We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place would return....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Ranked #52 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant place would return....”
Reviewed 20 September 2010

reading many of the revews I think some people must have been staying else where. what a fantastic place, buffet restaurant really good, no problems always plenty to choose from. maybe not 5* cuisine but can you expect that from a family village??? 8 of us traveled and no one was i'll and we only ate in the buffet! rooms, fantastic, big family rooms clean spacious, big balcony (we had 2 balconys) quite at night. Splash pools was good for both adults and kids, my eldest daughter lover the play ground the creche the pool everything. Free bus to the beach, all the staff were really friendly
we would definatly go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spookey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    146
    57
    25
    17
See reviews for
303
46
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

I have to say that when I read some of the reviews on here I was nervous, but there was no need to be, it was a fantastic hotel, run by efficient, helpful, courteous staff. The rooms were brilliant, the kids facilities were among the best we had seen, and we have done a lot of all inclusive travel. The food was amazing, fresh, hot, large variety, and beautifully prepared and cooked. The bar staff should get a mention too, they were great. The entertainment staff worked very hard, through the day around the pools and a night.
A 10-15 minute walk to a beautiful beach, a few steps, but not nearly as many as we have encountered at other hotels, we went daily for a dip in the sea, then came back to relax by the pools, there were plenty of sunbeds. There was a snack service available if you missed one of the many mealtimes, we didnt use it, but there was a varied menu, and the people we saw using it got nice portions.
The rooms were great, 2 rooms with a dividing sliding door, kitchenette, and a huge balcony with a great view across Olusd'agua, they were cleaned daily to a high standard and we were very comfortable.
I did see and hear the occasional moan from the tatoo'd "its not very british" brigade, but holiday makers have to remember its Portugal! They even had a sports bar for the sad people who couldnt leave the football for a week to spend time with their families, but it shows the Hotel catered for everyone.
We found Taxis as cheap as the busses for getting around and for half a euro you can book one at reception....great service,
We will return another year definately, and I can recommend this place, you'll love it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stugrmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We've just got back from our stay at the Alta da Colina hotel in the Algarve (also called Holiday Village). We booked last minute and got a great value deal. The hotel is definately a family hotel and is really geared up for the kids, although that's not what were were looking for as I went with my friend, we still managed to escape the kids at the quiet pool!
The restaurants were great and with a huge variety of food at the buffet restaurant. The food was good although I know a few of the other guests weren't impressed but to be honest we loved it!
The staff were really lovely too, especially the bar staff and the First Choice staff were also really friendly
Although the nightly entertainment wasn't really our choice of thing, you could tell that the First Choice guys had put a lot of effort into everything and they were really professional and great singers/dancers.
The only negative about the hotel is that it is a bit isolated - it's a fair way to the beach (probably a 20 to 25min walk) and the main restaurants and bars are about 25-30 mins walk away. However it is really easy and cheap to get a taxi - but for that reason it's probably best to go All inclusive as this is definately the best value!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank searchingthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

dont understand why this hotel has been given bad reviews, we were delighted when we arrived (thought it was a good idea to put the price we paid on the title as i guess that makes a big difference to our opinion!)

rooms were large, modern and very clean. bed was very comfy and room very well equipped. we were in block two which we were thought would be a problem but it turned out better for us as the pool and bar were a lot quiter than the main ones. steps were steep and wouldnt fancy staying in that block if i had mobility problems or young children. block 1 had the best views and the main facilities but it aso had an abundance of children and i imagine was a lot noisier day and night.

plenty of parking not that it was used.

pools were a reat size and there was an indoor one as well. gym wasnt very good, no cardio machines. sauna and steam room good.

cant understand how there were any bad reviews about the food, we didnt have the same thing twice the choice was plentiful, fresh and very nice! big choice of salads, fruit, show cooking, hot food, pizzas, childrens section and desserts. tried the portugese a la carte restaurant, didnt think much to it but my partner enjoyed his steak, think by that point in the holiday i had got used to choosing a bit of everything from the buffet restaurant! wasnt too impressed with the selection of bar snacks but guess we shouldve got up in time for breakfast instead!

good selection of drinks, spirits, sangria, fresh water and soft drinks.

didnt see any of the entertainment during the day or go on any of the first choice trips but night entertainment was very good and the team that they have are excellent. we were there for a week and went to a few shows and to see 2 comedians,

we hired towels whilst we were there and only had to pay a deposit, changed every 2 days.

hotel very clean and chambermaids do an excellent job.

location of the hotel wasnt that great but fine if u are wanting a relaxing break. we walked down to the different beaches which was about 10-15mins. we took a taxi to albufeira old town and spent the day walking round the town, and sunbathing.taxi was 7 euros. also went for a night out there and had a nice meal in the square. went to 'the strip' for a night out, taxi 4euros. lot cheaper for drinks at the strip and not as suitable for children as the old town was. hotel in a eaceful location but cheap and easy to get to the nightlife.

all in all a lovely hotel and holiday would definitly go back and for the price we paid it was a bargain.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slrUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

The flights to and from Faro from Gatwick were very well organised and hassle free. Both flights were delayed slightly, but this was no problem. The cabin crew were all very pleasant.

Upon arrival at the hotel, the First Choice staff were very friendly and helpful, and we were offered drinks whilst checking in. We were quickly in our room and very happy.

The entertainment staff were incredible, along with the soccer school coaches. Our son (aged 10) was in heaven! The pools were amazing, the slides were supervised for safety reasons and the activities day and evening were excellent.

On waking the first morning, we found a couple of bites on our back, and assumed this was because we were in a hot country and insects are around, so put it down to experience, and went a bit heavier on the insect repellent.

On waking the second morning, more bites, this time on the backs of our legs too - "must be from under the trees by the pool - must use more repellent!"

The third day, a fresh bite was found on the back, but we had been in the town all day with T-shirts on! Very strange - how did that happen?

On the Thursday night, I found a bite on an area which is always definitely covered! (on a white bit!) OH NO! Yes there can be only one reason....we pulled back the sheets, peeped under them ... bugs in the bed - loads of them! Dead ones, live ones, big ones, baby ones - you name it!

They were everywhere, we pulled off the mattress and there were many more!

This was about 1.30am - we phoned reception - they sent a young man up with a can of spray! We told him that under no circumstances were we going to sleep on that bed.

He then came back with a duster to dust off the dead ones, fresh sheets and a mop to mop up the dead ones fron under the bed!

We again reiterated that we were not going to sleep on that bed! They told us they cannot move us to another room as they are full.

As a last resort, we phoned the First Choice 24 hour helpline, if anyone could help us they will - the staff here are amazing!

We spoke to a young man named Roland, who seemed to take pleasure in asking us many many questions, asking why we thought no-one else has reported the problem and asking why we didn't tell them about it sooner. He finalised the call by offering to text us a call reference number!! I asked him if texting us a reference was actually resolving anything - he finally agreed, after much pleazding, to try to find us another room.

We then received a call from reception saying we could be moved for the night (by now it was 4.30am) to a different hotel. They promised in the meantime to clean the room from top to bottom and get rid of the bugs! We moved to a different hotel, as soon as we entered the place the smell was indescribeable! The best I can say is think macerator/drains/sewers. It was heaving. OK, we thought, let's just get a couple of hours ( we did have 2 children wth us who didn't appreciate all this!) We therefore proceeded to check the beds, as you would after the other experience, they were heavily stained, heavily ripped and absolutely stunk!

We decided at this point to walk back to the previous hotel room. Didn't particularly enjoy this with 2 very tired children dragging up and down hills in the pitch black!

We were there, 4 of us on a sofabed, waiting for the cleaners who were going to do the room from top to bottom - you guessed it - they didn't show!

We went to see the First Choice staff first thing, but there was a notice sayng "Backat 9.45am" Went back at 9.45 and was told they would look into it! Still no action, juast waited and waited for phone to ring in the room. Went back mid-afternoon. Finally, someone did come up to see us, look at the beds, and put us in a room at the sister hotel later that day, so we could get some sleep on our last night.

We missed a whole nights sleep, a whole day's holiday and had 4 nights being eaten alive!

What an amazing place!

Unfortunately our memories of this holiday are horrific due to not only the bugs, but more so by they way the problem was handled.

We have sent this review to FIRST CHOICE giving them 7 days notice of our intention to post the review on this site, giving them the opportunity to add a comment or change anything they feel is not correct - they did not have the courtesy to respond!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacksmumndad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwent, Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

This was a first class holiday complex, they cleaned the hotel from top to bottom every day. The rooms were very big and spotless, ours had great views over the pool. There was always something for the kids to do (9 & 7) and they loved the slides which was where we spent most of our time. The kids club was open on average 3 times a day! We stayed just before the school holidays and while we were there they had new sunbeds and other equipment delivered ready for the busy period. You couldn't fault the food always something nice to eat and the kids were well catered for. Only a short taxi ride into Albufeira, Zoo Marine is also a must, kids thoroughly enjoyed it and the waterpark. All in all one of the best holidays we've had and certainly one of the best hotels, although we were in block 1 close to everything block 2 was down some steep steps and am glad I wasn't down there. I was keen on the beach either although Albufeira beach was ok and we spend most of the time around the pools anyway. We would definately return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Stayed in alto da colina aug 5th - 12th. Glad we only booked a week! Were horrified by the food initially but got used to it. Ate lots of fruit and drank lots of water. The staff were very unhelpful and badmannered particularlly in the shop. My kids loved the clubs and the reps were excellent. Location okay but not great. the GYM was awful - if you like to excercise as I do forget this place. The GYM had not cardio machines and was located so far away in such a small box like room with no windows that I would have been afraid to go there on my own.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corey175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#9 of 154 in Albufeira
907 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#19 of 154 in Albufeira
660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#32 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
2.1 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
1,014 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto da Colina Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto da Colina Aparthotel

Property: Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Address: Balaia - Apt 866 | Balaia area, on the road to Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#37 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto da Colina Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alto da Colina Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alto Da Colina Aparthotel Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal
Club Alto Da Colina
Alto Colina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing