We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We promise not to help you !”
Review of Hotel Montechoro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Montechoro
Ranked #133 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here October 2013 with our golf society, First room had crisps over carpet and the beds were that small if you rolled over you would fall out, Moved into another room ,good sized beds this time . floors and carpets very sun-bleached but apart from that all seemed well. After returning from golf we turned on the a/c and went out, we had no air con upon return or for the rest of our stay , everyday we were promised it would be fixed in the end we gave up and closed the curtains and left the doors open , This hotel needs bulldozing !

Room Tip: Don't bother find a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontechoro, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2015

Dear Guest

Your comments have been duly noted, and transmitted to our staff. Your experience does not correspond to the normal service given to our guests; housekeeping service is always a priority for us.
we apologize for the fault in the air conditioning.
Please be aware that the renovation plans for the bedrooms are already being prepared.
We look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards
Ricardo Gonçalves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

Don't bother. Very disappointed after our Sept 2013 visit. Not as described, very run down and didn't see any entertainment. The bar even shut early due to lack of visitors. Wouldn't bother with Low Cost Holidays either. Just past the buck, and in my opinion couldn't care less! Wouldn't use them again or the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
2  Thank Terry Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

1st of all the hotel is about 10 minute taxi ride to the old town and far from the beach. The hotel is dirty seems like the carpet hasn't been clean for decades. The toilet and sink very rusty, was scared to even brush my teeth. I have pretty bad allergies with dirt and molds, I got sick from staying here. The bedding is really old, had to cover the sheets. The bathroom towels were worn out. Oh the AC not enough to cool the room. I would suggest booking hotels closer to old town coz it's closer to the beach too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gracieluv143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

our holiday got off to a bad start after the travel agent booked us to a hotel for the wrong year,after a few phone calls to our agent we finally got booked into the montechoro where we were made very welcome.the hotel is in need of a refit but is still of good quality.we found the staff very helpful,our room was cleaned every day as was the towels changed,we stayed there from the 11th of september till the 25th and had no complaints.in fact we are looking forward to going back.that is twice we have holidayed in the algarve this year,we find the people very friendly and thinking of having a lot more holidays there.j.allan.fraserburgh.

Room Tip: take the 9th floor which is at the top,the view is as good as you will ever see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Buy a lock for yoru suitcase !!!

I stayed one week in this hotel September 2013 and I was very dissappointed. First of all I want to tell you that I had to call the police to the hotel as my designer Hand Bag was robbed from my suitcase in my hotel. I know exactly what day it was taken also as when I was going to the pool that morning i took my wallet and phone out of it and when I went to get it that night to go out my bag was missing. I went down to the reception to complain and I was very shocked with the response from the receptionist - Her reply was - what do you want me to do, this happens all the time here !!!!! I couldnt belive her response, I said that answer is not acceptable, I told her my bag was very expensive and that I wanted to know what cleaner was in my hotel that morning... she told me I had to deal with the manager the next day. So the next day I spoke with the manager and he was no better, he just said he spoke to the accomodation manager and spoke to the girl who was cleaning my room and she denied taking it so said there was nothign he could do. As you can imagine - I was very annoyed as this bag was expensive and I had just purchased it 6 months ago while in Chicago !!! End result - I never got my bag back !!!

Next Negative Point - No Pool bar or music .... Pool Loungers very uncomfortable and old !!

Next Negative Point - No wifi reception in pool area or in bedroom - you can only get wifi at their main reception which is quite annoying ...

Next Negative Point - If you over the age of 25 - I weoudl advise you get a hotel in teh Old Town - as this hotel is located at the top of the strip - the Portugese have an age limit of 16 for drinking so the stip is very very young !!! The old town is where all teh nice restaurants and bars are ..

Only positive point is - hotel is clean and rooms are ok - but seriously if you are going to stay here - buy a lock for your suitcase adn when you are heading off to the pool leave all your jewlerry and nice clothes or bags - LOCKED in your suitcase ... obviously this hotel just employs anyone to work here and they do not take robbing from a hotel room seriously !!!

My advice - stay in another hotel !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you are over 25 - stay in the Old Town - this is where all the nice restaurants are .. they also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I won,t go over every point, as all have been well documented. This hotel is in no way a 4*. It has a lot going for it. Firstly i found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff were in every day and changed towels, beds were changed a couple of times, during our 10 day stay.
The room was large with plenty of space for storage.Our balcony was huge and had one of the best views i have ever had.Plenty of sunbeds ,space in pool, due to the fact that there are not a lot of people there now. We were told there were 700 people there the previous week.
It cost 46 euro for the safety deposit box, however 25euro is a deposit and as long as you don,t lose your key you will get it back. There is free air con. Allright some people were not happy with theirs, but hey it is free and ours was fine.Also there is a courtesy bus to take you to the old town or the beach and take you back, several times a day.
We were halfboard and allthough breakfast was ok, dinner was a completely different matter.The first nights dinners main meal choices were...rice, chips, fish , chicken, or brussel sprouts, this was in the heated section. There were the usual salad items. 1 soup and a handful of sweets. There was fish every night and 1 other choice. Needless to say we ate out a few times.While the food was ok, i have never been to any hotel 3 or 4 * with such a poor choice of meals. I did ask the first night if this was a normal menu, or was there some other reason for this and was told this is normal. Had i known this i would have went b&b as there is plenty of restaurants in the area. we were given an a la carte menu one night. It had 3 mains on it and the young man waiting on us also offered a few other choices the chef could make for us. This was our last night.As there only seemed to be 5 or 6 other couples halfboard, surely there could have been more of a selection.
I was a bit worried about the hotel before i went, as i had read some of the negative reviews. Regarding decor furniture etc; I went with an open mind, decided as long as it was clean and secure i would enjoy it as the hotel is only a base. It was tired and carpets were faded. Furniture needs upgraded. However it wasn,t cheap and for a 4* the dining experience was very disappointing.This hotel really needs to fulfill it,s potential and return to it,s glory days!

Room Tip: We were in 730 and had a great view overlooking the pool, but the furniture needs upgrading
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank threetowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We have just come back after staying at the Hotel Montechoro for our third time and yet again had a great relaxing holiday. Some of the people who have wrote and condemed this hotel need to get a life because all they seem to do is whinge and moan from the moment that set foot into the reception Area.At the end of their holiday they must be that stressed out from all the moaning that they must be ready for the next holiday when they go back to work!!!
If you go on hoiday relax and enjoy.The hotel does need updating but everywere was clean.The staff were very pleasant,The english breakfast was the same as what you get at most hotels.The rooms are massive and are cleaned every day.The Air Conditioning worked.Towels changed every day an bed linen changed twice a week.What more do people want.
We payed extra for a high floor with pool view which we were given and the view over the town of Albuferia is second to none.As for some peple who come on here and complain about the noise from Erin's bar don't be so tight and pay for a pool view-you get no noise then!
The pool is well looked after and there was never any problem's getting a sun bed.
All in all we had a great 12 night's and I for one was very relaxed when I went back to work!

Room Tip: Pay for a Pool View with High Floor The view is magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tintinwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#96 of 154 in Albufeira
210 reviews
0.7 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
17 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montechoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montechoro

Address: Rua Alexandre O'Neill, Albufeira 8200-343, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £180 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montechoro 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montechoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montechoro Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing