We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wont Return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Ranked #54 of 153 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2008

I was in this hotel with my family (two girls 1+5), when we booked we were told there was a kids club, but wasnt to be! the outdoor pool was fab and the kids one too, but this time of year the wether wasnt hot enough for it, so the indoor heated pool and jazcuzzi done us fine. in this everyday!!, there is a great play area for the kids at the font of the hotel, with another pool , and a small kind of splash park. along with a football pitch and tennis.

there was no entertainment whatsoever in the hotel when i was there..oh wait im lying 2 nights there was, but i wouldnt call it entertainment, you would see better out on the streets back home.
when you come out of the hotel,when you get to the end of the road, turn left, and walk down to the garage, turn right then, and walk down toward the hotel, and you can reach the beach this way, down a bit of a hill tho, on the beach the is a great little restrauant, and the beach is fab.
another way, when you come out of hotel, down to end of the road, turn right, and walk for about 25 mins(up and down hills), this wasnt great with a pram.... you will come to the shops, also on a hill..
i have to say the hotel is great I say in june/july, when the weather is warm and kids club is on. but i would go back to this hotel, due to its location, to get to anywhere, its either up or down a hill. so thats my chioce at the end of the day.
if you have any other questions, please email me. tks clinton

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank clinton12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2008

Well. The hotel is brillant lovely and clean. The best hotel i have ever been to. There is loads to do. The hotel was fanstatic lovely and clean, Very spacious. The food at the hotel was great. Entertainment a bit poor but that was because they are making the hotel bigger. But it didnt bother me, Made good friends with the bar men and women. They are very helpful always there when you need them. Going to miss you Magel, Carlos and Grasa. You are great. Hope you dont forget us. Love you. The hotel is great, Very big. But in a couple of months it is going to be much bigger. The bar and resturant are very big. The swimming pool was rather cold, But there is a indoor swimming pool which is very warm. I LOVE THE ALTO DA COLINA. Definatly going again. it is fanstatic. I will miss you megel. You were very nice to me. Love you. Hope to see you all next year. Going when i have finished my exams with my best friend. Hope you are all stil there. See you soon. Love you lots Magel, Carlos and Grasa. Love from Racheal and Sarah. xxx

Stayed: April 2008
2  Thank WalesBabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

Have just returned from the Alto Da Colina which will be absolutely brill when finished but not very nice when in the middle of a building site.
Could not fault the accomadation which was fantastic, rooms were large and very clean. as maids came in 6 times a week.
Great sea views available which i would recommend as there are great balconies.
Did not eat in the restaurant but did have a few drinks in the bar but have to say there wasn't much of an atmosphere a bit like a canteen in a high school.
Outdoor pool was lovely but freezing this time of year and also there was an indoor pool which also had a jucuzzi.
Lots of work going on as will change into a holiday village for the summer which is due to open in May but they are running behind schedule and still plenty to do.
Bit of a track into town but reception will call a taxi for you and yes they charge 50 cents to do this but if you called from your own phone it would cost a lot more. taxi to the strip cost around 4 euros and to the old town 5.50 euros which is very cheap compared to other countries.
The strip is a bit ropey and was getting quite loud but there some very good restaurants. Frogys pizzeria was amazing and also Fredis on the crossroads is worth a visit. Also tried out the only Australian rest in Portugal called Kaola Garden and had kangeroo and ostrich!!!!!
The old town is beautiful and set around a lovely old square with numerous bars and restaurants and also lots of gift shops. We walked here from the apts and it took about an hour or so down hill but beware its a killer walking back!!!!!
The beaches are fantastic and the nearest is Eulalia accessed either through the Alfagar apts or from the main road. Only one restautant/bar but very resonable and then there is De Oura beach which is near the strip which is lined with restaurants and bars but quite pricey.
The apts are situated on an incline so is not really suitable for the less mobile or small children but keeps the rest of us fit!!!!
When the work is completed here it will be great fun for the kids as they had just fitted a high wire and installing a new pool with slides and in the summer they will have entertainment so the best thing is not for all of us to put you off but to go and enjoy as all peoples opinions are different.
We did enjoy ourselves its what you make it and yes it would of been better without the mess and noise of a building site but hey its not any worse than England so my advice is to lie back relax and enjoy .... with a nice cool beer of course!!!!!!
Happy holidays

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happykitten40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2008

We've Just returned from a fantastic week at the Alto da Calina. The accomodation was excellent, the rooms were to a high standard and a good size. They where extremely comfortable with amazing sized baloncies, we had a beautiful view over the pool and and the sea. The hotel is kept spotless at all times and the rooms are cleaned daily (apart from Sunday) with fresh towels everyday.

The hotel is quite far out of the town and we felt car rental from the airport instead of transfers would have saved a fortune. We hired a car Monday to friday which was excellent.

Bulidng works are taking place at the hotel but did not affect us at all. This place is going to be something else in the summer. We went out of season so enjoyed the hotel and the Algarve being quite. We often had both the indoor and outdoor pool to ourselves which was bliss although outdoor pool was cold but once you ventured in, you warmed up pretty quickly. (It's massive compared to other hotels in the area).

They have built an adventure play ground and are increasing the size of the splash park by adding pool sildes and a new pool.

The staff were friendly and helpful at all times.

Avoid the shop at the Balia Golf resort next door we spent a fortune on the first day! If you are self catering, hire a car for a week and from faro airport, avoid the transfer fee's, (don't be afraid of driving on the right hand side, it's not that much different), go straight to your local lidal, spend 100 euros and get your entire weeks shopping, If you can get a good deal go halve board, we believe it would work out cheaper.

The downside to a great hotel like this, is that it's been pre bought by the holiday companys i.e. thompson, airtours. etc What I mean by this is that they basically buy X amount of rooms and sell them at a greater prize as to what the hotel wants from the. From May to Sept us Brits are ripped OFF!!!! I believe we got a great deal, we got on every ride, we had entire beaches to oursleves and enjoyed 20 to 23c all because of the time of year we went. before the prizes jump up!

A must see is the zoo marine, a great day out.

A fantastic holdiay and we can't wait to go back, as long as it's the right prize, halve board and we rent a card for a week from the airport.

Trust me, you'll love his hotel! we did....

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kevdewhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

Went to Portugal for the first time, was a bit worried about it, got the holiday last minute for the Easter break. Went with a friend and our 2 kids, age 10 and 11. Was impressed how clean Portugal is, there is no high rises, everything very villa like, even the shops. Arrived at hotel about 9.30 at night, still managed to grab a meal in the bar and was able to buy water and milk from the bar as well. Went to our rooms and we were pleasantly suprised, they were large, modern and everything was new. Even had BBC 1 and ITV on the telly which is unusual abroad. You have to pay 30 euros for the deposit of the remote control, and another 30 euros deposit for remote for heating/airconditioning plus 10 euros charge for them both, but you got the 60 euros back when you hand in keys. We were put off a bit because the hotel has nothing round about it, not even a shop on site nothing on in hotel, just small bar come restraunt, so we decided to see rep in the morning to find out were to go to for food etc. I was pleased i went to the meeting, found out everything i had to know, where hypermarkets were and where to take the kids to keep them amused. taxi the the nearest supermarket was 5 euros, took kids to zoo marine twice they loved it, very cheap once in for kids to eat and drink. Dolphin show, seal show , bird of prey show, sharks swimming over glass tunnels, all the kids rides included as well, brilliant fun, still loads i could tell u about it, its a must to go to with kids. Took a walk up the strip one day, done some shopping and walked back, took about 20 min each way, lovely walk. Went on pubcrawl with the reps one night, the kids are wecome, they loved it, they had games, kiddies cocktails and kiddies shots, great night. Ended up cooking for the entire holiday, didnt like food in bar, didnt mind tho evrything new, ended up having the cheapest holiday i ever had, supermarkets cheap. Back to the hotel, they are turning it into a holiday village, will be some place in the summer, loads for kids to do then, they have 6 pools, but were too cold in march, although they have an indoor pool which we used everyday. They also have gym and sauna. Everything spotless. Nothing on for kids in march, infact nothing on period, but i know it will be something else in june, would love to go back when its opened properly, now that i know my way around, gypsy market a bit scary, didnt stay long, kids were getting pushed about. Overall we enjoyed our visit to portugal and i would recommend the hotel , i will take kids back to it. Its a bit out the road of everything but everything only a cheap taxi away.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank JULIETATK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2008

This property is in the middle of expansion if you are travelling in the next few months the building work will most certainly be ongoing and all facilities offered will not be available. At end of March they are still putting foundations in at the back of the original block for additional buildings and the extra accomodation block still had a lot of work to complete.

The rooms themselves are nice, spacious and bright. Lovely large balconies - certainly worth paying for a pool / sea view. The original building is on a sttep incline so very unsuitable for those with mobility issuesl. The newer building which is very much a building site is not as spacious and the terrace aroundthe pool theres looks like it will be very tight.

Pool area in March was lovely - outdoor pool too cold to use though. There were enough sunbeds at this time of year but once this an allinclusive holiday village I think it could be a different situation. Inddor pool nice. Only problem we encountered was another family allowing there boy around 10 years old to publically urinate on the terrace at the edge of the pool. Numerous people complained to the reception who did nothing about it !
The location of this property is poor. A long walk to anything! We hired a car which is a real advantage atthis property.

No on site supermarket as advertised.

No evening entertainment or indeed atmosphere in the evening the only bar area is stuck at one end of the restaurant.

We did not use the restaurant in the evening used for snacks at lunchtime which were ok serice a little slow.

Reception service very poor - be prepared to wait and pay them to order a taxi for you ! Have to say this is the only place in the world I have ever been asked to pay fora taxi to be ordered.

Surrounding Area - The strip is tacky and seedy in a lot of parts not good for familiies, old town of Albufeira has had a lot of rennovations so much nicer place. The town in the other area Olhos D'Agua appeared very run down. Villamoura is nice for a visit also.

Would I return - probably not unless it was a real bargain.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luv2holidayUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2008

Beautiful, bright, sunny apartments and great location.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank enjoylife38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 153 in Albufeira
1,019 reviews
0.6 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#30 of 153 in Albufeira
812 reviews
1 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#23 of 153 in Albufeira
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#38 of 153 in Albufeira
841 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#42 of 153 in Albufeira
1,086 reviews
5.8 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto da Colina Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto da Colina Aparthotel

Address: Estrada de Santa Eulalia | Balaia area, on the road to Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#36 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £24 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto da Colina Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alto da Colina Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Club Alto Da Colina
Alto Colina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing