We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money hotel”
Review of Hotel Montechoro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Montechoro
Ranked #133 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Montechoro and it was more than acceptable for the price paid. I visited Albufeira out of season and the hotel was fairly quiet, it was once probably quite a grand place but time is starting show and it can appear a little dated. That said the location was very good, close enough to the nightlife (but enough of a walk away not to be disturbed) and a short taxi ride to the old town. The hotel was very clean and the staff, especially at reception were very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank rileydlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontechoro, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Montechoro and taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.
We are really pleased to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Hotel Montechoro and we would like to say that renovation plans for the bedrooms are already being prepared.

We do hope that you give us the pleasure of another visit shortly.

Kind regards,

Ricardo Gonçalves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one week. We had chosen the hotel because it was a 4-Star hotel, but we were very disappointed. It cannot be a 4-Star hotel!
We found the staff somewhat unfriendly and not helpful at all. The driver of the hotel shuttle was, however, extremely friendly. The shuttle service is one good thing about the hotel. There is a shuttle to the beach and one to the old town. Our room was rather Big and the beds very really good and comfortable, but the cleaning standards were rather poor and disappointing. The air-conditioning was not working during our stay. Breakfast was boring and not very tasty.
The pool, however, was very good, and we did, in fact, enjoy several hours by the pool.
We enjoyed our time in Albufeira, but the hotel was a disappointment for us! We will not come back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Dane5700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontechoro, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2015

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having selected Hotel Montechoro for your stay, and for having taken the time to give us your feedback.

We are really sorry that we haven't been able meet all your expectations.

Believe that we do appreciate your honest feedback.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Ricardo Gonçalves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I travelled down with my wife and two boys aged 4 & 5yrs. We found everything to our satisfaction. All staff were polite and clean. The hotel was always clean, the staff went out of their way to please all the guests. Both old and young guests alike, and there were several families with young children staying as well. Plenty of activities around the hotel, and the weather was great. Must go again...

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chucks U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontechoro, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Montechoro to spend your vacations in the Algarve.
We really appreciated the wonderful review you posted on TripAdvisor.

It is rewarding to receive positive feedback from our guests, and I will pass this feedback to all team members. Our challenge is to do always better to provide the maximum comfort and memorable experiences to our Guests.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back shortly, we remain always at your disposal.
Kindest regards,

Ricardo Gonçalves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a weeks break here in July, this was our 5th time at this hotel, although it is showing signs of age, we do enjoy it, we have only ever been on a B&B basis, but unfortunately we decided to include dinner too, I would definately not recommend anyone to eat in, The BUFFET had only 2 choices each night, 1 always a small piece of white fish, pork is not my favourite food, but 3 of the 7 meals were pork, the food did not have any food labels to identify what it was, I asked a member of staff what the strange meat was, I was told COW, this was the worst food I have ever been offered, such a disappointment. I also found that the cleaning standards are very poor, compared to our previous stays, our bathroom was barely touched, the floor was not washed during our stay, & carpet never hoovered either, towels & toilet roll not being replaced, no wonder this was the quietest that we have ever known this hotel to be, and so many other holidaymakers were complaining,& add to this my Camera being stolen, & all the hassle & cost of a Police Report, I came home very disheartened, such a shame, not sure wether I would ever go back.

Room Tip: 5th floor pool view best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nanny180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontechoro, Front Office Manager at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Montechoro and taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciated all the details you pointed, which were taken into consideration in order to improve our standards and general guest’s satisfaction.

Unfortunately last season we outsourced the housekeeping, and the things did not worked out as expected. This year we are building our own housekeeping team, and occurrences such the ones you related are not going to happen again.

As far as the food and the restaurant service are concerned, please be aware that we hired a new executive Chef and a new restaurant supervisor recently.

We do hope that you consider staying with us again, so that you may see the improvements made in the meantime.

Kindest regards,

Ricardo Gonçalves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My friend and I stayed for one week and whilst slightly alarmed by reviews thought we would give it a chance however sadly all the reviews were correct. The balcony and patio windows were filthy and the toilet was brown. Reception blamed the toilet on being 'old' however housekeeping did clean balcony and windows next day. However, tap rusted and unable to turn so no hot water in the shower and worst of all on return on first evening no light in the room either. Receptionist came to room and discovered no lightbulbs in any of the 3 light fittings however said there were no spare bulbs in whole of hotel as someone had just had the last one and was in 'more need' than we were?? Seemed to think that as we had a bathroom light working what were we complaining about! Asked her to access one of the free rooms and get us a bulb from there - subsequently returned with a bulb but seemed to get a shock when fitting it in the fitting. We had no aircon for 5 days and out of desperation dragged out mattresses out every evening to sleep on balcony as it was cooler however then ended up with mosquito bites. Various enquiries about when this would be fixed varied from guest to guest ie. sometimes we were toldin a week and other times in the next few days. We also had no pillows on either bed for 5 days and had to make do with a cushion from the sofas (hardly hygienic as no pillowcases and probably not washed in a while). Again agree with comments about the creepy pool guy - no life guard on site but his job is merely to prowl round pool area confiscating any drinks not bought in their bar etc. We witnessed one man's chair collapse underneath him (leg just broke off), another lady's sunbed gave way and on our last day the umbrella sheared off from it's bolt causing my friend to leap to the side to avoid being hit and is now suffering from a pulled back muscle. Management are not bothered when you report these incidents and did not seem to be able to produce an accident log book. In its hey day it probably was a good hotel but sadly it does not rate the 4* status anymore - if you can afford more choose another hotel where at least you will be guaranteed aircon and the basics which you would have expected.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank dfinn2167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontechoro, Front Office Manager at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for your long and illustrative comments regarding your experience in our Hotel. We appreciated all your remarks regarding our rooms and service, which were taken into consideration in order to improve our standards and general guest’s satisfaction.

We know that our hotel is in need of renovation to refresh its Moorish décor. We are happy to say that renovation plans are already being prepared.

On last season we outsourced the housekeeping, and the things did not worked out as expected. This year we are building our own team and occurrences such the ones you related are not going to happen again.

As far as the air-conditioning is concerned, we would like to say that we have a central air-conditioning system, which means that guests can only operate the fan speed. We recommend to the guests to close the windows so that the cold air be kept into the room and not get wasted in the peak of summer.
We do hope that you consider staying with us again, so that you may see the improvements made in the meantime.

Kindest regards,

Ricardo Gonçalves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

1. No hot water
2. Toilet seat broken
3. Toilet not flushing properly
4. No complimentary toiletries in bathroom
5. Dirty brown cold water
6. Air con not working
7. No fridge
8. TV size of a mobile phone
9. Bed harder than the floor
10. No balcony
11. Breakfast like a slop bucket
12. Every sunbed broken
13. Room size of a broom cupboard

No travel agent should send anyone here (I went with Co-op travel)!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
12  Thank BramhallSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontechoro, Front Office Manager at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2015

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your long and illustrative comments regarding your experience in our Hotel. We appreciated all your remarks regarding our rooms and service, which were taken into consideration in order to improve our standards and general guest’s satisfaction.

We know that our hotel is in need of renovation to refresh its Moorish décor. We are happy to say that renovation plans are already being prepared.

On last season we outsourced the housekeeping, and the things did not worked out as expected. This year we are building our own team and occurrences such the ones you related are not going to happen again. We are also building a new F&B team and a new executive Chef and a new restaurant supervisor were recently hired.

As far as the air-conditioning is concerned, we would like to say that we have a central air-conditioning system, which means that guests can only operate the fan speed. We recommend to the guests to close the windows so that the cold air be kept into the room and not get wasted in the peak of summer.

We do hope that you consider staying with us again, so that you may see the improvements made in the meantime.

Kindest regards,

Ricardo Gonçalves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Booked B&B staying for a week on July 10th this year via the Low Cost holidays website having previously booked it with Thomsons who have it seems removed it from their holiday listings and I can see why . OK this hotel has always been old and dated and in need of a major refurb but standards and service have dropped compared to previous visits here ...... BUT the place is very clean I will say that . Reception staff were very friendly ..... but the rest of the hotel has changed so much since our previous visits .

As mentioned by other reviewers the air con was not working for the week we stayed and reception did not mention this to us , it has always worked before . Financial cut backs I expect due to Thomsons pulling the plug ? Only 2 out of the 3 lifts were working and one of them was a bit ropey plus floor 9 button was intermittent ! Rooms were clean and basic but you only get 1 pillow each although there are some cushions in the room ...... which was very warm due tono air con . Beds were comfy and shower / bath worked OK so no complaints there , only problem was the towels . For 3 or 4 days housekeeping took away dirty towels but failed to replace the 2 large bath towels so we had to ask reception then wait until a maid knocked the door with the towels . One day the maid knocked door and handed me towels even though we had the full set !!

Breakfast was very basic and again nowhere near the quality of previous visits .... the hot buffet was OK but the hot dog sausages were tasteless , even the stray cats in the hotel grounds wouldn't eat them . The outside pool bar was closed and only the inside bar close to the pool was open and even then sometimes you had to wait 10 minutes for somebody to come and serve you .... water and cans again over priced which seems the norm for a lot of places .

Pool area was clean and spacious due to lack of guests ..... sunbeds were plentiful but uncomfortable and some in a shocking state , shame the pool man wasn't so concerned about the equipment rather than walk around looking for cans and bottles purchased from the local shop ! During our previous stays there was a kids club and organised water polo and netball games in the pool .... which again due to financial cut backs are no more .

The location could not be faulted however with the hotel situated at the very top of the quiet half of the strip away from the noise but close enough to walk for a good , fun night out .

Room Tip: Don't go here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontechoro, Front Office Manager at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your long and illustrative comments regarding your experience in our Hotel. We appreciated all your remarks regarding our rooms and service, which were taken into consideration in order to improve our standards and general guest’s satisfaction.

We know that our hotel is in need of renovation to refresh its Moorish décor. We are happy to say that renovation plans are already being prepared.

On last season we outsourced the housekeeping, and the things did not worked out as expected. This year we are building our own team and occurrences such the ones you related are not going to happen again. We are also building a new F&B team and a new executive Chef and a new restaurant supervisor were recently hired.

As far as the air-conditioning is concerned, we would like to say that we have a central air-conditioning system, which means that guests can only operate the fan speed. We recommend to the guests to close the windows so that the cold air be kept into the room and not get wasted in the peak of summer.

We do hope that you consider staying with us again, so that you may see the improvements made in the meantime.

Kindest regards,

Ricardo Gonçalves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.3 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#94 of 154 in Albufeira
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Choromar Apartments
Choromar Apartments
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#97 of 154 in Albufeira
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
17 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montechoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montechoro

Address: Rua Alexandre O'Neill, Albufeira 8200-343, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £177 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montechoro 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is currently closed for a total renovation. Reopens in Spring/Summer 2018 under a new name, new facilities, design and stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montechoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montechoro Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing