We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Ranked #52 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2008

Just returned from a fabulous week at the holiday village and loved it. Like most I was concerned after reading the previous reviews especially about the food. However, the food was good and there was always a variety of dishes and plenty of fresh fruit. We did occassionally find the food luke warm but for a buffet style restaurant it was great. Try the omlettes at breakfast: they are not to be missed!

The place was spotless and the hotel staff friendly and eager to please. The first choice team were fantastic and were always busy running various activities. My 4 year old loved the kids club and the new splash pool. Also a special mention for Chris at swim kids, who went above and beyond to help all the kids to learn to swim.

One word of warning though, do not book a twin room with a camp bed if you are a family of 3. We did and were disappointed as it was spotless but too small to comfortably stay in. This is in contrast to the appartments which I believe are huge.

Finally yes there is a steep walk up from block2 but it wasn't too bad and the block is absolutely great with its quieter pool and we liked to stroll down in the evening and feel you were going home.... Have a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HannahGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2008

Just got back today from holiday village algarve (myself , husband & 21/2 year old twin boys) had a fab time. Yes were a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews but no need to have as everything was great. Stayed here last year self catering and glad we did this time as spoke to others and the opinions they had for the food was poor. We cannot comment though as we didnt have any of the food there. Staff were excellent very polite. Will defo be returning again

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank twinsmumCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

We were as some people a little worried when we read the reviews. When we booked it wasnt a village so we didnt know what to expect. When we arrived our room was ready and it was SUPER! Lots of space and a fab kitchen. We were self catering but did sometimes eat in the restaurant. We enjoyed the food and the service. We didnt know which pool to sit by of a day as theres 3 choices. Loved them all! (Your even allowed to have inflatables.) All the staff work so hard to make your holiday the best it can be. God knows were the get their energy from. Well done the entertainment team ( Ruthy, Lindsey,Danielle,Billy, Phil & Daryll) OH AND NOT FORGETTN ERIC! HA!!!
Thanks Groovy Gangfor passing the bingo luck onto us. The prize money is GREAT!!!!
If your in block2 it is abit of a steep hill to get up and down, especially if you have a pram. We went as a group. 5 Adults, 14yr old, 12yr old, 7yr old & 3 yr old. Not much for the 18yr but the others loved it and lots for them to do.
The hotel is abit away from everything but everything you want is at the hotel so its better if youre all inclusive. All the staff are friendly at the hotel and make you feel welcome. Pablo by the main pool thinks hes Peter Andre. Hes Great!
I would certainly recommend this hotel for families and would book another Village Holiday in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank willo1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

We booked our holiday first and then looked on trip advisor, we usually do it the other way round but thank goodness we didn't. some of the reviews were bad which made us really nervous. We were going with our parents, 2 year old son and 3 month old daughter and I can honestly say we had a fabulous time. I will agree that the food isn't perfect but when everything else it then you can't ask for much more.
We stayed in a family room (the one with a private kids room with bunk beds). We were on the ground floor and on the corner so we had 2 balconies - amazing room! We never experienced any "queing" for food or under cooked food. Maybe this has something to do with peak time travelling?
I found the staff extreemly helpful, kids facilities excellent and all in all fantastic value for money.

HIGHLY RECOMENDED!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank trustworthy-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

We were a little concerned to say the least before our holiday after reading the negative reviews about the hotel's food. These concerns were unfounded as the food was excellent. Always loads of choice and we all ate far too much!! The restaurant staff are also very efficient and friendly.

The hotel and rooms were spotless and the grounds beautifully kept. First Choice "Into Action" staff were fantastic and kept the kids amused with their antics. Our kids did not want to do the kids clubs this year but it mattered not as there was still loads for them to do. The entertainment staff were second to none working tirelessly day and night. They are very talented and really friendly. You could join in as much as you wanted with all the fun or, finding yourself a quiet spot was also an option here. We enjoyed other holidaymakers having fun ("Go Team Groovy" - who gave us plenty of laughs even though they cleaned up at the bingo on two occassions).

To sum up, the overall holiday was absolutely great in all respects.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SuperToz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

Just returned from Holiday Village Algarve (Alto da Colina), we had a brilliant time, only downside was the food but you just have to make the most of it and from what we can gather it has improved, but it wasnt so bad.

Stopped in block 2 which is new, it was lovely. Rooms were big, we went A/I but the kitchen had everything you needed. Pool at block 2 was great, quieter than the main pool, but we did prefer the main area as this is where all the activities were for kids & adults. In2Action Team were FANTASTIC, so much going off for the kids & adults, also did family activities as well, they were all so very nice and really made the holiday, ( Oli, Franki, Lauren, Nick, Chris, Natalie,Angel and lifegaurd Pabalo). My 5yr old loved the kids club, was nearly there for most of the time. My 9yr old also enjoyed the wavelength club loved doing the point blank DJ.

At night the ENTERTAINMENT TEAM (Ruthie, Lyndsay, Silly Billy, Danielle, Phil & DJ) were BRILLIANT, they never ever stopped working & did they work hard, they were so good with the kids and did the entertainment shows at night to. Moother Goose was brill.

Went on Jeep Safari loved it. It was nice to see different areas of Portugal and how the farmers and villagers made a living. Our driver was called Chicken George he was so funny and really made the trip, our kids loved him.

All in all, the hotel and the entertainmet were just fantastic, it was really only the food that let it down. But I would go back to this Hotel again, you will love it.

Kay Sheffield

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KaySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Stayed here from 9th to the 23rd August, with my husband , my 8 year old son, and 6 year old daughter. After the reviews that I read before departing, I must say was not looking forward to it, but when we arrived wow !!!!!
The kids couldn't wait to get in the pool. The room was clean and spacious, with enough storage for holiday cloths. The food was great, there is always meat, fish, veg, potatoes, rice and pasta up for grabs, we were so satisfied with the choice that we didn't even bother going to the two resturants. You do queue for your drinks, but no longer than 5 mins. Be warned the pools are really cold. The entertainment was of a good standard, and the kids love it. My children didn't join any kids clubs so I can't comment on those, but my son did do the footie sessions, 66 euros for 3 x 2 hrs, a little expensive we thought, but he enjoyed it, and Ian and Mark are great with them. I would definately go back, and hope that you have a really good time.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carry69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
1,016 reviews
0.6 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
812 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ondamar Hotel
Ondamar Hotel
#93 of 154 in Albufeira
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
1,086 reviews
1 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#23 of 154 in Albufeira
717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#33 of 154 in Albufeira
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto da Colina Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto da Colina Aparthotel

Address: Estrada de Santa Eulalia | Balaia area, on the road to Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#36 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £17 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto da Colina Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alto da Colina Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Club Alto Da Colina
Alto Colina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing