We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was fun but.....”
Review of Alpinus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpinus Hotel
Ranked #45 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Was fun but.....”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The rooms were nice, the food was good and it was a nice environment. Only thing i can say about it was the third day in to my holiday i left my phone on charge in my room, i was gone a couple of hours and when i got back to my room the bed was made, everything was put in order but low and behold my phone was no longer there, i asked everyone i was abroad with and they all said they hadn't seen it, me and my brother had a real root around the room, checked literally everywhere and it wasn't there. So i went down to the hotel reception in a last bid attempt to see if anyone had handed one in. All of a sudden the staff were the most useless of anywhere I've stayed in my life. They didn't care. The clerk at the desk just looked at me and said "no, it wasn't any of the cleaning girls" no questions asked! It was shocking customer service. They didn't even look behind the desk. Honestly, I'd reccomend staying there if you don't mind your things being stolen. It's probably my own fault for trusting no one would steal it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank zorgleworgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Gerente at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2015
Dear Customer

Thank you for your opinion .
We will take your comments into consideration and we will try to improve on all points .

Looking forward to your next visit .

Best Regards
Tiago Pais
Manager Luna Alpinus
(tiagopais@lunahoteis.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    411
    236
    99
    54
See reviews for
458
285
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Travelled here in April and thought the hotel was absolutely brilliant! Me and my friend were given a huge one bedroom apartment with a kitchen,sitting room and bathroom! The staff on reception were always very friendly and polite towards us! We made good use of both pools and even though they were freezing the young children who were with us were still constantly in and out the pool-however the pool gets deeper as you go into the middle and this is not stated and around 2 or 3 children were hysterical when they couldn't feel the bottom-other than this I could not fault the hotel! We were not all inclusive so could not comment on the food however there is good facilities to make your own food and a few restaurants nearby! The location is okay it's only around 10 euros if you are getting a taxi into the strip full with bars and clubs at night. The hotel also runs a free shuttle service into the old town daily which you can book from reception. Would definitely return!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarabeex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Arrived here on Sunday 27th April at 11.30am , was told our room wouldn't be ready till near 4pm . Got our room at 1.30pm..
It was excellent , food in the hotel was good and plenty of variety . Staff were really nice and polite too. The only down side was the location , 30 minutes walk to the beach , the hotel runs a mini bus in to the old town everyday you need to book this in advance at the hotel reception..
I'd recommend this to anyone who hasn't been to the Algarve before .
Have read other reviews on rude staff - I couldn't find any !!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malky2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2016
Dear Customer,

Thank you for its opinion .
We will certainly continue to improve our service so that in future we can get it even better .

On behalf of Luna Alpinus team - Thank you .

Best Regards
Tiago Afonso Pais
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have just returned from a four night break at this hotel. When we arrived at 11.55am we were told by the receptionist that our room would not be ready until 3pm and to come back to reception at 12.30 pm for our all inclusive wristbands and if we wanted a drink or food before then we would have to pay for it. We went back at 12.30pm for our all inclusive wristbands.As we couldn't go to our room we decided to go to the restaurant for a drink and food. A good tip to remember is to take a separate bag with you to the hotel with towels and swimwear so that you are not hanging about for 3 hours in your travelling clothing waiting to get your room so that you can change!
We were given a room on the third floor at the front of the building.It was very spacious and airy. The rooms were cleaned daily by housekeeping. The north pool takes a bit of finding with the lift system as you have to go up to go down to get there. There is a big pool here and a kids pool with very old and dirty sunbeds. There is a bar here that also serves food 2.30 to 6.30pm.The pool area was tired and run down.However if you go to the other pool area at the main bar the pool area is better here and the sunbeds are clean! You are not allowed to put towels on the sunbeds before 9am which is a good idea as it stops the dawn raid with towels. The breakfasts were good and tasted okay. At lunchtime and evening meals there was a decent selection and the food was hot.
The evening entertainment was very basic a sort of kids disco and then bingo or karaoke or a quiz.
You can hire a towel for your sunbed at a cost of 10 euros. There is also a supermarket 2minutes away and a hairdressers called H&B they were good and charged 12euros for a wash and blow dry.There are also a few restaurants spread about as we'll.There's not a lot to do or see in the area outside of the hotel as it is in a golfing area.
The hotel is only of a basic 3 star and nothing like the standards you would expect at a 4 star hotel.It lacks character and is quite run down in a lot of areas inside the building and outside.Most of the staff were pleasant but not all. It wasn't busy while we were there and that was a bonus as there were no queues at the bar or in the restaurant.
Wouldn't stay there again though!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2016
Dear Customer,

Thank you for its opinion .
We will certainly continue to improve our service so that in future we can get it even better .

On behalf of Luna Alpinus team - Thank you .

Best Regards
Tiago Afonso Pais
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just returned from 5 nights all inclusive at the Alpinus. Would be hard to find fault with the hotel . Our apartment was clean spacious and very homely. It was cleaned daily, the staff were very friendly , helpful and polite. Good meal choice at the buffet, the daytime snacks were very good also. Thee area was quiet and ideal for myself and my 12yr old, we found a beach further along from the one the hotel recommends no steps and very private with cheap sun bed hire, and facilities. Overall an excellent experience staying at the alpinus and looking forward to returning . Only thing I would add is to hire a car as the excursions if involving a bus take a long time to get to with all the pick ups. ... Visited slide and splash , brilliant day out for family fun.

Room Tip: Choose an apartment rather than a studio , bedroom is huge ,bed is not comfy though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2016
Dear Customer,

Thank you for its opinion .
We will certainly continue to improve our service so that in future we can get it even better .

On behalf of Luna Alpinus team - Thank you .

Best Regards
Tiago Afonso Pais
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just back from Luna Alpinus after a weeks stay an had a good time.. Nice hotel an the rooms are very spacious an clean and you are provided with clean linen every other day.. You are also provided with TV with few channels and a mini stereo system so you can play your own cds.. The hotel is in a quiet area so not a lot see or do which was a pity as the entertainment was not the greatest so there was little choice but to endure it... I found the hotel was spotless with 2 pool areas an the staff always very friendly an helpful an not rude like other revues said.. All inclusive;; Food;; breakfast was very good but the rest was average and all the food was hot... Drinks;; plastic cups an cues but again plenty of it an you get wat u pay for...all in all not a bad hotel but 2* not 4*,,, cheap a n cheerfull hotel an i would visit again... there is a lovely beach nearby also Falasia beach about 15mins leisurely walk...

Room Tip: I stayed at the front of the hotel overlooking the golf course an main road... The road was very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2016
Dear Customer,

Thank you for its opinion .
We will certainly continue to improve our service so that in future we can get it even better .

On behalf of Luna Alpinus team - Thank you .

Best Regards
Tiago Afonso Pais
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Luna Alpinus fir 5 nights in March. The rooms are large and clean and you are provided with fresh linen every other day. The all inclusive was very disappointing, no choice and poor quality. The staff are rude and not helpful what so ever. The entertainment was absolutely appalling, we actually went out for 2 nights because it was so bad.
There isnt much at all around the hotel, maybe a couple of shops and a couple of bars. We got the bus into the old town which was lovely.
Overall the hotel is definitely nor a 4 star, it is a 2 star. We would definitely stay in portugal again but we would not come back to this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucinda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2016
Dear Customer,

Thank you for its opinion .
We will certainly continue to improve our service so that in future we can get it even better .

On behalf of Luna Alpinus team - Thank you .

Best Regards
Tiago Afonso Pais
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.9 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#66 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#23 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#91 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#31 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
3.7 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#43 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpinus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpinus Hotel

Property: Alpinus Hotel
Address: | Pinhal do Concelho - Acoteias, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal (Formerly Luna Alpinus)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpinus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exclusive touristic areas, near the famous beaches of Albufeira. With an exceptional view over the pine trees and the golf course, the Alpinus Hotel is the perfect place for holidays in the Algarve. Features 185 apartments and studios (128 one-bedroom apartments, 52 two-bedrooms apartments and 5 studios) comfortably furnished, all with balcony, equipped kitchen, bathroom, direct telephone, satellite TV, stereo system, air conditioning and safe. The hotel includes two pool areas for adults and children, buffet restaurant, bar, coffee shop, meeting and events room with support equipment, private parking and free Wi-Fi. LOCATION The Alpinus Hotel is located between the exclusive area of Vilamoura, with its Casino, Marina and some of the best golf courses in the Iberian Peninsula, and the cosmopolitan town of Albufeira, with a diversity of handicraft shops, restaurants, bars, clubs and the vibrant nightlife of the Algarve. 29 km from Faro Airport, 12 km from Vilamoura, 10 km from the historic center of Albufeira, 1.2 km from the Falesia beach and 200 m from the Pine Cliffs golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Alpinus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Alpinus Albufeira
Luna Alpinus Hotel Albufeira
Alpinus Albufeira
Hotel Alpinus
Alpinus Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing