We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for winter long-term stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Ranked #52 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ideal for winter long-term stay.”
Reviewed 13 January 2008

We are seniors who spent most of the month of February at the Alto da Colina for the past two years. The hotel is very well maintained with clean well-equipped apartments: living rooms, kitchens, bedrooms and washrooms. The outdoor pools are beautiful to look at but not to use in February! The indoor pool seems to be well kept. Beds are firm but comfortable and the couches are also comfortable to sit in while watching the miniscule television or reading in the evenings.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
A car is useful for getting to the host of restaurants and stores in nearby Albufeira and Olhos d'Agua. A nice beach is easily reached via the Alfagar hotel grounds across the main road, a ten minute walk. Other beautiful beaches are five to ten minutes away by car. The old downtown of Albufeira can be reached in 25-30 minutes along the main road or five minutes by car or bus.
Our rooms were big and bright with excellent remote controlled radiant heaters which are needed at night. The TV is typically Algarve hotel, tiny and useless unless you're a soccer fan or enjoy the mindless repetition of a few news reports on BBC and CNN. Most channels are in Portuguese or German.
Adjoining gardens of the Balai Golf Village are great for pleasant evening walks.
A large number of Canadian retirees stay here during the winter and everyone we met gave the hotel top marks.
We would definitely recommend it and only our desire to visit other parts of the Algarve will keep us from going back to this hotel this winter.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, well-equipped
  • Disliked — Unattractive hallways
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Snowbird23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    145
    57
    25
    17
See reviews for
302
46
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2008

Hello,
We went to Alto Da Colina in Aug 2005 (i know ages ago!) and we were really pleased as it was our first family holiday with our 3 boys(ages then 9,7,4) About 45 mins transfer from Faro airport. The apartment complex is lovely and modern with nice pool (disco area a bit small for the complex) Shop and pool tables. Our Apartment was lovely and spacious with air conditioning which was great in the summer.We had a nice clean kitchen with microwave kettle and all the pots and pans cutlery and china and lovely big lounge and bedrooms.

If you go to portugal you must go to Zoomarine,we booked it through the first choice rep when we got there and it was the best day out, Dolphin show in a lovely clean big pool, amazing tricks,& sea lion show which was hilarious.Parrot show was brilliant too.The kids loved Zoomarine and so did we! You can see the animals are really looked after too.

Dont go to Crazyworld as we did on our last day the only bit we enjoyed was the crazy golf and dodgems,the animals are'nt treated very well here and i hope its closed down by now.

  • Liked — Cleanliness,spacious
  • Disliked — Small inside entertainment area
  • Stayed August 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Wearefamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2008

Stayed at Alto da Colina (First Choice Families) in May 2007.
Had a fabulous stay. Hotel is immaculately clean, hotel staff extremely friendly and First Choice resort staff superb.

This was our first family holiday abroad, travelling with a 4yr & 3yr old. Our room was apartment-like and very spacious (we we're self-catering). Open plan kitchen, dining and living area (very spacious). Kitchenette area with hob, fridge, sink and plenty of cupboards. Dining table with 4 chairs, Sofabed and armchair . The bedroom had 2 singles as a double bed - plenty of cupboard space - also plenty of storage area in the apartment for suitcases etc. The bedroom has sliding doors to the living room. Both bedroom and living room have patio-door access to a lovely (safe) balcony area. We requested a ground / 1st floor aparment away from the pool area.

The main pool area has a large pool and a smaller (shallow) children's pool - this is all off the reception area, with a small (but well equipped shop), restaurant and bar area. Their is plenty of terrace area with tables / umbrellas etc. and is the main focus for the evening entertainment. The only small issue we had was that the pool area is next to the bar / restaurant, and is not totally 'blocked-off' at night. So although safe, if you kids like to run around they could easily run into the pool area...... At the front of the hotel is also a children's play area (slide etc.) and children's pools (2 or 3), with an excellent splash pool - which the kids loved.

Entertainment - we went mid-May at the start of the season. Plenty of day and evening activity. Kids clubs are daily - although our children weren't interested in going - they're seemed to be plenty of good reviews from other parents whose children used the clubs. Evening entertainment was excellent - the highlight of the children's holiday (and if their happy......!) Children's disco started at about 7pm every evening - the Club Reps really get the kids going and seemed to be fully of life and energy (reps & kids!) About 9pm it turns into more adult focused entertainment - disco, quiz, bingo etc. but still extremely suitable for children to be there. The evening entertainment finished about 11pm, with the bar staying open until 12am-1am depending. There isn't much noise after 11.30pm, however if you like to go to bed earlier suggest request apartment away from the bar/terrace area.

We were self-catering but ate in the restaurant and bar food on several occasions - it's adequate, usual pizza's etc (not sure i'd like to be full-board, food would possibly be a bit repetative after a while). The site shop is well stocked - it is cheaper to buy at the supermarket in Albuferia, but suppose your paying for the convenience.

Didn't rate Albuferia at all - in fact we found it dirty (smelly) and not very friendly, this was the old town as well as the new town. Went to Albuferia Old Town one evening as a family and were 'hassled' by people outside restaurants to eat in their restaurant - one waiter even got bit argumentative with my husband when we continued to the next restaurant. The restaurant we did eventually choose, turned out to be 'smelly' and the food wasn't great at all - a really disappointing experience. Be warned - if you do eat out, the restaurants will put baskets of bread etc. on the table when you sit down - it is not free, you will be charged (if you don't want it, ask them to take it away).

Also had a great day out at the Aqualand - all organised by FirstChoice - bus collects you outside hotel etc. approx 9am - return 5pm, kids and adults loved it. I can imagine it gets very busy in high season - but still worth a visit.

The only 'down-side' to the holiday was the location of the hotel - it's a good 15 minute walk (and not on the easiest of terrain) down to the beach. Albuferia town is not really walkable (especially with kids), although the hotel do put a courtesy bus on at several time during the day, and you can get a taxi.

In summary, if you have kids and like a holiday where you hang out at the hotel, with occasion day trips - I would definetely recommend this hotel for you!

NB. I believe Firstchoice have made this hotel one of their 'HolidayVillages' - I can see why. They were building a new block to the hotel when we were there - however, with no disruption to the hotel and very little noise, the building work should have finished by now - hence the upgrade to holidayvillage status.

  • Liked — Everything you could want in the hotel, cleanliness, facilities and staff helpfulness
  • Disliked — Location to beach and town
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank kidsfamilyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2007

Fantastic apartment complex,clean, well furnished, spacious and great facilities. A bit out of the resprt if you have kids and want to walk to restaurants at night, although taxis are cheap ( 5 euros ).The closest area is the " Mini Strip " with a selection of bars and restaurants, but loads more choice in "The Strip " a bit further away, we would recommend El Rancho and try the sizzling stone steaks ( you basically cook you own on a hot stone at the table ). Further again is the Old Town which was nice for a walk around but seems a bit more pricey. If you fancy a jaunt on one of the tourist trains and have a car to get to the Marina the journey on this mini train is a lot more interesting and not such a sardine can !First Choice reps at Alto Da Colina have got it spot on !! they are there when you want them but not in your face for full holiday.. Great work ! We had top floor corner room, which was excellent, fantastic sunrises and sunsets over the sea ! Ample facilities, tip air con works without purchase of remote if someone is tall enough to reach buttons( doors need to be shut ) and telly does too ! give it a go before you pay ! Any card works in electricity slot . Also I think rooms nearer centre of L shaped building directly above bar/ entertainment would be noisy. A lot of building work going on to turn Alto Da Colina into a holiday village for next year. I don't think this will change the open aspect of the hotel as it does sit atop a small rise and new block will be lower. Zoomarine was a great day out, swim with the Dolphins if you can its a great experience without needing to go to America ( some say its better that USA ! )

  • Liked — Spacious and clean
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank BuntersCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2007

I stayed here with my boyfriend for one week in late September, the accommadation and hotel is superb, this is definately one of the best apartments i have stayed in.

The staff are friendly and polite, try talking a bit of portugese to them they appreciate it.

A very family orientated hotel, however out of season this was not to bad, would not want to go during the summer holidays.

The first choice entertainment was not my cup of tea, however for people with children this is probably a good night.

Taxi rides are very cheap and we had no problems getting taxi's at all.

I read previous reviews about the 3 maries restaurant up the road, this was a joke we waited 40 mins for our drinks and starters to arrive, they were very busy but only had 3 members of staff on to serve 80 people, and the food was below avarege. I certainly would not reccommend.

  • Liked — cleanliness and layout superb
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meeshpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2007

Just back from this hotel , was expecting great things after reading , but now feel this hotel is defintely overated. We did have a good time , found our room very clean cutlery etc like brand new, cleaners came everyday which was great and nice family crowd staying in hotel everyone very freindly.. BUT the building work was annoying going on at hotel next door currently being built, our view, although had a lovely sea view we where overlooking this site and was very unpleasent (not advised by travel agent about this)... The noise was annoying, although it could have been worse!! There was a constant sound of drills during the day etc going seven days a week, we usually kept our balcony doors closed which help drown out the noise.....The pool was lovely but freezing, but after a few minutes it was fine and kids all enjoyed it..., the Portugese staff at hotel we found lovely, but we and from talking with other guests all agreed that very very dissapointed with the first choice Reps, found the very fake and terrible at the kids discos in the evening, which is usually the high light for our kids when on holiday. They went through the motions with no smiles, I felt they just tolerated the kids and i could just see on their faces they just wanted to finish up and get out of their.. I have been away and been to the kiddies discos before and this was so dissapointing...In saying that the creche was supposed to be good as different rep down their lovel bubbl girl, with short hair cannot remember her name..On the up side the toddlers pool area on the other side of the hotel was brilliant and the playground was fantasitc..Not the worst holiday and has some good point but for the extra money we handed out for this hotel we where dissapointed,,,

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank L07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2007

Guys seriously this hotel is way over rated. I have stayed in plenty of self catering apartments but never lower than a 4 star and this hotel is NOT a 4 star.l
If you are partial to cleanliness this is not the place for you. On first glance the hotel looks o.k, on second glance it a bit worn and in between you'll realize its filthy. All the glass in the hotel without exception was dirty. The same dirt was on the glass from the day of my arrival to the day of departure, The apartments looked nice but again were dirty. Everyday cleaning was done ie washed floors but bathroom tiles had black mould growing up them. This just shows what the kitchens must be like. For the money we pay to stay in this hotel it should be clean
If you have lots of kids tough it is good.
WORDS OF WARNING IF YOUR PLANNING TO HIRE A STROLLER THERE.......DON'T. I hired a stroller and in one week had 4 different ones. They are dirty and not fit for our children to be sitting in. On one stroller the seat came away and my daughter ended up sitting in the shopping basket underneath. Plus your told you get it in the airport but you actually get it int the hotel. And this is a problem because this hotel isn't organised and we were waiting 4 hours to get into our room and they won't get the strollers for you.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayLovingMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
906 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#20 of 154 in Albufeira
658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#32 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
2.1 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
1,013 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto da Colina Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto da Colina Aparthotel

Property: Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Address: Balaia - Apt 866 | Balaia area, on the road to Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#37 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto da Colina Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Alto da Colina Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Club Alto Da Colina
Alto Colina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing