We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Ranked #52 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 16 January 2009

Stayed at this Hotel for 1 wk and had a great time, rooms were amazing food was good (went All Inclusive) all round great time.

Only thing on the down side was the entertainment, area for entertainment was not big enough for the amount of people going there and entertainment staff tried there best but not much cop! kids clubs ok but more for the young.

If you want a day out try the zoo marine and also main square lots of resturants and things to do.

  • Liked — the comfort and lay out of the room
  • Disliked — the walk up from room to main reception/entertainment
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    145
    57
    25
    17
See reviews for
302
46
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2008

got to the hotel on the 10th may 2008 at around 12 in the afternoon after argueing with the bus driver as he did not understand when we told him we were in block 2 of the hotel (this is what we were told to tell him by the rep at the airport) it was like a building site walls around the hotel half built, glass doors only half finished, restraunts still half done. Got given the key to our room, when got there it was still dirty from the people before us. And could not believe how small it was. After room had been cleaned we went back, NO Fridge. the room was TINY and could not see a room or bed for my little boy. Finally found it under our bed but there was no room to pull it out, my son was littlerly sqaushed up against the patio doors. when i opened the patio doors i just burst out crying there was a main road and a MASSIVE MASSIVE BUILDING SITE LOOKING BACK AT ME. drills, 100 foot cranes, lorries the works.
After a steep walk up to the main hotel on a path that was not finished we were impressed by the main hotel but it is too out of the way from block 2. food was satisfactory. pools were good but too cold to use, indoor pool was good. The entertainment in the night was first class My little boy loved it.
The hotel is in the middle of now where so if you like to venture out this hotel is not for you. we walked to balaia it took us about 45 mins on a very dodgy road. We did not venture to the beach as we could not find it.
The reps were lovely, but the hotel is not as it is advertised. In a family hotel you expect somewhere to store drinks and a room that you can actualy walk around the bed.

  • Liked — the reps
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelrabey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2008

I have just returned from this hotle from a two week all inclusive holiday and i would rate it as ok.

On arriving at the hotel we found our suitcases were missing. The driver had taken them off at block 1 and left them there. Not a great start but the first choice rep went and got them for us and brought them down to reption in block 2. After we got our bands on and checked in we were asked to go and have a wander round as our rooms were not ready yet - please note that check out time in Portugal is not until 11.00am therfore most of the rooms are not ready until after lunch time. We were lucky though as our room was ready withing a hour of us arriving.

We got our key and our instructions and off we went. When we got to our room it got worse. We had booked and paid for a one bedroom apartment through first choice and we were given an ensuite bedroom. I was shocked! The bed that my daughter had to sleep in was a pull put bed from under the double bed and once it was pulled out you couldnt even walk round the bed the space was so tight. It was like three in a bed! There was no space to put anything and it was completely cramped. The bathroom was about the same size as the actual room we were expected to live in for two weeks. There was no fridge to keep any drinks of snaks cool in the heat and god help you if you had a baby and were in on of those rooms as the hotels response to storing baby food, mild bottles etc was that you could keep in in reception and get it whenever you wanted it? What happens at 3 o'clock in the morning when you have a tired hungry baby screeming for its milk and you have to walk the full length of the block and down the lift to get it, ask them to heat it up for you then carry it all the way back. Totally unrealistic and unacceptable if you ask me.

Needless to say we walked straight back out of the room and back down to reception to ask what was going on. Apparently our holiday shop should have informed us that not all of the rooms had a kitchen in them anymore. We were told our room no longer had a mini bar and the extra bed would be a camp bed which we were told was much better than a sofa bed - we did approach the travel shop before our departure to ask if we had been down graded and then women assured us that we hadnt. Obviously she was telling us a load of rubbish.

Not to worry though as the reps in the hotel were second to none. The upgraded us straight away to a one bedroom appartment but - and get this - we had to pay an upgrade fee of 17 Euros for the first week and 19 euros for the second (exchange rate). Im sorry but in my opinion i had already paid for that room but in order to get it had to pay out even more money!

Eventually we got our room and it was great. Had everything we were told it would do however we were told that we could only be guarenteed to be in there for 1 week and then we might have to move back to the bedroom if someone else booked the room for our second week. So we lived in limbo from Thursday to Tuesday, wednesday and then finally the thursday only to be told that we were ok to stay where we were until the saturday but we had to keep checking with the reps to make sure everything was ok. Once the saturday had come we were told it was fine to stay put so we could then relax from the saturday to the following wednesday. I have to say again that the reps in the hotel were second to none and they did everything they could for us. The actual problem lay with the actual travel shop.

The holiday itself was ok. Weather was ok for the time of year and yea the outside pool was freezing but what else do you exoect in October? Our daughter had a fantastic time at the kids club and the kids village time and her swimming lessons and the entertainment staff were faultless. The food was ok but i was calling for some fresh vegetables to be put out as lets face it no-one wants to eat a roast dinner with salad.

The clenliness of the hotel rooms was fabulous but the pool areas could have been kept better. The amount of ciggarette butts that were lying everywhere was disgusting and the splash park area was quite dirty. It does get a bit horrible feeling when you have to drink every beverage including the hot ones out of plastic cups though.

Being in block 2 however is not a good thing. Everything that happens in the hotel takes place in block 1 and i mean everything. You have to make the hike up the steps every breakfast ,lunch and dinnertime bearing in mind that you may have buggies to push, you need to get showered and changed for dinner etc. so you are back and forwrard from your room at least 4 times a day. We certainly felt that we were incredibally left out to the point that we felt like were staying in another hotel but sneaking into another during the day to use theor facillities.

Overall i would rate the holiday as ok. Would i return - NO - but i would like to go to a better hotel with the same reps and entertainment team as they were amazing. Our daughter had a great time but then again she is only three so she didnt really understand.

If you are going next year i hope that the questionaires that they give out every other day at the hotle have been listened to and that you do get the proper feel of a holiday village. Various different people we spoke to were appauled with the hotel, having been on other holiday villages they said this one was a joke.

My advice - dont go expecting anything therefore when you get there you will be surprised in whichever way.

  • Liked — The actual size of the rooms were good
  • Disliked — The detatchment of being in block two and feeling completely seperated from block one and feeling really left out
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolaBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

firstly i read the reviews on here after we booked and was little disheartened what i read.
we was in block 2 the walk up the hill is about 30 steps but ok when leaving ur room in block 2 always get make sure u get out the lift on the first floor( that saves a flight of stairs)

the food is great ,omelettes are superb for breakfast and no complaint about other issues on warmth of food

bar staff really friendly, several nites had good banter with bar staff in skylight lounge

kids entertainment well carnt falter it,football acedamy was brilliant for the son

yep pool was freezing but enjoyed water polo with other guests there too !

taxi ride to the strip no more then 5 mins costs 5 euros with tip(50 cent charge to order from reception block 1)

downside was lack of weather reports in reception( we went it was cloudy and sunny wasnt too sure if was going to rain) on second 2 last day got questionnaire to fill in, i put about the said mentioned within 2 hours there was a report about the weather on reception- well done (so impressed)


bingo - wish i had won the 368 euros for a full house

i would recommend this holiday village to everyone

  • Liked — spotless
  • Disliked — absolutely none
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringyHKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Just returned from an excellent week. Over all I would say it is what it is! - a good value package holiday in a family orientated hotel. The positives more than outweighed the negatives for us and if you can take the rough with the smooth a good time will be had by all !

The positives; great apartments, spotless public and private areas, amongst the best reps I have come across,good facilities and activities for kids which are well organized ,good pool areas, with loads of sun beds an enthusiastic entertainment team .

Not so good; some of the kids are left to run around unsupervised and we met some real wide boys amongst them! Drinking out of plastic cups becomes a bit wearing after a while and your gin and tonic just doesn't taste the same! pool is cold but lovely once you are in .

The food again is what it is . if you are expecting michelin star cuisine then you will be disappointed . The food is good and plentiful with something for everyone but it does have the feel of a canteen about it. still not cooking or having to go into town each night was a bonus and in the main suited us well.

if you are looking for an up market holiday then you will be disappointed but if like us you wanted a last minute family break where our son having fun was the most important thing then this in our opinion is ideal.

so in summary a good value hotel where we had some great fun together in pleasant surroundings and were kept amused for most of the time.

  • Liked — apartments childrens facilities
  • Disliked — plastic cups and the canteen style dining
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank scot2Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Just come back from Alto Da Colina, had a lovely time. We were All Inclusive and the food was excellant. Buffet style as with most hotels so you can't expect anything spectacular but there was heaps to choose from every day. Also we ate in the Italian restaurant one night for a change was was also included in the All Inclusive and that was lovely too. Also the omlettes at breakfast were good!

My son had swimming lessons and we paid 32euros for five group sessions but only one of those sessions was with one other person so that was good.

We had a kid suite/den and I read someone said they were all on the ground level near the bar but we were on the first floor and looked out the back of the hotel and had no noise issues what so ever! And it was huge!!

The pool looked lovely but was extremly cold but we are in October! The indoor pool was a good size and handy to have as it was a lot warmer!

The entertainment was varied and performed by the reps and the kids hour was good to for the kids!!

We did afew nice long walks into the Strip and the Old Town, but it was about 6 euros to the old town by cab and 4 euros to the strip.

Overall was a gret holiday and would definately go back All Inclusive!

  • Liked — It had a kitchenette even though we didn't use it really as we were All Inclusive but handy to have
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

As a family never been abraod together before i was happy with the holiday overall.
Arriving at the hotel was fine nice staff to meet you at the reception, as we arrived quite late we were unable to eat at the restaurant at the hotel sp we had to get changed and make our way into the strip to find somewhere to eat this was a little inconvinient.
The apartment was lovely couldnt of asked for more, it was a good size and had all the facilites needed for self catering our balcony looked right over the pool and we could see the sea too! which was nice!!
The pool was a good size but dont be fooled by the pale blue water it was absaloutley freeezing! in the mornings its better to put your towels on a lounger or else there probally wouldnt be any left!
The shop on site was quite expensive although did have everything you need!
If you have booked all inclusive i would phone up and change it now! we only had a 'meal' once there and believe me once was enough! mexican night? what a joke cold pasta and pizza with carrots and green beans on it?!?! the chips must of been quite good as there was a que for them all the time! but i didnt pay 20 euros per person to eat chips!
The location of the hotel was quite good takes a while to walk down a steep hill to the beach! and its only about 10/15 minutes in a taxi to the strip (the main place for bars resurants) although there were some nice shops some of them were a bit tacky and reminded me a bit of blackpool! you can find nicer shops in the old town which takes a bit longer to get to but its worth it!
Holiday reps and staff very nice always smiling! and will always ask how you are!

Overall brilliant holiday would probally go back if i had the chance! self catering though!!

  • Liked — The apartment, Pool, Views
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen24992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
906 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#20 of 154 in Albufeira
658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#32 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
2.1 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
1,013 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto da Colina Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto da Colina Aparthotel

Property: Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Address: Balaia - Apt 866 | Balaia area, on the road to Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#37 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto da Colina Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alto da Colina Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Club Alto Da Colina
Alto Colina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing