We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family holiday - very good value for money”
Review of Alpinus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpinus Hotel
Ranked #43 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We have just returned from a two-week all inclusive holiday with our family at Luna Alpinus - nine of us in total ranging in age from us in our late 60s to our grandchildren aged 4 and 6. This is an excellent hotel for families, we all had a great time and I feel this holiday was very good value for money compared to other hotels we had considered. In my view the people who have criticised various aspects of this hotel should perhaps consider paying a little more to ensure they get the superior standard they obviously expect. However, in spite of the very reasonable cost of the holiday, my family found very little to complain about.

The apartments are very spacious and comfortable and it was very useful having a fridge and kettle. Toiletries were replaced throughout our stay which I had not expected. My daughter requested a camp bed for her four-year old to avoid someone sleeping in the lounge and this was immediately provided.

There were always plenty of sunbeds and parasols, and you couldn't get access to the main pool until 9 a.m. so you didn't have to be up early to get a sunbed. We never had a problem, even with our large group.

I cannot understand the negative reviews about the food. I am quite fussy about food but the excellent range at all meals cannot be faulted - it was always top quality, piping hot and plentiful, and in comparison to my experience of staying in various large 4-star hotels belonging to well-known chains it actually comes out very favourably. Very good indeed for a relatively small hotel. Empty plates were cleared immediately and never left on the tables and staff were always polite and friendly. One review states there were only fizzy drinks in the restaurant for children - this is not the case and the "still orange" both in the restaurant and pool bars was very good. A variety of soft drinks, local beer and wine was available at lunch and dinner and chilled water was also always available in the restaurant and the pool bars.

I do not agree with the criticism of the the animation team who worked hard throughout the day and evening to encourage guests of all ages to join in. There were a number of activities throughout the day, an extremely popular mini disco in the evening, followed by entertainment either by the animation team or an outside entertainer. Again, the entertainment may not be to the standard of more expensive hotels, but again you get what you pay for. All my family enjoyed the entertainment and felt that the team did their very best to entertain all guests of whatever age.

As our grandchildren are quite young we had intended to spend most of our time by the pool as we felt that the beach wouldn't be suitable for them - it gets very busy, is very hot in August and the sea is a little rough for young children. Both children loved splashing around in the small pool, and the big pool was safe enough for them to swim in with supervision.

People who have complained that the hotel is a little isolated should have done their homework before they went, and stayed nearer to Albufeira. However there was a good selection of restaurants, bars and shops within a reasonable distance. The walk to the beach took about 20 minutes at a relatively slow place which I, my husband and older members of our group, managed there and back quite easily.

There is only one criticism my family have, and that is that at least some of the sunbeds need replacing. They were reasonably comfortable to sit on, but some were broken and we had to check every morning to make sure that we didn't get a poor one.

All the family agreed they'd had a great holiday, and would love to return next year. Can't say fairer than that!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Dear Guest ,

We appreciate the comments shared about your experience at the Hotel Luna Alpinus .
Your feedback helps us to improve our service and quality in order to exceed wherever possible their expectations .
We hope to return to get it next visit , this hotel or other Hotel Luna Hotels Group .
Best regards
Tiago Afonso Pais
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Coming back to the Luna Alpinus was not a hard decision to make (we were here in 2012). We brought friends with us this time and knew exactly what we wanted in the holiday. The apartments are spacious and we took the advice of other reviewers and tried to get rooms on the upper golf course viewing aspect of the hotel.

In all the hotel was clean and tidy, but it was clear that it had not been decorated since our last visit.

Everything was the same. Which was reassuring as we enjoyed the first visit. One point of concern was the room safes. Our apartment was on a different floor than our friends and we both encountered the same safe malfunction on the same day. Despite having to reset the safe at different occasions. My concern is the negative reviews concerning charging goods etc. We made sure our devices were locked away.

Wi-fi appeared to be terrible 30 euro seemed ok for the week, however they have it locked down so it is not possible to use online services / Netflix etc. Compared to my recent stay at the MGM Grand Las Vegas the quality of wifi rendered it unusable.

We would come back again because the apartment is a good size, clean and central. The smaller pool was quieter and our families really enjoyed the stay. The food at teh hotel is not great and I found a lovely little restaurant just round the corner that prepared lovely English Breakfasts just like home from home on the last day.

In all a good place to stay that does better at catering for different people than you would think.

Thanks Luna Alpinas

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2014

Dear DavidK007,

Thank you for your preference and for your feedback about your recent stay at Luna Alpinus.
We are glad you had an overall good experience at the hotel
Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Tiago Pais, Manager,
Luna Alpinus (tiagopais@lunahoteis.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is a large aparthotel located a few kilometers from the lively centre of Albufeira. The beautiful Falésia beach is a 10~15 minute walk away.
The rooms are spacious and klean. The ones located near the street are a little noisy because of the intense traffic. The kitchen is well equiped but my room was missing the microwave oven.
Never tried the food but the bar serves the drinks in plastic cups...quite strange for a 4 star hotel.
Nevertheless, a very nice hotel for holidays at the beach.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank ruigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

nice place to stay for chill-out, nice restaurant close to the Hotel , not very close to beach but its nice to stay for relaxing and the closest beach got a nice view . staff are very good and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Sam-Omid2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Good points: size of the rooms were good and shuttle bus to old town and Beach. The loungers at the pool were abundant. Most of the staff were friendly, bar two members of staff.
Restaurants in the old town and near the beach where fantastic.

Bad points: non-existing wi-fi which we paid 20 euro extra for and had about five minutes time connected! Dirty mouldy shower and tiles in room 425 and drains that smelled when the toilet was flushed. Floor was dirty. Food wasn't great. Taxis we spent a fortune, approx £450 between 3 families for 10 days.

Really couldn't recommend the hotel so would not return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Ok where do we start...
Staff were very friendly and helpful especially the hotel reception, dining room and cafe staff. The rooms were huge and spotlessly clean, only negative was the balcony door was a pain to lock (107).
The pool areas were kept clean and tidy and at most times there were ample loungers.
There was a huge selection of food to chose from, yes it does get repetitive but then your having 3 cooked meals a day! No-one would go hungry that's for sure, what with drinks on tap and a selection of snacks poolside, staying all-inclusive you can't go wrong.
The entertainment is a bit budget, the team are very friendly and try hard but I think more money needs to be spent on this. The reptile evening was a hit with the kids and the souvenir photos are a must for any family. The courtesy beach bus is good but book early as this gets booked up quickly as the local bus dropped us at a retail park & not the marina we were expecting! Taxis worked out cheaper than the local buses for a family of 4 so bare that it mind if venturing out of the resort (which actually our kids were more than happy to stay on site)!
All in all a very nice family holiday and we would highly recommend Luna Alpinus Portugal!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank maddiemax48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Dear Guest ,

We appreciate the comments shared about your experience at the Hotel Luna Alpinus .
Your feedback helps us to improve our service and quality in order to exceed wherever possible their expectations .
We hope to return to get it next visit , this hotel or other Hotel Luna Hotels Group .
Best regards
Tiago Afonso Pais
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have just returned from staying 12 nights in the Luna Alpinus. We actually went 5 nights all inclusive & the others self catering as we were going on trips a few days. Having seen a couple of negative reviews I was concerned before I went that we had chosen the wrong hotel. How wrong I was to doubt! I really cant stress how much we enjoyed the hotel. 2 Bed Apartment was massive with a balcony the size of 2 rooms! Pools were great. Food was great and varied. Free bus in & out of Albufeira & Beach. Free Wifi in reception with soft seating area. If you have booked this hotel & are worried having seen other reviews please don't. Would definitely come back & will recommend to friends & family. Fantastic Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luna H, Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Guest ,

We appreciate the comments shared about your experience at the Hotel Luna Alpinus .
Your feedback helps us to improve our service and quality in order to exceed wherever possible their expectations .
We hope to return to get it next visit , this hotel or other Hotel Luna Hotels Group .
Best regards
Tiago Afonso Pais
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#24 of 154 in Albufeira
713 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
#35 of 154 in Albufeira
808 reviews
2 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
811 reviews
3.6 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#26 of 154 in Albufeira
484 reviews
7.9 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpinus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpinus Hotel

Address: Pinhal do Concelho - Acoteias | Pinhal do Concelho - Acoteias, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal (Formerly Luna Alpinus)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £28 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpinus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exclusive touristic areas, near the famous beaches of Albufeira. With an exceptional view over the pine trees and the golf course, the Alpinus Hotel is the perfect place for holidays in the Algarve. Features 185 apartments and studios (128 one-bedroom apartments, 52 two-bedrooms apartments and 5 studios) comfortably furnished, all with balcony, equipped kitchen, bathroom, direct telephone, satellite TV, stereo system, air conditioning and safe. The hotel includes two pool areas for adults and children, buffet restaurant, bar, coffee shop, meeting and events room with support equipment, private parking and free Wi-Fi. LOCATION The Alpinus Hotel is located between the exclusive area of Vilamoura, with its Casino, Marina and some of the best golf courses in the Iberian Peninsula, and the cosmopolitan town of Albufeira, with a diversity of handicraft shops, restaurants, bars, clubs and the vibrant nightlife of the Algarve. 29 km from Faro Airport, 12 km from Vilamoura, 10 km from the historic center of Albufeira, 1.2 km from the Falesia beach and 200 m from the Pine Cliffs golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alpinus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Alpinus Albufeira
Luna Alpinus Hotel Albufeira
Alpinus Albufeira
Hotel Alpinus
Alpinus Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing