to be desired, it is very small with hardly any sun loungers so you have to be up early! There are a number of lovely restaurants close by and also a couple of supermarkets. The poolside food not the best- If you enjoy chips and burgers you'll be fine.
We were room only but I understand they have All inclusive.

Taxis is usually about 11 Euros too Alberfieura- taxis can be booked by reception. We ate out everynight in the old town which has amazing restaurants and very cheap!

I wouldn't stay again but it's cheap and worth it for families.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    398
    231
    99
    54
See reviews for
440
280
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I spent a week with my sons (10 & 11) at this hotel at the beginning of July. It was absolutely perfect for us and we had a fantastic holiday.
The room was a one bedroom apartment, spacious and clean, though there was occasionally a drain smell from the bathroom it wasn't bad enough to bother us. I slept on the sofa bed which was not the most comfortable, though I've slept on worse and the kids had the bedroom which seemed to be comfy. Rooms were cleaned daily. The self catering kitchen was perfect for our needs though we really only cooked pizza for lunch as we were half board. There was air conditioning in the main room and the bedroom which was great as it could get very warm.
The food was good, not amazing, but a wide variety and always something my rather fussy elder son would eat. Both pools are nice and we always managed to get a sunbed.
The staff at reception were friendly and helpful and there was free wifi in the lobby (which is more than in other hotels).
There was a real mix of people from different countries which we liked and it was definitely biased towards young families. We didn't go to any of the evening entertainments or take part in the kids club, so I can't really comment on that.
We walked a couple of times to Falasia beach, which although it is a bit of a hike especially with younger children, is well worth it as it is beautiful. We also took the courtesy bus to the sister hotel in Albufeira at Oura, but prefered the quieter Falasia resort.
I would highly recommend this hotel to couples and families if you want a quiet holiday in a nicely appointed hotel. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CHGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed here 27th June 2012, the hotel is in a very quiet area in a suburb of Albufiera and not easily acessable for the centre the last bus is at six pm and a taxi is 12 euros each way. We stayed self catering and found it very good for a self catering holiday, the apartment was a very generous size and well equipped with good size bedroom and lounge, TV and HIFI in the good size living room. Staff very friendly and the hotel was spotless all round. I believe that the hotel has only just started to do all inclusive and this shows, there was a 50/50 mix of SC and Al there were limited AL activities and service areas. we did not eat in the hotel so can not comment on the food, we used the resturaunts around the corner there are around 10 locally.
To sum up it was a quite break and for self catering it more than met our expectations, I would not have been happy if I had booked All inclusive as this was not what I would expect for a four star al resort.

hope this helps

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicklb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

just back and loved it. weather was very hot and loads of sun all day. we had a nice big room with all the amenities we needed. 2pools ,1for adults 1 for kids and an often busy bar at nights with kids club till 10 then folk dancers or parrots or belly dancer. main bar is non smoking and inner bar is smoking permitted.local shops and supermarkets a short walk away,plus 2 autobanks too.staff good humoured and always helpfull. ps definately use the hotel restraunt for buffet at 15 euros each for a great meal. we ll be back again oneday for sure.

Room Tip: quiter on south side of hotel away from busy corner bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2016
Dear Guest ,

We appreciate the comments shared about your experience at the Hotel Luna Alpinus .
Your feedback helps us to improve our service and quality in order to exceed wherever possible their expectations .
We hope to return to get it next visit , this hotel or other Hotel Luna Hotels Group .
Best regards
Tiago Afonso Pais
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Just returned from a long weekend at this hotel!! Loved every minute of it. The staff were very friendly and polite unlike the staff at many of the spanish hotels we've stayed at. The hotel itself was very clean and our room was great. The food was great, not a huge selection but the quality was superb. if anything the night time entertainment was not the best but certaintly didn't spoil a great holiday. We will defo be returning to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Edmundtrebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, General Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2016
Dear Guest ,

We appreciate the comments shared about your experience at the Hotel Luna Alpinus .
Your feedback helps us to improve our service and quality in order to exceed wherever possible their expectations .
We hope to return to get it next visit , this hotel or other Hotel Luna Hotels Group .
Best regards
Tiago Afonso Pais
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle, cumbria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

we have just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel for my birthday and enjoyed every minute. we booked this holiday through easy jet hols staying all inclusive 2 adults and 2 children aged 12 and 6. we had a one bedroom apartment looking out over one of the pools. the room was very clean and spacious with a large kitchen area, great for people staying self catering/half board. there was an iron, ironing board and hair dryer all in the room which i hadnt realised would be there. the sofa pulled out to make a bed for the kids and the bed in the bedroom was really comfy. the maids came in every day. dont take any notice of the poor reveiws on the food as it was excellent, there was always a meat and fish dish for dinner and evening meal changing each day, with rice, pasta, potatos,fries and different veg and salads to choose from. the soup was delicous as was the puddings! there was red and white wine available, beer, soft drinks and water, what more would people want. the pool area was very clean and did get full early.we always went to the north pool as there was more going on there and better for the kids. there is free wi-fi in the reception area where there is comfy sofas to sit on and a playstation for the kids(this is to pay for) the entertainment was quite basic and finished around 11pm so no late noisy nights. we walked to falesia beach one day which took us approx 15-20min, well worth it as it was lovely, there is a few little shops on the way. we booked a trip to zoomarine from the hotel which was a grt day out, the bus picks you up at the bus stop near the hotel then brings you back around 5pm.this hotel is abit far out from albufeira but this didnt bother us and we realised that before we booked it. overall i couldnt fault this hotel at all and would have loved to stay longer, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank teemey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, General Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2016
Dear Guest ,

We appreciate the comments shared about your experience at the Hotel Luna Alpinus .
Your feedback helps us to improve our service and quality in order to exceed wherever possible their expectations .
We hope to return to get it next visit , this hotel or other Hotel Luna Hotels Group .
Best regards
Tiago Afonso Pais
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights on a short break half board. When we arrived we were given a very spacious one bedroom apartment facing one of the pools. The room was great tv and sofa bed in the lounge and seperately controlled air conditioning in both living area and bedroom. Maid service every day with clean towels if required. The kitchen had a toaster and cooker and kettle with a dining table also. Bathroom was ok but shower needed replacing and it was a shower curtain which i don't like but thats me only pointing out something minor as I was very satisfied with the room. The food was good, yes repetative but all cooked well. Breakfast was better than dinner purely because the choice a night time was limited but perhaps in the height of season there would be more choice. The pools were fine but again if it was busier there would be not enough loungers etc as one day we couldn't get one. The bar and lounge area was nice but small for the size of the complex but the entertainment was good for the short time we were there. Yes as others have said they only serve in horrible plastic glasses and we were not even all inclusive they say that because it is the pool bar as well they cant have glass ??? The animals show was excellent. The parrots were super and the clowns were good if a little annoying with the constant whistling !! lol
The location was the downfall of this hotel as it is not in albufeira as advertised. It is in Falesia which is a 10 euros roughly in a taxi to albufeira. You can walk to a couple of restaurants and 2 good supermarkets and a couple of souviner shops. It is a really good walk to the beach so we didn't do it - we attempted it but it was too long for us. Albufeira was nice the beach is lovely but a very cold sea and very windy. The best shell collecting i have ever done with my daughter so have a good look - also watch little ones in the sea as the waves are very strong. We went to zoo marine which is super - i would highly recommend it as it has more than just a dolphin show. So overall a nice relaxing break with super apartments which i would have returned to if the resort had more in it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TiniGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2016
Dear Guest ,

We appreciate the comments shared about your experience at the Hotel Luna Alpinus .
Your feedback helps us to improve our service and quality in order to exceed wherever possible their expectations .
We hope to return to get it next visit , this hotel or other Hotel Luna Hotels Group .
Best regards
Tiago Afonso Pais
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#94 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#20 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
3.8 mi away
Luna Miramar
Luna Miramar
#65 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#64 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
3.7 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#44 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
2.0 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#33 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpinus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpinus Hotel

Property: Alpinus Hotel
Address: | Pinhal do Concelho - Acoteias, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal (Formerly Luna Alpinus)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpinus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exclusive touristic areas, near the famous beaches of Albufeira. With an exceptional view over the pine trees and the golf course, the Alpinus Hotel is the perfect place for holidays in the Algarve. Features 185 apartments and studios (128 one-bedroom apartments, 52 two-bedrooms apartments and 5 studios) comfortably furnished, all with balcony, equipped kitchen, bathroom, direct telephone, satellite TV, stereo system, air conditioning and safe. The hotel includes two pool areas for adults and children, buffet restaurant, bar, coffee shop, meeting and events room with support equipment, private parking and free Wi-Fi. LOCATION The Alpinus Hotel is located between the exclusive area of Vilamoura, with its Casino, Marina and some of the best golf courses in the Iberian Peninsula, and the cosmopolitan town of Albufeira, with a diversity of handicraft shops, restaurants, bars, clubs and the vibrant nightlife of the Algarve. 29 km from Faro Airport, 12 km from Vilamoura, 10 km from the historic center of Albufeira, 1.2 km from the Falesia beach and 200 m from the Pine Cliffs golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Alpinus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Alpinus Albufeira
Luna Alpinus Hotel Albufeira
Alpinus Albufeira
Hotel Alpinus
Alpinus Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing