We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs”
Review of Alfamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alfamar Hotel
Ranked #129 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Just spent a 5 day break at the alfamar.we were initially shown to what they call a studio.third floor no lift and what I would call a midden.some of these studios are rented to workers for7 euros a day.we refused to stop there and were told we could upgrade to a bungalow for an extra 100euros by a very rude manager .this we did and found the bungalow to be not much better.it had only two plug points,the one in the kitchen hanging off the wall.when I plugged in the kettle it tripped the electrics.the other plug point was under the bed and we had to use this one for everything.the rooms were also not clean and had a damp foisty smell.we didn't even hang our clothes in the wardrobe.i could go on but you get my drift.as the place has an albufeira address we thought it wouldn't be too far to town.wrong!! It's about 15 to 20 euros in a taxi,and there is not much locally.the only plus point for this location is the beach.absolutely gorgeous.sunbeds were 20 euros for a full day but most people just lay on towels .i am normally very positive in my reviews,but the alfamar was a real let down.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    153
    156
    79
    87
See reviews for
172
194
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I booked this hotel on lastminute.com as we decided to go away for a few days. That was the last week of May. We couldn't book any transfer to the hotel as we were not in the 24 hr frame but nevertheless we took a cab to the hotel. The 30 mins drive cost us around €50.00.
As soon I reached the hotel I was pretty much excited but it was an illusion as the moment we stepped inside I was shocked. It look jaded and old. We checked in and was told we missed dinner as they stopped serving at 9.00pm. But then we were offered a free lunch for the following day. The room we got was on the 3rd floor. Room was very basic with poor standard for a 4* hotel. I was so disappointed. The next day we had breakfast in the main restaurant which was very nice. The beach is by the hotel and it's on the cliff. The landscape made me forget everything about the 1st night. The weather was beautiful and even lunch was wonderful. As the next three days went by I had a feeling that I did judge the hotel too early. I started liking this place so much. Food was very good and the variety of fish offered was great. Old town is about 15 minutes away for around €8.00. The services provided by the hotel was good. Trips to villages are organised often.
I would rate the hotel as being average....location is fantastic and food amazing.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kavi_Kk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel is nice although our room was very basic but also very cheap and we had access to all the hotel facilities. Right on the beach but a long walk to villa mourra! Very nice bar right on our doorstep called Euphoria with lovely food and very nice staff all good value for money and nice atmosphere definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benji200885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have seen cattle sheds in better condition.the complex is in need of a demolition crew. I requested a ground floor apartment ended up on 3rd floor ,double bed was 2 single beds, nothing to make tea in had to ask for a kettle, most of the information was not for all to understand

Room Tip: make sure you book hotel not apt
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Dungarvan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Alfamar hotel in May. The buffet breakfast has a good variety as does the evening dinner buffet, great selection of salads, with a different fish and meat dish each evening. Pasta was also on the menu each evening, which was great for children. All the dining room and bar staff were pleasant and helpful,as were the housekeeping staff but the reception staff could brush up a bit. Not the most helpful . The foyer is very spacious with lots of couches and chairs. The pool area and garden is very nice with a path leading to the beach. There are plenty of trees for shade when it gets too hot. The bedroom was very basic, but clean with the linen changed every day. Toilitries were in short supply. This is a four star hotel with three star rooms. Be prepared to wait for the lifts they are very slow. However,we did have a very relaxing, quiet and peaceful stay away from all the hustle and bustle. We returned home refreshed and would stay at the Alfamar again. . If you want a taxi book it a the tourist office which is next door to the bar just outside the entrance to the hotel it is cheaper than booking at reception. This bar is great for food and excellent value for money. The staff are very pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of hotel have sea views. All rooms have balconies. The higher the floor the better th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roseb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I supervised a 5 day trip to the Alfamar Resort for a club group of 40 people , 27 of which were minors. The sports facilities were very good and for breakfast every morning there was a huge selection on offer . We also bought a dinner for the group on the first night in the hotel and found the food excellent and great value for money . The beach and pools were lovely and we found the staff very pleasant . We have brought the group to the algarve a few times but found this hotel had the greatest range of activities with it's value for
money far surpassing other venues . I can foresee a number of sports teams going with the Alfamar on the basis of this experience .

Paddy- Team coach

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaddyChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

These are self catering cells (sorry, self catering duplex apartments) within the grounds of the hotel, so let me make it clear that my comments are not directed at the hotel itself.
I wouldn't board my dog in these apartments. They are a health hazard, starting with the ill-fitting patio door which let in rainwater after a heavy downpour, electric plug sockets hanging, yes hanging off the walls, dated furniture, filthy curtains, cracked floor tiles, dirty bath, peeling paintwork inside and out, rusting radiators, and ants in the bedroom. The staff in the hotel itself could not have cared less:when we took the towels we had used to mop up the rainwater to Reception, they just took them without saying a word.Thankfully, we were only there for four days and there was no evidence that any other apartments would have been any better judging by the comments from other inmates in the complex. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere so be prepared to hire a car or use public transport when available.

Room Tip: Steer clear of this place - the whole complex is in dire need of a makeover, preferably with a bulld...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChestercityAndrewp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,073 reviews
7.2 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
983 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#45 of 154 in Albufeira
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
3,289 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Maritur
Hotel Maritur
#58 of 154 in Albufeira
307 reviews
1.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfamar Hotel

Property: Alfamar Hotel
Address: | Falesia Beach, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfamar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel offers a 4-star complex with twin rooms and Suites. where you can spend your vacation, holidays and weekends with the kind ofcomfort you prefer. You can also enjoy our famous outdoor swimming pool located 20 meters from the beach if you want to freshen up after a fantastic day at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alfamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfamar Beach And Sport Resort
Alfamar Beach & Sport Hotel Albufeira
Alfamar Beach Resort
Alfamar Hotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing