We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff were excellent and very helpful.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balaia Golf Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balaia Golf Village
Ranked #33 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“The staff were excellent and very helpful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

The golf course and the amenities were great and the course was beautiful. However, the resort is starting to show some wear and is in need of some updates. There were several problems in our room. The bathroom faucet leaked and flooded the bathroom floor one night and the couch was in very bad condition. Also, the walls are very thin and we could hear what everyone around us was doing, especially the people above us at 7:00 am! But overall, the resort is nice. It's a nice location but it's a bit of a walk to the beahc and there is only one beach you can walk to. You would need a car to get to the others. There are several pools and a nice restaurant. There's also a place to eat in the golf clubhouse. I would go back but I would make sure there was no room above mine.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    294
    85
    35
    16
See reviews for
389
173
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Just spent a week at this fabulous resort. We were upgraded to Villa 708 - a beautiful ground floor villa in the quieter end of the complex. Our daughters (17,14 & 6) loved the swimming pools. The reception staff could not of been more helpful. The golf course looks fantastic. This is a gem of a resort. We will be back !!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank g619thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed at the Balaia Golf resort for two weeks and loved it. We booked a two bed superior apartment which was perfect for our needs with two small children. The rooms were a great size although the décor was a little dated. The maid service was excellent with the apartment being cleaned 6/7 days a week.

We found the resort to be perfect for our needs. There were 6 pools to choose from and plenty of free sunbeds. The supermarket on site offered a wide selection of food which was reasonably priced. The nearest beach was a 10 min walk (with pushchair) and was well worth a visit.

The only downside to the resort was that it was quite a stroll into town (the strip). After our first visit we decided it wasn’t really for us and instead opted to get a taxi every night into Old Town for only 6 Euros. Be prepared to wait for your taxi into town, we waited over 30 minutes most nights.

Old Town is lovely, there is a great selection of bars and restaurants. Our favourite was Cabana Fresca on the beachfront. The staff were friendly, service was excellent and the food was so good we went back 3 times.

On the recommendation of owners at the resort we also tried a lovely traditional Portuguese seafood restaurant a short taxi ride away from the resort called A Lagosteira. If you’re looking for a great family day out then Zoomarine is a must. It’s about a 40 minute bus ride away and can be booked through reception. The dolphin show was brilliant.

Overall I would happily recommend this resort and go back again.

Room Tip: Request a room with air conditioning at time of booking. Ask to be away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

After a whole day searching the internet, she on her computer and me on mine, in the same room, in almost total quiet, which is a one-off in this family, we both said at once "I think we have it" - an ideal location, not too far from the airport, ideal facilities for our current circumstances, (It is a million miles away from what I would normally be looking for ((a kids club) ! however, this time, the children aged 6 and 2 were part of the plan for going, somewhere sunny where they could play, and enjoy something out of the rain. Another daughter decided, at the last minute, that she would come, so there were 5 of us instead of the two adults and two children, but that is great.
We arrived at the complex and chose to look at the apartment first before moving our luggage. The first apartment would have been just O K for us four but not for 3 grown up girls and two little ones - so we went back to reception and asked to see another O K higher price. The guy who was designated to show us looked like he knew what was coming - It was O K too - not fantastic, but O K. We went back to reception and asked if we could upgrade to a private villa with a pool - the long suffering guy showing us took us to this third option - and waited... it looked like it was great - but we couldn`t find the pool. Neither of us has bad eye sight. It HAD no pool, but also, these tiny mosaic tiles that the paths and pavements are made of in Portugal, look great but when wet get very slippy and so we reverted to the 3 bedroom apartment which turned out to be very practical and very comfortable for us all - including the two year old. The complex has 6 pools and a chldren`t play park, which concentrated the children into one area, rather than invading all of the other pools with screaming children - kept them all screaming in one area - a good tactic by the developers! Nice little bars at all of the pools though and staff are really accommodating and will make snacks which run from hamburgers to lasagne and chilli type things, all with chips, salad, etc., It cannot be faulted. We had one of the whole runs of apartment blocks to ourselves overlooking the 14th green, and I do not know why it wasn`t busier. Right across the road there was an all inclusive hotel with water slides, children`s indoor amusements, and feed `em by the thousand type cafeteria`s so it meant we could go across there and enjoy their facilities and then come back to our own semi sophisticated set up and have the best of both worlds. I would recommend this hotel but if you don`t want to have your sun bathing disturbed, request an apartment near the health club or near reception.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank wanderingstarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We were a young couple staying in one of the superior 1 bedroom apartments. It was huge- could have sleep about 5 people! We were very impressed with the apartment and it overlooked one of the pool areas. We walked around the resort a few times and it was very nice- lots to do including many large pools, tennis courts, golf course and gym. We ate at '3 marias' restaurant which is reasonably priced and nice food (5 min walk from resort). For something a bit more plush we went to 'bistro' which is in main town albufeira-would recomend for great service and decent prices. The taxi queue put us off going in to albufeira more than once, though (1 hour!). Will definitley go back. Great value for money.

Room Tip: We had room 490 which was superior one bedroom overlooking pool. We didn't have air con but didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrandMrsBean12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

After experiencing the conventional holiday hotels of Alburfeira my expectations were set low, so I was impressed by the Balaia Golf Village and thought it was the perfect tonic for a relaxing family holiday. I was impressed with villa and the facilities. Our three kids could easily make the short walk to the pool and entertain themselves there.
We played twice at the 9 hole/par 3 golf course, which was pleasant, but no need to take any club beyond a 6 iron. There was a kids club/creche by the pool, so just enough time to play 9 holes and pick up the kids two hours later.
Balaia is also conveniently close to a local beach, so you do not need to drive to one of the town beaches.
The negatives were the poolside cafe catering, poor Wi-Fi (purchased via reception) and the school meal type eating experience at the main restaurant when they served a buffet.
The town Alburfeira has limited charm having been overdeveloped like most Portuguese coastal towns during the boom years. The restaurants seem to only focus on the hamburger, pizza and chips with everything type tourist menus, so if you want to eat at a restaurant with more refinement then drive to close-by Villamoura. However, the main beach is quite spectacular and there is plenty of night life.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

The resort is HUGE so needed a map to get around! There were a few different types of pools, from kids to quiet. The villas were large, clean and had all amenities you may need. We had balconies opening from every room. The only downside to our location was that we were next to the road, so sitting on the balcony wasn't very peaceful. We had friends staying in a larger villa who had as large and clean space as ourselves. Their villa was a little unique in the decoration, almost as if it was somebody's home that was being rented out, adding to the Portuguese experience.

There is a supermarket on site which had all we needed, from alcohol to toiletries. Tea bags were extortionate, so perhaps bring a few from home! The restaurant isn't recommended as the staff weren't particularly friendly and were slow, plus the piri piri chicken which I was looking forward to, being in Portugal, was a big disappointment. However, there seemed to be every outlet you made need, meaning you could stay at the resort for your whole holiday! For example, tennis courts and a hair salon, which we didn't try out.

The area itself is incredibly pretty with lovely sandy beaches and is HOT! The Old Town has many bars and restaurants on the cliff side and there's a huge space to try out the many Segways which zoomed around the town. The 'Strip' is a brilliant night out and is a short taxi ride, or walk if you're feeling energetic, away from the resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annabananna521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
4.6 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de...
#1 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#25 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
6.1 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#51 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia Golf Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Golf Village

Property: Balaia Golf Village
Address: Sitio de Balaia, Albufeira 8201-912, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#26 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Balaia Golf Village 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully landscaped gardens with pine, cork and almond trees are the prefect backdrop for your home in the sun, only 500 meters from the beach. Around the grounds you can enjoy 6 swimming pools, a health club with indoor pool, 4 tennis courts, restaurants and snack bars. A 9 hole executive golf course, golf academy (with resident pro), driving range with putting greens, practice bunkers and chipping areas complete the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Pierre & Vacances, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Balaia Golf Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Golf Village Hotel Albufeira
Balaia Hotel Village
Balaia Hotel Albufeira
Balaia Golf Village Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing