We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin!”
Review of Hotel Montechoro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Montechoro
Ranked #134 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Basic hotel, but great location. Close to strip (walking distance) but far enough away to be away from the noise. Supermarket also close by for snacks and drinks.

Room was cleaned everyday.

Free shuttle service to beach and old town.

Food (bed and breakfast) was reasonable, breads, cereals,hot food.

2 pools, one for kids, one for adults.

Great oriental restaurant within walking distance, recommended. Sushi fab!

Stayed here with my daughter and felt safe.

Be sure to be in main hotel, not the apartments (Clube 99 I think).

Late review, stayed July 2013

Room Tip: Pool view room high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HomeisLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontechoro, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this review, 7 May 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Montechoro to spend your vacations in the Algarve. We really appreciated the review you posted on TripAdvisor. It is rewarding to receive positive feedback from our guests as our challenge is to do always better to provide the maximum comfort and memorable experiences to our Guests.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back shortly, we remain always at your disposal.

Kindest regards,

Ricardo Gonçalves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    197
    219
    130
    131
See reviews for
264
280
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Plenty of negative reviews but alas not this one, what a great weekend. 8th floor 180 degree sea views a huge clean room with a large balcony. Plenty of bars and sangria nearby and a great walk to the old town just take your trainers. Recommended...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontechoro, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this review, 20 April 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Montechoro for your weekend and the feedback on TripAdvisor.

It was fantastic to know that you enjoyed our Hotel.
We will keep improving our services and will be a pleasure to have you with us soon.

Kind Regards
Ricardo Gonçalves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here October 2013 with our golf society, First room had crisps over carpet and the beds were that small if you rolled over you would fall out, Moved into another room ,good sized beds this time . floors and carpets very sun-bleached but apart from that all seemed well. After returning from golf we turned on the a/c and went out, we had no air con upon return or for the rest of our stay , everyday we were promised it would be fixed in the end we gave up and closed the curtains and left the doors open , This hotel needs bulldozing !

Room Tip: Don't bother find a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontechoro, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this review, 20 April 2015
Dear Guest

Your comments have been duly noted, and transmitted to our staff. Your experience does not correspond to the normal service given to our guests; housekeeping service is always a priority for us.
we apologize for the fault in the air conditioning.
Please be aware that the renovation plans for the bedrooms are already being prepared.
We look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards
Ricardo Gonçalves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Don't bother. Very disappointed after our Sept 2013 visit. Not as described, very run down and didn't see any entertainment. The bar even shut early due to lack of visitors. Wouldn't bother with Low Cost Holidays either. Just past the buck, and in my opinion couldn't care less! Wouldn't use them again or the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Terry Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

1st of all the hotel is about 10 minute taxi ride to the old town and far from the beach. The hotel is dirty seems like the carpet hasn't been clean for decades. The toilet and sink very rusty, was scared to even brush my teeth. I have pretty bad allergies with dirt and molds, I got sick from staying here. The bedding is really old, had to cover the sheets. The bathroom towels were worn out. Oh the AC not enough to cool the room. I would suggest booking hotels closer to old town coz it's closer to the beach too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gracieluv143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraserburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

our holiday got off to a bad start after the travel agent booked us to a hotel for the wrong year,after a few phone calls to our agent we finally got booked into the montechoro where we were made very welcome.the hotel is in need of a refit but is still of good quality.we found the staff very helpful,our room was cleaned every day as was the towels changed,we stayed there from the 11th of september till the 25th and had no complaints.in fact we are looking forward to going back.that is twice we have holidayed in the algarve this year,we find the people very friendly and thinking of having a lot more holidays there.j.allan.fraserburgh.

Room Tip: take the 9th floor which is at the top,the view is as good as you will ever see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Buy a lock for yoru suitcase !!!

I stayed one week in this hotel September 2013 and I was very dissappointed. First of all I want to tell you that I had to call the police to the hotel as my designer Hand Bag was robbed from my suitcase in my hotel. I know exactly what day it was taken also as when I was going to the pool that morning i took my wallet and phone out of it and when I went to get it that night to go out my bag was missing. I went down to the reception to complain and I was very shocked with the response from the receptionist - Her reply was - what do you want me to do, this happens all the time here !!!!! I couldnt belive her response, I said that answer is not acceptable, I told her my bag was very expensive and that I wanted to know what cleaner was in my hotel that morning... she told me I had to deal with the manager the next day. So the next day I spoke with the manager and he was no better, he just said he spoke to the accomodation manager and spoke to the girl who was cleaning my room and she denied taking it so said there was nothign he could do. As you can imagine - I was very annoyed as this bag was expensive and I had just purchased it 6 months ago while in Chicago !!! End result - I never got my bag back !!!

Next Negative Point - No Pool bar or music .... Pool Loungers very uncomfortable and old !!

Next Negative Point - No wifi reception in pool area or in bedroom - you can only get wifi at their main reception which is quite annoying ...

Next Negative Point - If you over the age of 25 - I weoudl advise you get a hotel in teh Old Town - as this hotel is located at the top of the strip - the Portugese have an age limit of 16 for drinking so the stip is very very young !!! The old town is where all teh nice restaurants and bars are ..

Only positive point is - hotel is clean and rooms are ok - but seriously if you are going to stay here - buy a lock for your suitcase adn when you are heading off to the pool leave all your jewlerry and nice clothes or bags - LOCKED in your suitcase ... obviously this hotel just employs anyone to work here and they do not take robbing from a hotel room seriously !!!

My advice - stay in another hotel !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you are over 25 - stay in the Old Town - this is where all the nice restaurants are .. they also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#95 of 154 in Albufeira
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#85 of 154 in Albufeira
453 reviews
0.9 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
3,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#27 of 154 in Albufeira
738 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montechoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montechoro

Property: Hotel Montechoro
Address: Rua Alexandre O'Neill, Albufeira 8200-343, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montechoro 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montechoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montechoro Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing