We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Ranked #55 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ok, could be better”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Just got back from here after a week with my wife and grandson. We stayed in block 1 everything you need is in block 1 and block 2 is a nightmare for anyone with walking difficulties or pushchairs.
The first choice team work their socks off at this hotel both during the day with kids and adults and the night time entertainment. Rooms and hotel is always clean as is the pools.
The downsides: the food is pretty hit and miss, a good English breakfast but the lunch and evening meals not too great. I complained about the bread been stale and was told by "dee" that it wasn't stale but "dry" this happens, she explained, due to been stood for a couple of hours in the heat... well it's not rocket science to work out that replacing it every hour would prevent this!
The Bar snacks at the kids pool where absolutely terrible, all alcoholic drinks are free but you have to pay 2 euros if you want a slushy for the kids, the staff at this bar, on the only day i went, i found to be surly, forgetful and rude and i believe the lack of holiday makers in this area is a testament to this.
Wifi at dial up speed is available in the lobby but you have to pay for it, 20 euros a week.
If you want to call a taxi it costs 50 cents despite the taxi company providing a free number.
On the whole i would not recommend this hotel, when for the same money you can go to better holiday villages in turkey, Cyprus and Greece. The penny pinching on the facilities and quality of food make me mark this hotel down and only the first choice team make it bearable for the adults and brilliant for the kids.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    146
    57
    26
    17
See reviews for
305
46
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The room was spacious with all amenities even though we were all inclusive the staff and reps were helpful food was lovely just dont pile everything on in first week as it repeats itself on week 2. near to nightlife taxis cheep only downsize was the caous at airport .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachaelcrazyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the first 2 weeks of the summer holidays with 2 children aged 12 and 10. There was always something for the kids to do whether it be the kids clubs main pool entertainment or high ropes. The food on the whole was fantastic! A few nights I wasn't happy with what was on offer but that could have been down to my personal preference! ALL of the staff were helpful and polite and the whole hotel was immaculate and spotless all the time! We had a fantastic holiday, we love Portugal and the Portuguese people. Only problem was... Having to come home :(

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissWright83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

my wife and i took the second week of our daughter/son in law/ and 2 granddaughters fortnights holiday we was all inclusive, the complex has 2 blocks block 1 is 10 years old thats the one we stayed in and block 2 is 5 years old block 1 is where the main food hall is if you are in block 2 you have to climb 50 steps each time you want to eat morning noon and night there is a restaurant in block 2 which you can eat in twice a week when you are all inclusive.The appearance of both blocks are very modern and easy on the eye they are both 5 storys high including the ground floor our room was really spacious and well fitted however for a 4 star the bathroom let it down there was no shaving mirror no complimentary shower/hair shampoo sachets the bath towels were thin and not very large the hair drier kept cutting out and there was no none slip mats for the bath,the housekeeping was a bit lax our bed did not get made one day and that was on a week day not on sunday, there was sky sports 1 which is a real bonus for sports fans and plenty of british channels which makes a nice change when you are abroard, the food was just what the british eat the bacon and sausages was just like you eat at home the variety of the rest of the food was really good and suits the british pallet,the pool areas were as you would expect really nice there is an inside pool although we did not use it i should say there was six or seven ear infections during our week stay from different people so there is a problem with the water,at this point i should point out that first choice take over this aparthotel throught the summer so the place is full of kids not our preferred holiday but we knew what we was letting ourselves in for so thats cool and i have to say i have never seen the level of activities for the kids as is in this hotel from early in the morning till 11pm it is none stop i have also never seen the amount of equipment that the kids had it was absolutly fantastic what a place to take kids there is a team of 30 helpers in the kids club from the reception to the kids club all the staff are really really good, i would comment that there should be more than the 2 lifts that was there,every day the owner turned up he must be 80 that to me is a nice touch and he cares and to be fair it is reflected in the way the place is run if we return and kids are not there it would be interesting to see if we would enjoy the place a little more because it would be a little calmer but thats me being a silly old so and so one the final question is would we return the answer is yes not for a few years there are other places to see though.

Room Tip: get one facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Spent a week here in may. Very clean hotel. Great for young kids. There is a beach but very steep steps to get to it via sister hotel. Great entertainment team for children. Food the same as any other all inclusive hotel. Bit on the cold side though. Pool bar gets very busy at lunch. Only one serving and they take a lunch break at 1:30:/ overall kids enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJC1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Feeling the need for a break from the dismal weather I booked a last minute holiday to Portugal. We have not been to the Algarve before and decided to take a chance thinking a week anywhere in the sun would be better than here. We were delighted when all of our expectations were exceeded in every way. Flights and transfers went seamlessly, we were welcomed at the hotel and given an excellent room. It was spotless, well maintained, comfortable and quiet. Alto da Colina is situated in a quieter part of the Algarve, but Vilamoura and Albufiera are easily reached by foot, bus or taxi. The beach was a pleasant cliff side walk away but if you have smaller children and buggies it may be easier to use the hotel bus or take the longer route along the main road.The hotel provided enthusiastic entertainment and day trips for those that wished to participate whilst also providing a quiet pool area for those that did not. The restaurant was first class. The food was excellent in quality and choice. The staff consistently made sure that food was well presented and fully stocked throughout. Tables were cleared and cleaned immediately and there was always a choice of where to sit. This was our first experience of an all inclusive holiday and to be honest I had visions of unruly queues, guests with piled high plates and trays loaded with drinks. I could not have been more wrong. Meal times were a pleasure, sometimes we sat for a couple of hours enjoying the atmosphere and a coffee. The hotel obviously caters for families and appears to do so very well but as an older couple with no children we did not feel out of it but enjoyed the energetic atmosphere. In conclusion I would recomend this resort to all, couples and families. We left feeling relaxed and would love to return another year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lululipgloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Alto Colina / is a fantastic property if you have family .as it is all centered around the family. It is brochured under the first choice holiday village brochure . It is so well set up.
Very modern stylish apartments with all facilities needed. The complex is all inclusive and operated completely by FIrst choice the reps even meet you at the door on arrival .
The food is great and does a wide range of things the kids will enjoy .
There is a children's club that operates at various times and provides various activities for the children , the kids club reps are very dedicated and enjoy what they do , there is also a crèche / baby sitting facility. Which means there is also a chance for parents to have time aside the kids .
The water park is such an asset it is amazing , it's hard to get the kids out of the water .

We booked our package direct with First choice they were excellent cant fault one thing . We didn't book our transfer with them as we have found in the past tour operator transfers take forever and with kids after a long flight you Just want to get there. We had been recommended by friends to use yellowfish taxi so this is what we did , and they were also excellent ,they were waiting at the Airport with a big welcome , all the drivers made a fuss of the kids and spoke to us not just the one taking us , it was so nice to be greeted that way ...... When we got to the car they had a baby seat and a booster back seat for the kids , so they had done their research into what we required . We then were given a bottle of wine as a welcome gift , how nice was that , the return trip was equally good . It took only 30 minutes to get there , it took people on the bus quite a bit longer . Can I also note a coach transfer for 4 people with first choice is actually quite a bit more expensive than a private with yellow fish taxis
While our children are still young I think for the next few years this will be the holiday of our choice as the other benefit is the flight is really about the shortest of the European destinations..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fionna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#9 of 154 in Albufeira
921 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#34 of 154 in Albufeira
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
1,555 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#23 of 154 in Albufeira
669 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto da Colina Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto da Colina Aparthotel

Property: Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Address: Balaia - Apt 866 | Balaia area, on the road to Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#38 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto da Colina Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alto da Colina Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Club Alto Da Colina
Alto Colina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing