We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,173)
Filter reviews
1,175 results
Traveller rating
248
492
262
112
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
492
262
112
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews north pool hollywood bar self catering cd player falesia beach old town courtesy bus one bedroom apartment quiet area smaller pool sun terrace great holiday animation team nearest beach bars and restaurants the hotel offers local beach
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,175 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Positive:
Clean and well located hotel. Apartments are big and all have a balcony. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Negative:
Breakfast well below standard. Ham and cheese cheapest quality. The instant coffee from the machines is horrible. If you come late you will have a poor choice. Some days there were no more boiled eggs. The Northern pool has all deckchairs always occupied. People put their towels to keep chairs occupied. An employee to look after would be the solution. There are not enough sunshades.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MarkusN57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo M, General Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Guest
We want to thank you for your comments,
We would like to extend our sincerest apologies concerning all the issues that you have faced.
We are already working on tackling the problem as I write this. We would like to inform that we don't have always the same items in the breakfast buffet, there is a daily rotation, in case of the eggs we have, fried, scrambled and Boiled eggs
Best regards,
Rodrigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

It's one of the most expensive hotel we booked during our trip in Portugal and we were expecting more. First of all, the manager at the reception couldn't speak English, so we had some problems understanding the information, for example where our room was.
The room was quite big but it seemed "old", especially the bathtub and the shower.
Breakfast was very good, with a lot of foods.
Another thing we noticed: there are two pools for children but none of them has a lifeguard

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleonora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo M, General Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Eleonara,
Thank you for giving us you valuable feedback. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies concerning all the issues that you have faced.
At Alpinus all our reception team speaks fluently english, all rooms are identified and signage is available in all the corridors, the Hotel as only 5 floors with apartments. We would like to inform that by the Portuguese law we don´t need a lifeguard.
Please do visit again, we'd love to have you as a customer again.
Kindest regards, Rodrigo


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here in August and I was lovely. Staff where nice and welcoming and let us check-in early, rooms where nicely decoreted and spacious with great bathrooms facilities, swimming pools and entertainment were enjoyable and the breakfast had vast majority of food. Overall, a great, relaxing stay. Also, the Hotel is near some supermarkets which is useful.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank boyede48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo M, General Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear Boyede,
Thank you for giving us you valuable feedback.
Our team at Alpinus strives to provide you with the absolute best, everyday.
It gives us great encouragement to get positive feedback from you.
Please do visit again, we'd love to have you as a customer again.
Thanks for your kind words. Rodrigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Staying here as I write this(4th time in 2 years ) and as usual excellent value.Very large and extremely clean rooms ,very well equipped.2 swimming pools and no sign of sun bed wars ,always beds available no matter what time.Entertainment around north pool during day and in bar area at night(cannot comment on night as we always go out being self catering),with that in mind I cannot comment on the food.Good location with a string of bars and restaurants with in minutes walk,recommend Hugo’s tapas and rustics Italian.
We arrived at the hotel at approx 12noon and our room was not ready as check in is 1600.We left our mobile number and went for lunch,within an hour we received a call to say our room was ready.Also only problem with room (bath rail hanging off)was promptly repaired with minimal fuss.
Overall a good base for a relaxing holiday with the busy resorts a free mini bus ride away.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank ALGScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo M, General Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review.
We are improving our product, each day, day by day.
It's only when we receive such positive feedback, do we rest knowing that we have done our jobs well.
Thank you, once again, for your kind words. Rodrigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

We booked this hotel at the last minute and found it basic but clean. The rooms are large but dated. The family pool area plays loud music all day and isn’t a relaxing place to be. The smaller pool is better until it’s overrun by large groups and families. The evening entertainment is a reptile show which was quite distressing and a birds of prey show which was also difficult to watch. Overall. Wouldn’t return

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank intrepidexplorersid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo M, General Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Intreoidexplorersid,

We are devastated to hear you had such a bad experience with us.
We are already working on a new entertainment program for 2019 with the necessary improvement's.
We look forward to hearing from you and earning you, and we hope you give a opportunity on a future visit to show you all the improvements that we did
Best regards,
Rodrigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews