We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Alpinus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpinus Hotel
Ranked #43 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 29 October 2013

went for short break 4 night holiday. great rooms if you pay for pool view.
Staff do a fine job, hotel is relatively clean.. agree the pool sun beds were extremely dirty.
The outside pool areas were infested with flies. Food reasonable. however I have to stress that there was very limited choice. Only one meat dish and one fish dish available each night.
There was also limited choice with vegetables salads and desserts.. Long queues at peak times. The restaurant staff were under considerable pressure to keep everyone attended too
courtesy bus runs 4 times daily. Approx 12 euros for taxi between hotel and Albufeuira
Bus stop only yards from hotel. In summary Not sure if this building was originally designed as " Apartments only then changed over to a Hotel. The restaurant is cramped and not really designed for the numbers of people it is catering for

Room Tip: definitely go for pool view as opp side is overlooks the side road. Also higher room 3rd to 5th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul&girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We arrived here for 5 nights at the end of October, bit apprehensive because of some of the reviews, but hopefully I will explain to you why you should ignore the poor reviews.

Firstly the hotel is about 5-6km outside Albufeira town, hotel runs a free shuttle service and taxi is 5 euro back, what is the problem? Quite often expansive and large all inclusive hotels will be a little outside the resort, I think sometimes people just like to complain about anything.

On arrival to hotel, was impressed by the outside, the building, and the interior all looked very clean. Reception staff were helpful, and info for other activities was clearly displayed in reception.

The rooms are massive, great big cooker, all amenities, large living room with some uk/irish channels, nice bathroom and big bedroom. Only thing that lets the bedroom down, is single beds, and not the most comfortable, however this is common in Portugal.

There are two pools in this hotel. The hotel is very large and took us a while to figure out to get to the 'North Pool.' Both pools quite big, more sunbeds at the north pool though, and it stays sunnier all day whereas the south pool goes into shade after 2pm.' Loungers are not the best to be fair, could maybe do with a touch up.

The all inclusive itself is not bad. Snacks are available at both pools all day, hot dogs pizza etc, mainly tinned and frozen cheap foods but they fill the void. Drinks are available all day up to 11pm, a wide selection of alcohol, and I can assure you none of it is watered down having a bad hangover one morning. The drinks at bars come in 25cl cup, about a third of a pint. To be fair for drink spirits and wine this is a standard glass, I didn't mind drinking out of plastic cups, I don't know people are getting so annoyed, its a big hotel with a lot of holiday makers, it makes financial sense for them to give you drinks out of plastic.

As for the dinners, (12.30 - 2.00 and 19.00 - 21.30) they're ok. Range of foods, not the most flavorsome to be fair, but still a good feed with a varied selection of meats, pastas and salads. Deserts and starters also available, and staff very helpful. In addition, you pour your own pint here, half pints this time, lovely beer. Wine also available.

We got a massage advertised at front desk, from a sports physio, very deep massage but really good value.

We ate out two nights, one resteraunt just down the road to the right, very cheap and lovely food. Then went into the town one night, ate at a steakhouse and then went for drinks. Albufeira is a lovely town.

On our way out of hotel, as we left very early in the morning the hotel made us an early breakfast, which was a great parting touch.

I would recommend this hotel for short breaks, good value for money. Anybody complaining, all I have to say is if you pay low value for a hotel don't expect 5 stars. Your expectations exceed your budget, get real!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here at the end of September for a week all Inclusive and although alot of people were moaning about the hotel while we was there we did not actually find it that bad.

So plus points, we had a lovely big apartment with a seperate kitchen area, bed were comfy, spotlessly clean, nice clean bathroom, food was good, always a good choice and very tasty, puddings where a bit rubbish but then most of them are abroad i find in a all inclusive hotel. Staff always friendly and helpfull.

Bad points - Well the hotel is very out the way, the are a few bars & shops near by but not much and the beach although beautiful was about a 10 - 15 mins walk away. The sun loungers need a good clean or replacing, no wifi except in the lobby or if you want to pay. Not a 4* hotel maybe a 3*. The free bus was fully booked to take you into town so we had to get a taxi, I think they maybe need a bigger bus! The entertainment... well what can i say they did try but it was a total disaster in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lassfromworcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have just returned from the hotel. To be honest we were a little apprehensive after reading the reviews on here. We were surprised when we got there, the staff on check in were friendly and gave us all the information we needed. We had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the golf course, what a lovely view!!!!! Room was huge, 2 bedrooms and two bathrooms, lounge area, kitchen and balcony, all were very clean and cleaned daily. Must agree that the hot food is slightly limited, but there was lovely soup, fresh rolls and bread, salad bar, pasta, rice and very tasty desserts, breakfast was very good. Overall for what we paid we found this very acceptable. The hotel is situated in a lovely quiet area between Albufeira and Vilamoura, We would definately return, we had a lovely time, the entertainment team work hard and get people involved. We would like to say to anyone who is reading this and was at the hotel starting 11/10/13 thank you all, you were a great friendly bunch of people who helped to make the holiday. I really think you need to go and see what you think for yourself as we all have our own views and don't think it is as bad as people make it out to be.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms overlooking the golf course with balcony are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have just returned from an 11 day holiday at this hotel. We would not recommend it to anyone as it was a poor 4 star. There were not enough public spaces to sit in and those they had were shabby with burst upholstery and crooked furniture. The drinks were served in plastic cups even INSIDE the hotel, latterly paper cups! The food was of a poor quality and there was little choice. We spent a lot on eating out even though we were on all inclusive. Around the pool the beds were packed in like sardines, they were hosed down daily and were soaking when we went down in the morning. The tables were dirty and needed replaced. There was a speaker playing music at the poolside and the animation team played different music at the same time. The animation team were the poorest I have ever seen. We found the staff surly and uncommunicative and they added nothing to the holiday. If you MUST go to Alpinas, go self catering and spend your money on some decent food.The resort was lovely and the beach beautiful, fortunately the weather was good and we were out of the hotel most of the time. Pull your socks up Thomas Cook!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

A strange layout out as you have to use fire doors to get to north pool and rooms, if like me you hate lifts.
apartments are very big and super clean and its good to have a cuppa in your room early morning(with free tea bags in ya pocket from restaurant :-)
However as we had a newer TV we had to pay a deposit of 20 euro for remote also they charge for a safe 15 euros and a bottle of water from bar costs 2.50 euro, we got ours from the supermarket round the corner 70euro for massive bottle.
As this hotel is 4* I thought these things would of been included with AI

We had a lovely holiday as the weather was fantastic, we walked to beach everyday as pool areas very small and no beds available in the sun and you can only put a towel on the grass , the beach is well worth going to , lots of steps but a bar (good prices for great beer) and toilets are available.

one more thing that did annoy me was them cutting the AI wristband off by 11am checkout! we were given lunch and as the staff at pool bar liked us we got snacks and drinks at north pool but when we went to main bar before we left we had to pay for beers! which are very over priced to other bars in area.
would we return....no but it was very good value for money

Room Tip: All apartments were very large, ours overlooked main road and golf course and got full sun later in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pcb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Reasonable hotel for price, nearby beautiful beach, good location as is In-between Albuferia and Villamora. Rooms our very spacious and clean and we had a good view of the golf course opposite, family friendly and the all inclusive was good value for what we paid

Room Tip: Get a room over looking golf course as is a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsShonaDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.8 mi away
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
816 reviews
2 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
1,014 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#24 of 154 in Albufeira
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
812 reviews
3.7 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#38 of 154 in Albufeira
2,456 reviews
3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpinus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpinus Hotel

Address: Pinhal do Concelho - Acoteias | Pinhal do Concelho - Acoteias, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal (Formerly Luna Alpinus)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £32 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpinus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exclusive touristic areas, near the famous beaches of Albufeira. With an exceptional view over the pine trees and the golf course, the Alpinus Hotel is the perfect place for holidays in the Algarve. Features 185 apartments and studios (128 one-bedroom apartments, 52 two-bedrooms apartments and 5 studios) comfortably furnished, all with balcony, equipped kitchen, bathroom, direct telephone, satellite TV, stereo system, air conditioning and safe. The hotel includes two pool areas for adults and children, buffet restaurant, bar, coffee shop, meeting and events room with support equipment, private parking and free Wi-Fi. LOCATION The Alpinus Hotel is located between the exclusive area of Vilamoura, with its Casino, Marina and some of the best golf courses in the Iberian Peninsula, and the cosmopolitan town of Albufeira, with a diversity of handicraft shops, restaurants, bars, clubs and the vibrant nightlife of the Algarve. 29 km from Faro Airport, 12 km from Vilamoura, 10 km from the historic center of Albufeira, 1.2 km from the Falesia beach and 200 m from the Pine Cliffs golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpinus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Alpinus Albufeira
Luna Alpinus Hotel Albufeira
Alpinus Albufeira
Hotel Alpinus
Alpinus Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing