We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but NOT if you do not have kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Ranked #45 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
West of Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel but NOT if you do not have kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

Nice hotel. Great spacious rooms, great staff, nice pools, good food, a healthy walk to the beach.
BUT if you enjoy peace think twice. The noise level is a serious challenge. The noise of kids screaming, the noise of the entertainers, the noise of kids playing with gaming machines when you are eating! Noise, Noise, Noise.
If you have kids of your own go for it! Get your own back.
If you are a couple, I'm afraid it is not the place to unwind.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derryhick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    142
    56
    24
    16
See reviews for
302
43
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
herts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

Arrived home yesterday from the holiday village Algarve, and am so sad to of left. Travelled with my partner, 8 month old baby and my mum, we stayed in a 1 bed apartment in block 2 which was lovely, roomy for all of us double balcony etc. Block 2 is the quieter area which is fine a 1 minute walk to block 1 where everything is like restaurant ,bigger pool etc. it is A VERY steep walk with a push chair, when i had all of our stuff for the day pushing it up there on my own was hard but i managed it, my partner didnt find it as difficult!!!
The restaurant staff are lovely as well as the reception staff.
They do make you have the cards as well as blue bands for all inclusive which is a bit annoying as i lost 1 and had to pay 10 euro's but they said that at the start so wasnt too annoyed. Try not to buy anything from the supermarket there as is very over priced!!
The entertainment team were really good in the day, they were ok at night, they tried really hard, it wasnt good but i wouldnt blame them, they were doing all they could.
Also i was really impressed they had all baby feeding equipment like spoons and bowls etc. as had brung that all with me.
When my son is older i will definately return as from age 3 onwards everything is free and they have activities on all day.
I would recommend this hotel to a friend but would advise if you are looking for a quite break and dont have children then dont go!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gucci101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn by the sea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

This was our 1st holiday abroad with our 2 year old, so slightly apprehensive. We found the hotel set up very good, rooms were comfortable, we had an apartment which had all mod cons (except for an iron). The reps were great and helpful. Our little girl went into the twinklestars creche, which she enjoyed, again the staff were professional and helpful, a must for parents trying to get some (us time). Pool and slide areas were fab! As for the food, well weve read a few damning reviews, but we thought the food was good, tried the portugese restaurant and again enjoyed the food. Our only gripe would be the gym, my hubby is a regular gym user and found the equipment in poor state of repair and very limited. Our little girl was besotted with the childrens entertainer Dotty Spotty Sox, and almost stalked her !!!! the entertainment on a night was good for the kids and the 1st hour was for kids , and then bingo and show after with audience participation. A previous review mentions the kids doing "farting noises" as a competition, we were there that night and found it harmless fun!! everyone else seemed to see the funny side of it !!!! We also liked the idea that kids could go and learn to swim or better their football skills, they got awards on the entertainment night, and were chuft to be going onto stage. Unfortunately our little one was too young.
In general we found the staff were very approachable and would happily help with any queries. Already looking in the brochures for next years holiday villages, were hooked !! Thanks for a great week. Liked the old town rather than new town of Albufeira.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxysharron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

All round a disappointing experience. The hotel is much shabbier than the brochure photos suggest. The pool area is worn and bedrooms dated. However, rooms were clean.

The main let down was the food which was very poor quality. The buffet is constantly covered in flies. The food is cold and was very repetitive.
The evening entertainment was poor, in fact painful to watch. Also the content was often crude and inappropriate we felt for very young children. We were not enamoured to watch children as young as three go on to the stage to participate in a "fart competition".

The beach is very difficult to access, particularly with a pushchair.
All round a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeedsMatilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland of Course!
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

We stayed at the HV Algarve for the first time from Aug 20th to 27th. Our accomadation was in block 2. when we arrived we were greeted by a very busy but friendly receptionist Isazbelle who gave us all the info we need about the complex. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a great view. The rooms are huge, very well kept, with plenty of untensills to do some of your own cooking and Air Con in both the bedroom and dining area which was most welcome in the heat that the Algarve is getting at the moment.
We stayed on a self catering basis so breakfast cost us €25 each morning, food at the complex is situated in The Palm restaurant buffet style. Breakfast were fine, even if the scrambled eggs were scarey! the evening food was exspensive, we paid €20 each for 3 adults plus €12 for a child to eat again buffet style.
In Block 2 there is a snack bar and mini market. There is a climb up steps and I saw a number of people strugle with buggies. Block 2 has its own pool and some apartments have sea views.
The facilities at the complex are excellant, the pools, events etc were worth the trip. Two receptionsists were also excellant, Manuela & Isazbelle gave us a real welcome to the Algarve, with hints and tips to the best places to go etc. We found the reps really nice, well 3 reps John, Scott and Becky who were very good at their job. What I found very dissapointing was the fact we went to the welcome meeting and when we got back to the apartments we found a note stating we had missed the meeting! I think in our opinion the reps were based around block 1 where all the activities were, block 2 was basically the chiil out area, I think it would be nice to have a few events organised for this block.
Overall this complex was better than the HV Lanzarote for its facilities, great rooms, hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishPaul1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

This is a fabulous hotel, very clean, family orientated, service from hotel staff excellent and the reps and children's entertainers excellent in particular Dotty Spotty Socks (she should have her own tv show) adults and children loved her alike. All of the reps particulary hard working and made the holiday enjoyable for children and adults alike. I would definitely go back there again and would recommend to others.

The only bad side is if you have mobility problems you may find hilly location a bit of a problem but if you are fit and healthy then I think it is fine.

All in all an excellent holiday!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank englishrose2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

The hotel is spotless, we stayed late sept so not too many little ones. Most really well behaved the parents of others were the problem. we were in new part of complex, pool in shade for some of the day, never a problem to get a sun bed.. and less noisey than the top area.. i won £200 euros at the hotel bingo on our first night so we were able to afford to eat out on a few occasions as food was poor one day excelllent the next typically the day we went out .. entertainment is aimed at kiddies niave to think otherwise stupidly... good fun daytime even if ur like me don't always join in, those that did seemed to have the better holidays.
There were some older couples there who we got chatting too, anyone with a chest/ breathing difficulties would struggle as built on a hill and we'd swap daily up dates on food, families from hell and our hangovers...

I would stay here again, infact my mum and dad ( in 70's) did this april as its very hard to find a hotel with kitchen area...aparthotel its officially called, they enjoyed their stay food it would seem is better when not catering for hundreds of us fussy brits. I see the price has increased greatly this would put me off however, but when my grand daughter is a few years older and prices are ok I'd bring her here to enjoy the fab algarve sunshine..once stayed in this area mid Nov, weather 25 plus every day, and hotel cheaper when first choice holiday village ends. Weather hot most of our two week stay, magnificant thunder storm for first 3 days all day and night. Staff really helpful, especially Gracia in lower bar... italian and portuguese resturant..one of each per week lovely food hot but not huge portions, if childless go to late session, one evening spoilt by screaming kids. Pre book at reception on first day!!!!!! as very popular once word gets out about quality.
If u have kids u'll love this place don't be put of with comments re food.. just be prepared and take some niceys with u as rooms fully equipped..Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaStAustell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#23 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.7 mi away
Luna Miramar
Luna Miramar
#68 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#50 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#35 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#92 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto da Colina Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto da Colina Aparthotel

Property: Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Address: Balaia - Apt 866 | Balaia area, on the road to Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#32 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto da Colina Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alto da Colina Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Club Alto Da Colina
Alto Colina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing