We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday but one week enough for teenagers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Ranked #53 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Returned yesterday (16th August 2012) after staying for one week with my wife and two children aged 12 and 16 years of age. Like most on here I read LOTS of terrible comments and was worried about going there - PLEASE do not worry! I will give an honest account of this Holiday Village for the age range that we had with us and help you make the most of your holiday.

On arrival we were met with juice for the kids and Sangria for the adults (nice touch as it was so hot). The transfer from the airport was about 35 minutes on a really nice coach so not bad for kids that may be tired after travelling, especially if you have little ones. We arrived at the resort at 1pm and although they don't have to have your room ready until 4pm ours was and it was a swift check in. Make sure you ask for the key for the safe - this is 10 Euros for the week. Remote control and Air Con is included if you are All Inclusive but you do have to leave a credit card in case you lose their equipment.

Room was a lot more spacious than we thought it was going to be and really clean. Kitchen with everything you need, spacious lounge, lots of British TV and a double bedroom with sliding doors in our apartment. We stayed in Block One. Let me say here that I read how far Block Two was away from Block One (IT IS NOT), if you are less able lets say you may find the steps a struggle but it only took us 2 minutes from Block One to Block Two!! They do have ramps for buggies if you require.

We were all inclusive. FOOD - If you cannot find something you like to eat in this hotel then good knows what you live on at home!! They cater for ALL! Breakfast was brilliant, kids corner with pancakes, maple syrup etc, toast, fresh rolls, jams, hams, cheeses etc, full English breakfast with every type of egg imaginable! Cereal choices, fruit.... Brilliant. Unlimited fresh juice, choice of coffee/tea. Lunch and Dinner. They had different themes every night BUT always cater for the Brits. Sometimes I was embarrassed of the Brits queuing endlessly for the Sunday Dinners they provided every night and not even trying the mass of gorgeous dishes on offer. So I can only imagine the people that complain are the ones who just ate this every single day. We did not go one day where there were not different options. So a typical night of food for dinner was, kids corner - chips, sausage, fish fingers, rolls, pizza, garlic bread and pasta. They always had speciality dish which you must try, vegetarian choices, Sunday dinners, salads, fruits, desserts. Unlimited wine, hot drinks, juices and beers at lunch and dinner. I could go on but food FABULOUS!!! We went at different times and never had trouble getting a table. The only downside is the brochure in the room stated men are requested to wear long trousers to dinner which for a four star I agree with, however I think only saw one other guest doing this apart from myself! Most in shorts! Also a lot of parents just let their kids run around in there and push in the queue, how they don't get burnt with the hot drinks I really don't know! Parent seem to not give their kids any manners in all Inclusive!

We went to the local beach once and walked. Only stayed their about half an hour, packed out and the see was too rough for lilos. The tide was in so no room for kids to play, wish we had checked out another beach did not go back to this one.

We went on the trip to Aqua Show, BRILLIANT, our girls loved it and if you get the chance book in to swim with the Sea Lions (this made our holiday), it is 49 Euros Each on top of trip to swim with them but it lasts for 45 minutes and is way cheaper than the dolphin swim experience. They only had tiny groups and LOTS of interaction. Only two shows per day so worth booking in at the hotel. We were lucky as did it on the day at the Park BUT only just got the spaces!

Small shop on site which sells all the essentials including lilos, rubber rings and all inflatables, they also blow them up for you, major bonus!

Drinks - good selection, on the All Inclusive menu it does not mention things like Malibu etc, but all local drinks are included, their Malibu is just as good and drinks were not watered down. Normal ice cream lollies were not included in price nor were slush puppies but to be honest the kids DON'T need them as plenty of other drinks for them to have in price including non alcoholic cocktails. We did purchase ice cream lollies as the main bar did not do the All Inclusive Ice creams they had to walk to Splash Park to get one. If you are hungry at lunch time DO NOT use snack bars, they get packed and you have to wait a long time with people not wanting to walk the one minute to the restaurant for lunch ! , just go into the restaurant, food way better and more choice without the queue. If you want the snack bar at other times though, good selection for what it is meant for.

DOWNSIDES!! If you children are aged 12 or over and you are going for more than one week you will have to book outside trips and get out more, one week was enough for this age group! Most activities are for the young children and the evening entertainment was for young children. The downside is you have to get to the entertainment bar for around 8pm (at the latest) to get a seat then you endure puppet shows and bingo and wait until 9.45pm for anything else to happen. The entertainment was BUTLINS abroad with the staff performing the entertainment. Great for ten years and under only. They did aqua aerobics and water polo for 16 years and over but the adults took the water polo so seriously, dads trying to outdo each other and my daughter did not like this and stopped taking part. If you are a Dad that likes the limelight (or a Mum) and likes to beat the Jones then a few naff comps for you to take part in pool side.

Towels on the sunbeds were supposed to be removed if you tried to reserve beds, unfortunately this did not happen and unless you join in the stupid game of getting up early to reserve a seat then you will be in full sun and lying on the grass! we saw some people getting up as early as 6.30 am and sleep on the beds to reserve them. massive shock to us as this type of holiday was a first. The Hotel need to sort this one!

Surviving the "Bun fight" was a major enlightenment too!! nothing to do with the Hotel of course, just the rude behaviour of parents and children. Don't eat at around 7.30 as this is when the entertainment starts and the biggest bun fight of all begins! we found eating at 8 ish was a lot more civilised

A week with the same people is also enough, never see so many overweight Brits in one place and kids that are so loud and rude!! But this did not spoil our holiday but one week long enough. Would we go back? If our kids were under ten then yes but not with the age group we had. The reps do work hard but that is their job!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Zak W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

Food is same for all duration. pools are dirty and a lot of broken tiles in the pools which my son cought one of them. Staff smiles but no action for helping. Pool side sunbeds and umbreallas ready for the tip. Price is way way too much. First choice (TUI ) thinks nothing wrong with the hotel. HELLO

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sundowner263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

A Holiday Village during peak season, run by First Choice/Falcon, I booked through Falcon. Stayed two weeks all inclusive, 4 adults and 2 children. When we arrived we were in Bock 2, had a quiet pool and two rooms: one apartment and one double room these were very modern, clean and very well maintained. We had large balcony looking onto pool. Compact Shop/Supermarket at Block 2, have right change for staff they don't like changing notes, also you must wear footwear into shop at all times. To get our meals we had to go to Block 1 (three times a day or more) and the only access was a large amount of steps/steep hill which was a chore when it was hot. There was loads for the children to do, pools, splash park up to age 12; kids clubs, creche, soccer academy suitable for all age categories. The staff were very friendly. The evening entertainment was not great for adults, kids had activities 9pm to 11pm and there was not much available for adults; I feel they need to concentrate more on shows in the evening for families. Taxis to and from old town were €8 each way, lovely shops, pubs, clubs, etc. Walk to beach through hotel across road and down more steps but it was lovely. Food was good, wide selection, well presented and lots of variety. Great holiday despite the few moans, maybe the steps kept us all fit after our meals.

Room Tip: Rooms in Block 2 are in quiter part of hotel but have step access only to Block 1 for all meals if a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colefiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Went all inclusive for a week with my wife and 2 year old.Do not go to Block 2.We paid £2000+ and in return we got a room that space was at a premium.No fridge and the room was on the 3rd floor overlooking a main road so a quiet nights sleep was impossible.The remote to the TV had to be returned as it didn't work and one of the lamps in the room was broken.

The walk to the"Palm" restaurant (which is in block 1) is a major undertaking if you are less mobile than someone who is.The hill is quite steep and with a kid in a buggy is quite challenging.You will be out of breath especially in 30 degree plus heat.Be aware of this.

Plus points are things for children to do.Staff are friendly enough apart from the staff in the shop in block 2.If you don't have the correct change you get bad attitude from them.In general location in the Algarve is good.Shame Block 2 isn't so good

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fulton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

After reading numerous complaints about Block 2 of the Holiday Village I contacted First Choice and requested to have my family (2 kids and an infant) accommodated in Block 1 which we have stayed in a number of times before. I received an email saying that this request would be passed on to the resort reps.
On our arrival at Faro Airport the "meet and greet" representative informed me that surprise surprise we were in block 2.
On arrival at the Holiday Village we requested a move to block 1 to be told that Block 1 did not have the same type of apartments. This is a lie and as I said we have stayed here before in Block 1 and in a 1 bedroom apt. After a long discussion with the rep we gave up and stayed in Block 2 but said we would be leaving a complaint.
The steps and ramps between Block 2 and Block 1 are quite steep and restrictive for pushing a Infant in a pushchair up and down.
The reason we booked this resort was for the water park, infant pool and play area which were situated at Block 1 but after 2 days of decamping from Block 2 to Block 1 for use of the facilities
we decided to stay at the pool at Block 2 which had no paddling pool for the infant.
The Apartment was clean and large and had all the facilities you would need.
The Grounds were well maintained and clean.
My advise is that if you have a small child or problems with steps make sure you book BLOCK 1 and if they try to tell you your apartment type isn't in Block 1 ask them to access www.alto da colina.com and it will show all the Apartment Types and also the Rates for hire.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This is a good value place to stay in the area. There are numerous good bars and restaurants down in and towards Olhos de Agua and the beach (a mere 15 minute walk, turn right at the petrol station!) is fantastic. Can't comment on the food as we were Self Catering. We had a car and used it to go to Albufeira Marina and Vilamoura, but enjoyed the walks to Olhos de Agua (about a mile away). We have been to the area before so had a head start on a lot of the decent places to go. All in all I'd recommend it.

Room Tip: We found Block 2 more to our liking. It was quieter, was easier to get back to (less walking) and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

first time family holiday abroad. was not dissapointed! lovely clean rooms. bedding changed every other day. food was great. staff very friendly. pools was very cold..... but hey your on holiday ;-). kids clubs were fantastic my 7 year old loved it. booked a cruise was well worth money it included own beach caves, and bbq.... we also got an extra,....seeing dolphins and a flying fish....amazing! we will be going back next year has theres so much to do and see.

Room Tip: ask for a see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
1,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#33 of 154 in Albufeira
840 reviews
0.6 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#24 of 154 in Albufeira
717 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ondamar Hotel
Ondamar Hotel
#93 of 154 in Albufeira
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
#38 of 154 in Albufeira
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto da Colina Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto da Colina Aparthotel

Address: Estrada de Santa Eulalia | Balaia area, on the road to Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#36 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £26 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto da Colina Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alto da Colina Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Club Alto Da Colina
Alto Colina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing