We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best”
Review of Alpinus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpinus Hotel
Ranked #45 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We arrived late at night and when we got into apartment was very pleased with the size of room and cleanliness though slightly perturbed at bugs running over kitchen worktop which my partner had to kill as i was all for leaving. Requested room with balcony and pool view, got balcony and view of main road complete with noise. The first morning we were rudely awakened to man with leaf blower.food was adequate, we managed to find something to eat but not much variety. The rules regarding all inclusive were very strictly policed and we were told we could not get a cup of tea before 11am and no drinks after 11pm. drinks all served in plastic cups and snacks only available from one pool bar, snacks very limited and no chips or toasted sandwiches. Shuttle bus had to be booked 24hrs in advance and space very limited. Hotel 10 mins from beach and 50 mins from old town if walking so not exactly close. Staff were friendly enough though and answered any queries. Big gripe over sunbeds in pool areas as nowhere near enough for guests and only a few chairs and tables. Entertainment very hit and miss so never relied on that.don't think i would visit this hotel again. It seemed to us that if you were paying customers i.e self catering you were treated as 1st class citizens but if you were all inclusive you were 2nd class citizens, forgetting that we still paid, just we paid in advance!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    411
    236
    99
    54
See reviews for
458
286
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 9 nights in a self-catering apartment. Check-in was functional but I can't say the reception staff were particularly friendly or welcoming. The apartment itself was very spacious and the kitchen had all we were looking for. Our room looked out over one of the pools that was fairly quiet during the day but was much noisier in the evening as it was the location for the entertainment.
Overall the entertainment was pretty average at best and was heavily I reliant on guest participation rather than being entertained. We took all our meals and drinks out of the hotel and I feel we made the right choice. There are plenty of reasonable restaurants and bars within (easy) walking distance of the hotel. This enabled us to eat what we wanted and we didn't need to have drinks in those infernal plastic cups that were forced upon the all inclusive hotel guests. We did a quick tot up and found we spent less than the cost of all inclusive by using external restaurants and bars and that included a couple of €50per head meals.
Beds were comfortable and the rooms were kept very clean. However I agree that with most other reviewers this was not a four star hotel. But at the price, no reason to reject this place as an option.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank OrionSouthEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Well I'm gona be honest, we came back yesterday from a week all inclusive, it was a cheap break so wasn't expecting too much. The hotel is situated in an area where not many walks or shops, but if u are looking to relax this is for you. Room are all self catering apartments, spacious with sofa and tv, we were on 2nd floor looking over car park at back, but lovely view over mountains,quieter then pool view. Room was spotless, towels changed regular floor washed daily, smelled fresh. Only problem was young group above us coming back at silly o clock and scraping the chairs on floor. Food well if u are typical English and want to eat chips will be ok, right not loads of choice but try the fish, it's local and better than cod,and not a bone in sight, seafood was fresh and excellent, always chips or roast spuds and burgers or things that kids can eat, but be adventurous the taste was great, poor chef watched while most of guests scooped up chips and burgers and never tried local dishes which was great. Plain deserts and ice cream, good soup. Breakfast good, eggs tasty an fresh, plenty of choice. Wine beer or soft drinks at meal time and all help yourself. There were one fault was the sun beds, yes you have to be early to get one,spent all time at small pool as bit quieter, we said if you can't beat them join them,was up 8 am to put towel out. Staff mostly good, young man who works in bar and restaurant was cheerful and smiled a lot. Beach worth the walk but need to take shade as gets very hot. Overall good holiday, yes would say 3 star but 4 star for overall cleanliness .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daintonbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed at the Alpinus for nine nights, and was a little disappointed. Staff were quite good and rooms were very spacious, but a few niggles. I would not rate this hotel as 4star. It was quite noisy. My room overlooked the fairly busy road at the front of the hotel. and the glazing did not keep out the traffic noise, which started early in the morning. Tiled floors in the rooms and corridors also meant that sound carried very easily and this was intrusive. There was maid service every day, but on only one occasion was the bed linen changed. Towels were changed every other day. The tiled floors in the room were never cleaned and walking about the room in bare feet, or white socks quickly resulted in dirt on the soles. The kitchenette had fridge, oven with two hotplates, a toaster and kettle, but no microwave. There was one electric socket for the kettle and toaster, but this was on the wall opposite the worktops? Appliances had to be placed on the table, just below the electric socket. Also, it rained quite heavily the day before I left, and as sections of the corridors on the upper floors were open to the elements, the floors to the rooms/lifts etc. were awash, slippery and dangerous. Obviously not a problem if the weather is fine. All in all, it was just about ok, but I have stayed in better 3star hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors at rear of hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisterT_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

As the hotel I booked was closing early we were transferred to the Luna Alpinus. We were given a one bedroom apartment overlooking the small pool and bar area. The apartment was large with adequate equipment. The bed was uncomfortable and the floor was less than clean. However the biggest problem was the noise from the bar. The entertainment is third rate to say the least some of it taking place on an outside stage and after this finished at around 10.30/11.00 pm we were subjected to loud singing and shouting from the bar until midnight. Also on our first night we had about 8 lads in a room drinking etc until 4.30 am and on other evenings guests having no respect for others and making as much noise as they liked until the early hours. Also if you did want to sit around the pool you would have been unable to do so as towels was being put on the loungers at 7.30am and by 8.00am all loungers were reserved but no guests using them and most of the people doing this were senior citizens! We certainly will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Keep way from the small pool and bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun1flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Spent a week all inclusive with my family very disappointed as the hotel is rated 4 star definitely not a 4 star! Food was of very poor standard,same breakfast and lunch options every day! Food cold,also seemed to run out of food and would have to wait for more. Only pizza,hotdog and sandwiches for snacks staff refused to toast sandwiches unless you paid! Two pools with bars but one bar was shut for 3 days due to weather staff said.meaning to get a drink at the large pool had to go to other bar at smaller pool for drinks and snacks,not an easy task when you have to walk upstairs,downstairs,through reception to get to other bar. Pool area at large pool very dirty,mouldy sun loungers.pool area never cleaned from what we saw. when drinks were spilled in the afternoon one day when reported to bar staff we were told it would be cleaned up when pool shut at 6pm! Many staff were rude to myself and many other guests due to being all inclusive,seemed to only be pleasant to customers paying with cash! Hotel was a bus or taxi ride away from old or new town,hotel did provide a bus which said to book a day before which I did and it took two day to get it booked as fully booked,not surprising as they ran a small mini bus which only held 6 people!Only bonus about this hotel were the rooms and entertainment staff! I would say Luna Alpinus is a 3 star hotel never a 4 star.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

this was def not a 4 star all inclusive hotel no choice in food rooms were very shabby and old a few shops down the road but you are not near to any thing worst holiday ever bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad do not go hear change your mind while you can

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.9 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,104 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#24 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#91 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#32 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
3.7 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpinus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpinus Hotel

Property: Alpinus Hotel
Address: | Pinhal do Concelho - Acoteias, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal (Formerly Luna Alpinus)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpinus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exclusive touristic areas, near the famous beaches of Albufeira. With an exceptional view over the pine trees and the golf course, the Alpinus Hotel is the perfect place for holidays in the Algarve. Features 185 apartments and studios (128 one-bedroom apartments, 52 two-bedrooms apartments and 5 studios) comfortably furnished, all with balcony, equipped kitchen, bathroom, direct telephone, satellite TV, stereo system, air conditioning and safe. The hotel includes two pool areas for adults and children, buffet restaurant, bar, coffee shop, meeting and events room with support equipment, private parking and free Wi-Fi. LOCATION The Alpinus Hotel is located between the exclusive area of Vilamoura, with its Casino, Marina and some of the best golf courses in the Iberian Peninsula, and the cosmopolitan town of Albufeira, with a diversity of handicraft shops, restaurants, bars, clubs and the vibrant nightlife of the Algarve. 29 km from Faro Airport, 12 km from Vilamoura, 10 km from the historic center of Albufeira, 1.2 km from the Falesia beach and 200 m from the Pine Cliffs golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpinus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Alpinus Albufeira
Luna Alpinus Hotel Albufeira
Alpinus Albufeira
Hotel Alpinus
Alpinus Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing