We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful spot...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balaia Golf Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balaia Golf Village
Ranked #34 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We arrived at the reception around 11am and had to wait until around 1am to get into the room! We were able to take a walk around the site and see what was on offer! The golf course is a good 10 minute walk away from the main reception area with a fairly straight forward 9 hole course! When we checked into the apt. we were greeted with 2 single beds! Immediately i went to reception to confirm we had booked a double - they were very abrupt to inform me that this is not an option and so we continued to dispute about this as it seemed there was no alternative! Eventually they suggested making the beds up as one, if only we had of come to that decision to begin with it wouldn't have left a sour taste in my mouth about the reception staff attitude to their guests!

Our room itself was perfect – kitchen, bathroom, 2 balconies, huge flat screen TV! We were able to make breakfast and lunch each day from our room! The site is so big that each little hub has its own pool area – which was never overcrowded and always manned! Each morning i watched the lifeguard clean the pool which was great to see!

The beech is on the other side of the raod and again another 10 minutes walk away - note there is a very short but steep hill to get to the beech which was tough enough for me to climb let alone an eldery person or a pram etc!!

The hotel offers a free taxi ride at 10am & 6pm into the Old Town of Albufiera – we used the later bus on 2 occasions but I it was more ideal for those to use who wanted to be picked up from the town after spending a day at the beech! It would be more ideal to have a bus service at 8pm given that there was often a que to wait on a taxi! This was the only negative for me – ordering a taxi to be collected from the hotel ... our minimum wait for a taxi was around 20 minutes – and out longest 45 minutes. This is not a great service but there was nothing we could do about it!

We had two lovely cleaners who visited our hotel room each day - they were very polite and did a great job too :-)

Room Tip: if you are travelling as a couple be sure to add that you want the room set up for double occupancy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank misskt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    294
    85
    35
    16
See reviews for
389
173
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Location, location, location as the saying goes - and that applies both to where this resort is, and what unit you get on site.
Firstly the site is about 5 miles East of Albufeira, and is quiet. There is a free shuttle bus twice daily (10.00 and 18.00) to town, and a main bus route outside, but as this ends around 18.30 clubbers will need to budget for taxis. About 15 minutes walk towards Albufeira takes you to Santa Eulalia where there is a reasonable selection of bars and restaurants, mostly catering for UK tourists (but not overwhelmingly tacky).
Turning left out of the main entrance, and then first right takes you in 5 minutes to a lovely beach with a nice cafe/restaurant. Indeed we visited a lot of different beaches during our stay and without fail they were all lovely and clean with catering and toilet facilities.
Within the resort there are 4 well maintained (tarmac) tennis courts (10 euro for 2 hours) and at the back end is a golf driving range and a 9 hole challenging "pitch and putt" style course (price not determined).
This is a large resort with upwards of 200 units arranged in clusters of (mainly) two storey blocks set amongst some beautifully maintained gardens. The accomodation has been developed in phases, and there are 4 or 5 separate free form style swimming pools, so it never appears crowded (at least not when we were there). Avoid units 116 - 129 and 477 - 486 as these are near to the road.
There are various different sizes and standard of unit. We had a single bed (convertible bed settee available if needed) superior apartment (number 218) which was excellently located with views through trees to the pool; and well equipped. But note that many units are owned privately and let through the resort management company. Not all will be the same. Whilst there we asked to look at a couple of 2 bedroomed "villas" which interestingly were not detached properties at all, although they had no upper floor apartment above them. If possible I would definitely recommend talking to the resort to clarify exactly what you will be getting.
In general terms we found the staff on site to be helpful and friendly, unlike a previous report. The same was true of all the Portugese who we came across at various bars, restaurants etc throughout our stay. The only exception was the resort restaurant manager who lacked any warmth or personality (strange given his profession). The food was always good however.
Overall we were delighted with the quality of the resort and the accomodation and would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: To be sure of a unit well away from the road ask for anything in to 200 or 300 range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RedCompliance11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed between 5th and 19th September 2011. Overall we had a lovely holiday but this was only due to the fact that the apartments and swimming pools were so nice and the beaches near by are amazing and the restaurants in the old town were fantastic. The resort itself I would rate as average due to the fact the staff were so rude, unhelpful and made you feel guilty for asking for their assistance. A prime example is when waiting for over an hour for a taxi we asked the staff at the reception to call the taxi office again. They made a rude comment claiming I had not been waiting long and very reluctantly phoned the taxi office only after I pleaded with them. Then after a couple pushed in the queue we requested that the receptionist pass on our taxi booking number provided by the taxi firm to ensure taxis were supplied In some orderly manner. The receptionist felt this was beyond his responsibilities and effectively called me a lier by questioning me on why I felt someone had jumped the queue.

Needless to say we decided waiting 1.5 hours for a taxi was too long so the next day asked the receptionist to book a taxi at a set time as we had a dinner booking. The receptionist shook her head and very rudely said "no I will not" and then continued to browse the Internet. When I asked why she said taxis can not be booked in Portugal. So that night we waited 35 minutes for a taxi (slight improvement) and decided to ask the driver if it was possible to book a taxi for a specific time to which he answered "yes of course sir" and provided us with the taxi office number. We then booked our own taxis for the remainder of the holiday with no hassle!

Overall the receptionist made use feel very unwelcome and made us feel guilty for asking for any assistance. We would like to say the friendliest and most professional staff were the cleaners who were lovely and did an excellent job.

Overall fantastic apartments ruined by terrible receptionist!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We had a wonderful time in Balaia, the apartment we had was really modern, large and a perfect size for a family of five.

My children loved it as there are many different pools around the complex so they never got bored, and given the resort itself is extremly family friendly they made many friends which in turn kept us adults happy.

The beach is within walking distance and the bus service to zoo marine and aqualand stop at the village. All in all would recomend this golf village to anyone we had a fabulous holiday, we booked via owners direct and had no problems from start to finish.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LennoxManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

We had a 2 bedroom 1 bathroom apartment and booked through Holidaynights.ie as we found it cheaper than any other website for this type of accommodation, we were traveling with a 3 month old so air con. was essential .Were informed after booking that air con. was not part of the spec. of the apartments so requested this directly through B.G.V. by email and to be honest were more than accommodating to our requirements.When we arrived we were told that the cot was in place and that air con. had been installed as we requested free of charge but to bear this in mind for our next booking..perfect...The grounds of the apartments were kept immaculately (more staff than our own county council seriously!!)and apartments cleaned each day and clean towels supplied daily also!!.We were located beside one of the many pools on the grounds but not too far away from the health centre that had the heated pool for our 3 month old and free access to the jacuzzi but not steam room which cost 4.50 euros.The onsite restaurant thinks its a 5 star but serves 2 star food and is costly for what they serve and staff need to lighten up a little.they too think they work in a 5 star restaurant also.2 other snack bars on the grounds are perfect.Nearby beach is best i have ever seen and that includes the Thai beaches that we have been to in the past.All in all a perfect resort and could not find any fault in the accomodation and would highly recommend this to any young families or couples who are considering booking....the swimwear and fishing tackle shop employees onsite are strange people!!

Room Tip: Request a pool side apartment and not close to the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelcrit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We had a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment which was privately owned and well equipped. We had a ground floor apartment beside one of the pools. It was a great situation for the kids as they could run from the pool back to the apartment and we had a baby so was great to be close at hand. Only 1 restaurant on the site but it was very good and staff very friendly. 3 pools in the village so you can alternate. Good Kids pools. Very good maid service, towel changes etc. Downsides - costly to hire cot and high chair, all mounts up if there for 2 week stay. We felt 2 weeks to be quite long, maybe 1 week would have been better as we got a bit bored, but probably that's because we stuck to the resort with a baby. The resort is v close to Albufeira which was not nice we went there for dinner once and that was enough.Kids club is not good - very basic and very restricted hours - it was more of a tick box exercise to have one rather than providing a real service and proper programme. Snack bar beside kids pool is not very good. I would say before you book check what apartment you are getting because some are not so good and beside the road, others are great and beside the pool and quiet. All in all, if you are looking for a relaxing weeks holiday with the kids and don't mind staying pretty much in the resort, then you will enjoy this holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalaiaGolfVillage, Gestor at Balaia Golf Village, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Dear Guest , thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our resort . we are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay , we will try to do better . Equally , we hope to be able to welcome you back to our Balaia Golf Village again in the near future .
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed 18 to 25 aug the most beautiful resort in every way except the unfriendliest staff in the restaurant. We ate there on several evenings i have to admit the worst staff ever not doin the resort any favours.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
4.6 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de...
#1 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#25 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#51 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia Golf Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Golf Village

Property: Balaia Golf Village
Address: Sitio de Balaia, Albufeira 8201-912, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#27 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Balaia Golf Village 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully landscaped gardens with pine, cork and almond trees are the prefect backdrop for your home in the sun, only 500 meters from the beach. Around the grounds you can enjoy 6 swimming pools, a health club with indoor pool, 4 tennis courts, restaurants and snack bars. A 9 hole executive golf course, golf academy (with resident pro), driving range with putting greens, practice bunkers and chipping areas complete the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Pierre & Vacances, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Balaia Golf Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Golf Village Hotel Albufeira
Balaia Hotel Village
Balaia Hotel Albufeira
Balaia Golf Village Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing