We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointed”
Review of Hotel Montechoro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Montechoro
Ranked #133 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I've been staying in this hotel for five days, but unfortunately was not the way I expected, the rooms were not very clean, the carpet was not vacuumed, and the hallways are dark, faded me something in the room and I said at the reception what had happened and the only thing they could do was apologize, nothing more, not recommend this hotel to anyone. I am very disappointed

Room Tip: Top floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cleonese v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontechoro, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Dear Madam,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Montechoro and taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciated all the details you pointed, which were taken into consideration in order to improve our standards and general guest’s satisfaction.

Unfortunately last season we outsourced the housekeeping, and the things did not worked out as expected. This year we are building our own housekeeping team, and occurrences such the ones you related are not going to happen again.

We do hope that you consider staying with us again, so that you may see the improvements made in the meantime.

Kindest regards,

Ricardo Gonçalves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Ok hotel a little dated but we had no complains we shad b&b which was fine lots of chose ..always found a sunbed could do with a few new ones .i would defiantly go back the localion was great a 5 mins walk to the strip .some lovely places to eat and the beach is great for families with children as it isnt to big good value for money no entertainment but plenty everywhere else

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAULINE056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontechoro, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Dear Madam,

We are really pleased to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Montechoro.

We appreciated your remarks regarding the sunbeds, that were taken into consideration in order to improve our standards and general guest’s satisfaction.

Please be aware that renovation plans for the bedrooms are already being prepared.

Looking forward to welcoming you back shortly, please accept our best regard.

Ricardo Gonçalves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

got back home last night (19th aug 2014) after another great stay at this hotel,the staff are great and my grandkids didnt want to come home as usual, we have been going to this hotel for the last,13 years and i understand that when a parent dies that is a big risk to keep a thing going ,however you have done a great job,my grandaughter had her 3rd birthday at your hotel and has just celebrated her 13th. we are going to book for next year .
thankyou for a great hol.
regards

Room Tip: not doing a tip as they may get a better room on check in than i do. ha
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lukebrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontechoro, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Dear Mr. Brady,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Montechoro all over these years to spend your family vacations. We really appreciated the wonderful review you posted on TripAdvisor. It is rewarding to receive positive feedback from our guests, and I will pass this feedback to all team members. Our challenge is to do always better to provide the maximum comfort and memorable experiences to our Guests.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back shortly, we remain always at your disposal.
Kindest regards,

Ricardo Gonçalves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had nothing at all to worry about, this hotel was fantastic...We were given a room at the back of the hotel which was fine but I wanted a pool view and the staff sorted me out a fantastic room overlooking the pool and the whole of Albufeira! Brilliant!!! Rooms very spacious, cleaned every day and everything I requested was provided. I really do not understand what people have to complain about while staying at this hotel??? I think some people come from a different planet! It is close enough to the main strip and beaches yet far enough to avoid all the noise. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to this area. Ignore all the negative reviews, too many people with too much time on their hands...

Room Tip: Request a pool view when booking, then ensure you get what you asked for. The view is worth the hagg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank gdiamond101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontechoro, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Montechoro to spend your vacations in the Algarve.

We really appreciated the wonderful review you posted on TripAdvisor. It is rewarding to receive positive feedback from our guests, and I will pass this feedback to all team members. Our challenge is to do always better to provide the maximum comfort and memorable experiences to our Guests.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back shortly, we remain always at your disposal.

Kindest regards,

Ricardo Gonçalves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel if you want to eat and have never leave anything in your room I had a safe but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Sdsmith426 S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelMontechoro, Front Office Manager at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Montechoro and it was more than acceptable for the price paid. I visited Albufeira out of season and the hotel was fairly quiet, it was once probably quite a grand place but time is starting show and it can appear a little dated. That said the location was very good, close enough to the nightlife (but enough of a walk away not to be disturbed) and a short taxi ride to the old town. The hotel was very clean and the staff, especially at reception were very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank rileydlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontechoro, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Montechoro and taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.
We are really pleased to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Hotel Montechoro and we would like to say that renovation plans for the bedrooms are already being prepared.

We do hope that you give us the pleasure of another visit shortly.

Kind regards,

Ricardo Gonçalves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one week. We had chosen the hotel because it was a 4-Star hotel, but we were very disappointed. It cannot be a 4-Star hotel!
We found the staff somewhat unfriendly and not helpful at all. The driver of the hotel shuttle was, however, extremely friendly. The shuttle service is one good thing about the hotel. There is a shuttle to the beach and one to the old town. Our room was rather Big and the beds very really good and comfortable, but the cleaning standards were rather poor and disappointing. The air-conditioning was not working during our stay. Breakfast was boring and not very tasty.
The pool, however, was very good, and we did, in fact, enjoy several hours by the pool.
We enjoyed our time in Albufeira, but the hotel was a disappointment for us! We will not come back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Dane5700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontechoro, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2015

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having selected Hotel Montechoro for your stay, and for having taken the time to give us your feedback.

We are really sorry that we haven't been able meet all your expectations.

Believe that we do appreciate your honest feedback.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Ricardo Gonçalves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#96 of 154 in Albufeira
210 reviews
0.7 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#35 of 154 in Albufeira
2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
17 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#76 of 154 in Albufeira
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montechoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montechoro

Address: Rua Alexandre O'Neill, Albufeira 8200-343, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £179 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montechoro 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montechoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montechoro Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing