We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alfamar villas be mindful it's NOT the hotel”
Review of Alfamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alfamar Hotel
Ranked #127 of 152 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just spent 4 days here for cheap get away !! It's a lovely quiet location, but do double check if you stayin in a villa or suite. The block ov suites are very oldand there's no lift so if you up a couple of floors & you hav problems with stairs the blocks not ideal, I was shattered climbing stairs a couple of times a day. They are cleaned every day by hardworking cleaners but beware for all you s/c there was no toaster or kettle, we had to boil water for a cuppa in the large pan on the cooker ring. If you pay cheap don't expect 4* treatment. Stayin in the suites you still have the use of hotel pool ( which is very clean) and all other amenities and then access down to the tremendous beach. Just use a towel to lie on though as a cost of €15 for beds n shades and that seemed to be the cost at other beaches as we saw at another location we visited. Bus stop two mins along rd for visits to albufeira €3.25 each way which is realy nice town. if you walk past the bus stop further up rd at the last house turn left and about 10 min walk passing a running track, theres a lovely little sq of restaurants n def recomend the chinese. But overall wud stay again for a quick cheap few days break

Stayed: September 2013
4  Thank joan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Lovely place to stay. The only thing that I was irritated about was the fact that when we asked reception to book us a taxi, the car that arrived for us was more like a chauffeur who then charged us 8euros for a 4.50euros trip. Otherwise everything else was perfect. Location, accomodation, food and the beautiful beach which stretches for miles. Maids cleaned the rooms every day. Bus stop right outsde hotel which goes to Albufeira. Definitely going again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautiful hotel, stunning beach and very good restaurants nearby (about a 10 minute walk). The self catering apartments were sufficient for our stay, which was only 3 days but the cooker and fridge were pretty old and very basic. Clean and nice sized room/balcony though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Jo3772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Its and older hotel, but the location is excellent. The food was fantastic. Our family enjoyed ourselves and will return. Its not a glamorous hotel, but then again the price reflects what can be expected. Staff friendly and helpful. Very Clean

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were in Alfamar in the end of July 2013.

The hotel itself is old and not renovated, i would say its a 3* hotel. Its biggest advantage is a great location on the Algarve beach with the amazing cliffs. The only disadvantage of the beach is that it's public and people who are not hotel guessts are all the time passing by the hotel lobby and the pool area to get to the beach.

Food was good and fresh, with a lot of choice.
Rooms were fine, cleaned every day.
The stuff of the reception desk was a little rude, restaurant stuff was nice and friendly.

The hotel is set between 2 cities - Villamoura and Albufeira. To Villamoura you can get walking along the beach (appx. 40 min), to Albufeira with the public bus (3 e per person), to come back from either one you need to take a cab, at night it costs about 15 euro.

Overall we were happy with the choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were 'duped' by a website that led us to believe that we had booked the hotel which is 4 star. In fact, we were located in the suites, which is essentially a Soviet-style block of flats. Upon seeing this (it is about half a mile from the hotel) we upgraded to the hotel for 20 euros. We doubt if the suites would be awarded a star.
The hotel itself is ideally located if you are a beach lover, has beautiful sheltered grounds with plenty of sun loungers and brollies/shelter from the sun. The main atrium seems a bit dated, although the room we were in was grand with fine views out to the ocean. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Reception staff were helpful in sorting out our problem.
We did not use the spa as the weather was superb, but the indoor pool looked fine.
Bar prices were pretty high and many guests used the lovely cafe on the right at the end of the road.

Room Tip: Make sure that you have a sea view on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SBCBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I was sent to this hotel by chance, as I had booked a room in a different hotel for my 9 year-old son and Ion mother's day and it turned out to be an exclusively adult use hotel. And it was the best thing that happened to us! Alfamar is situated on the Falésia beach, with an outstanding view and although it hasn't got bright new facilities, we were delighted with the ocean front bedroom we were given, specially when our booking had been made on the last minute, by the other hotel, and paying for a land view bedroom only! We chose half boar and my son son was delighted with the food, at dinner and breakfast.
Specially if you are a sports person you cannot miss this hotel! It has access to lots of sports facilities, namely a cross running track, and it is always packed with athlets and sports teams who go to practise in between competitions.Waking up in the morning, walking a few steps and facing the bright wide Atlantic ocean is another good reason for not missing this hotel, along with the kindness of the staff!

Room Tip: Ocean front, top floors. The view is outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandraPatrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 152 in Albufeira
1,179 reviews
3.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#80 of 152 in Albufeira
3,446 reviews
1.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 152 in Albufeira
2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#36 of 152 in Albufeira
841 reviews
4.1 mi away
Auramar Beach Resort
Auramar Beach Resort
#69 of 152 in Albufeira
3,070 reviews
3.5 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#31 of 152 in Albufeira
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfamar Hotel

Address: | Falesia Beach, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £28 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfamar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel offers a 4-star complex with twin rooms and Suites. where you can spend your vacation, holidays and weekends with the kind ofcomfort you prefer. You can also enjoy our famous outdoor swimming pool located 20 meters from the beach if you want to freshen up after a fantastic day at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Alfamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfamar Beach & Sport Hotel Albufeira
Alfamar Beach And Sport Resort
Alfamar Beach Resort
Alfamar Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing