We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality, helpful staff, nice pools”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Ranked #53 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good quality, helpful staff, nice pools”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Easter break in two bedroom apartment. Nice spacious apartment, main room with kitchen and dining area, two decent size bedrooms with twin beds. Big balcony with nice view over sea. Very clean and well maintained during stay. Good facilities available although mostly shut given time of year. Indoor pool was nice although a little cold. Staff were very helpful and straightforward. Location is a little limiting if you have no car. Breakfast and evening meal provided good selection for good price. Only negative point was that they shut the restuarant part way through our stay forcing us to walk to a sister hotel for breakfast - this should have been explained up front. Would totally recommend for younger children, older ones may get bored in location. Would recommend car if staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rog_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    145
    57
    25
    17
See reviews for
302
46
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here April 2013 and had nice break but we were almost the only ones at the hotel!! Great rooms but if you go self catering just beware that there is no oven or grill!! The hotel was spotlessly clean and all staff were friendly and accommodating. The minibus to old town for €1 per person was a god send! The hotel is more than 30 min walk to "the strip" especially with kids but taxi is approx €5. The indoor pool was lovely but cold! I am sure that in the height of the season this hotel would be very lively it's just that the location isn't very central but don't suppose you can have it all!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leannehalelewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Myself and my sisters booked here for a girly holiday in April 2010 and again in August 2012 and it was the best holiday ever!! Everything from the Staff to the services were amazing!! The pool is stone cold but when your sitting in the sun, its actually refreshing! There are two huge pools, one to the front of the hotel and the other to the back. The one at the front is tailored for kids so you don't have kids screaming in your ear all day! There is also an indoor pool for those feint of heart and prefer a dip in warmer water! The gym is small but serves its function and the equipment is spotless. All the bathrooms are spotless too.

The staff at reception could not be any friendlier or more helpful and we actually got caught in the ash cloud the first year and i have to say, they completely took the stress out of the situation! They didn't double the prices for the extra stay like most hotels did and they gave us free internet and ponecalls! Taxis cost 50c to ring and are only €6 to the Old Town which is far nicer than the New Town!

The only downside is that food isn't great in the hotel, either are the cocktails but beer and spirits all taste fine!

The rooms are spacious and can sleep 6 very comfortably! There are two double beds in each room and 2 separate balconies. All utensils in the rooms are clean and there is a good supply of cutlery and crockery.

I cannot speak highly enough of the resort an the staff. We had an brilliant drunken time and did it on the cheap and still in comfort! The best bars are Dominos and Bank and if you are looking for superb food, you have to go to Cabana Fresca! The food is to die for!! We practically lived here for breakfast lunch and dinner! And the staff are friendly (and goregous!)

Room Tip: Try for rooms with pool view as other rooms are close to the road and can be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Serena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Stayed in this hotel end of January for 3 nights with my 3 children. In my opinion the hotel couldn't have been any better. The rooms were modern and very clean, spotless in fact. The staff were all so friendly and helpful and the service was excellent. Could not find any fault with this hotel at all. We had a lovely holiday and would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMAT100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I first contacted this hotel before we arrived as I wanted to enquire about the gym. The manager Jo replied almost immediately with the info I required. Jo then went on to provide information about things to do when we got there etc etc. we arrived at the hotel and had an amazing reception, the staff were so friendly, as though they had known you for ages. The food was delicious and the area was beautiful. Would definitely recommend this hotel, what a fabulous place run by fabulous people xx

Room Tip: Ask for floor one block one, balconies are huge. We had room 1140 and it was amazing xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I absolutely loved this holiday,it was great,I met some amazing people! All the staff were so welcoming and polite,and the holiday reps were so nice to you and the entertainment was fun for both kids and adults.the food was really nice aswell,which I never seem to expect when I go on holiday ,the children's watersides is great for kids,and the ariel adventure is really great for kids and adults,it's brilliant that you have the steam room And sauna aswell,so people can have a break and relax ,there was always something for everyone to do whilst being in the hotel,for instance when they put quizzes on and pool activities ,i would deffinatley come to this hotel again and I will also let people know how amazing this hotel is. I rate this hotel 10/10. From Paige and Tina room 316 and 1302

Room Tip: It's easier to stay in block one because it's close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Having read some of the negative reviews, we were a bit wary.... NO need to be! The place was brilliant! From the efficiency of checking in to the minute we left, it was as near a perfect holiday we've ever had. We had an apartment in block 1 overlooking the pool and with a sea view. Even tho we were right over the bar and sitting area, there was hardly any noise after 11pm. Those who complained about food in other reviews? Where they in the same hotel? Food was varied, perfectly cooked [well, 98% of the time], plenty of it, and you could have as much as you wanted. The staff were great, didn't meet a one who wasn't happy, smiley or chatty. ALL the staff were good at their jobs and very efficient at it too. Hotel public areas were spotless all the time, rooms were cleaned every day. If you have kids, this has to be the hotel to go to...we were disappointed we didn't have the grandkids with us as they would have loved it, there was so much for them to do. But plenty of adults there without kids too and we all enjoyed ourselves. I had a slight accident on our last day and the staff couldn't have been more helpful or considerate. If you have any mobility problems, stay in block 1 as block 2 is down, or up, a steep incline but its nearer the buffet/snack bar and has a lovely pool. The pools.... plenty of sunbeds [or grass] to sunbathe on but a few more parasols or a shady area would be nice too. We are definately going to go back one day but with the family and grandkids!. My tip? Take, or buy, your own toilet paper... Portugese stuff is rather thin! And opt for an apartment, loads of room and only a few quid extra.

Room Tip: Take plenty of euro plugs to do all the chargers! Ask for rooms with the higher numbers if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gavsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
904 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#20 of 154 in Albufeira
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#32 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
1,013 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto da Colina Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto da Colina Aparthotel

Property: Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Address: Balaia - Apt 866 | Balaia area, on the road to Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#38 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto da Colina Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Alto da Colina Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Club Alto Da Colina
Alto Colina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing