We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, spacious, well-equipped apartments and lovely pools”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balaia Golf Village
Ranked #34 of 152 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Very nice area, albeit a little bit far from centre of town. Plenty of restaurants in the area which are very good.

Excellent pools and plenty to choose from. The apartments themselves are extremely well-equipped and spacious.

The lowcostholidays website was the most competitive and offered the best price available.

The breakfast was not bad (albeit the usual 'foreign' bacon etc.)

PERFECT for golf lovers as resort is complete with golf course (9 hole), although this was around 50 EURO per session. There is also a golfing range there.

No complaints - all good!

Room Tip: Ask for one near to either the 'club house' (which serves the breakfast) or the reception (w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

We spent nine days in the Balaia Golf Village and very much enjoyed our experience in Portugal. Despite being at the end of September, the weather for at least seven of the days was perfect and the nights were very warm.

We rented a two bedroom superior apartment. There were too good-sized double bedrooms and two bathrooms (the main bedroom had an en-suite and a small balcony). The main balcony was large and equipped with a table, chairs, sunbeds, umbrella and a small BBQ. The kitchen had plenty of appliances (cooker, toaster, kettle, fridge, pans, casserole dishes, microwave, washing machine, tumble drier, dishwasher, in addition to crockery and cutlery). There was a nice, but small, flat screen TV which featured English channels, not that we used them very much!

A maid service was provided from Monday to Saturday. The maids make the bed, sweep the floors and do a basic clean. The restaurant on site was expensive and the service was average, however the food was nicely presented. There were five swimming pools across the complex – at least half of the sunbeds were always free and the pools were often empty. There is an indoor swimming pool/gym, when we wanted to use these we were told we couldn’t use the pool without a swimming hat (we could buy one for €2 each). The local sandy beach was lovely and peaceful – a 10 minute hilly walk away.

The supermarket on site is well stocked, some of the items were unbelievably cheap (less than €0.79 for six yoghurt drinks) while others were very over-priced. From home we took our own coffee, tea, washing up liquid, bath toiletries and cleaning materials. It would have been great if Balaia Golf Village provided a ‘welcome pack’ of basic necessities (for example, dishwasher tablets or washing machine tabs), as this isn’t the case you have no option but to use the resort supermarket, or another supermarket which was a 10 minute walk away from the complex.

Staff on site were helpful, but not very friendly – there were few smiles, even from staff in local restaurants. Those working in the Old Town seemed have a much less hostile approach. The complex offered a free minibus service to the Old Town at 10am and 6pm, a cab back cost about €8. As we were travelling as a family with a young child, we left the Old Town by about 10pm each evening we visited and had no trouble getting a cab back to our apartment straight away. The Old Town was vibrant, cultural and we ate twice at a lovely restaurant overlooking the picturesque beach. There are street acts and souvenir shops, in addition to many places to eat.

Nearer to the apartments was ‘The Strip’, characterised by lots of tacky bars and cafes boasting ‘Full English Breakfasts’ – a 30 minute walk away and €5 cab back. We visited once but, as a family, it wasn’t really for us and preferred the relaxed (more Portuguese) atmosphere of the Old Town.

There were a small number of restaurants within walking distance (albeit uphill) to the apartments. Having read several positive TripAdvisor reviews before visiting, I was left very disappointed by the 3marias restaurant – they offered a 3 course menu for €12 per person but the food was poor and service was worse.

We visited the Zoomarine at a cost of €29, including transport. The dolphin show was amazing. We went on a boat trip too with a company called ‘Sea Caves’, for six hours this was at a cost of €34 per person and included a light lunch (bread roll, strip of pork, salad, orange and drink) on a beach that could only be reached by sea. All trips/excursions could be booked by staff in the Balaia reception and they have a large selection of leaflets and posters to choose from. Car hire and cabs could be arranged from reception too.

Overall this was a good holiday in a nice complex and we would recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have air-conditioning and due to the large balcony doors it wasn't missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TiddlyBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

That pretty much says it all. There are an insane number of buildings and so it is extremely easy to get lost at night as it essentially a maze, with all building fronts looking the same. So it is a giant compound, indeed. But the price was right. I believe we paid UNDER 90 US for the stay, and received a nice, clean room with new bathroom, a nice TV, balcony, kitchen with functioning appliances. We did not use the outdoor facilities they have, but we saw a beautiful pool and tennis courts not far from our balcony. We only stayed for one night... but if you were staying for longer on a budget this may very well be the place to be, honestly. It is about a 7 minute drive to the MAIN strip of Albufiera, which is essentially The Algarve's version of New Orleans' Bourbon Street. A LOT of fun. A LOT.

Cabs may be difficult to get a hold of at night, as there is a high demand since many people are drinking or going to dinner 7 minutes away. Other than the restaurant and bar ON the premises, there is nothing in the immediate area, so you should venture out to see Albufiera.

Overall, extremely good BANG for the BUCK. Would return.

Room Tip: There are so many buildings that are so widely spread out, I would recommend something close to what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This well run resort is an oasis of tranquillity on the outskirts of the bustling (and noisy) resort of Albufeira. The comfortable air conditioned apartments are clean, well furnished and provided with ample utensils and crockery should you wish to self cater. The public areas are spacious and pristine, with plenty of space for sunbathing or sitting in the shade. The staff are for the most part friendly and helpful . There is a supermarket at the end of the drive and an on site restaurant; although this is a bit pricey it seems very good. Turn left out of the entrance and there is a choice of more reasonable eating places a 15 minute walk away. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

had a lovely week in this hotel. were given a room without decent air con which wasn't want our party wanted but we were moved straight away without complaint and they even helped move our bags. they also recommended a lovely Portuguese place to eat which was very good value. all of the pools were clean and had plenty of space for us to sit around the pool. would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a nice relaxing stay close to both the beach and the old town for nice days out.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becca192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We booked the resort almost blind as we'd never been to Portugal before and we booked at the last minute on the Internet.
We definitely struck lucky.
Amazing apartment at the quiet end of the resort.
Fantastic facilities. Wonderful pools. Very clean. Beautiful weather. Brilliant Kids' Club with a lovely ex pat running it.
A few tips. You need to rent a car. It's a big resort and not that close to anything. The beach is a good 15 minute walk away and there's a bit of an upward climb on the way back - tough in the heat. The beach is lovely, has rentable beds and a nice cafe.
You should book an apartment at the quieter end of the resort in the 700s. They are newer and in much better condition than some of the older more dated ones closer to reception.
We had a superior apartment. 2 bedrooms (1 of them en suite) with all mod cons, air conditioning, wifi, washing machine, dryer, microwave, huge balcony with BBQ.
The apartments have no basics in them at all when you arrive. You need to visit the onsite supermarket on arrival but it's more expensive than the bigger supermarkets 5 mins drive away.
Take beach and pool towels. They are not supplied.
You need to specifically request a cot. We went with our 1 year old and even though we'd booked with an infant, they don't automatically put a cot in the apartment. Not ideal when arriving at 11pm and being about a mile from reception!
Cleaners come 6 out of 7 days which is great.
Breakfast is good. The evening meal if you are half board is a buffet. Pretty good for what it is. We ate lunch in our apartment every day and went out a few nights to the Old Town, which is lovely and highly recommended.
We loved it there and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraRT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Just got back from a weeks stay at the Balaia Golf Resort, stayed in first week of september. Overall we had a great holiday, but some small details let the hotel down. On a positive note, the hotel has a wow factor due to the beautiful grounds, stunning entrance and good facilities. The hotel boasts 5 pools each were quiet, relaxing, enough sun beds to go around and was always immaculate. Staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and very willing to accomodate with any query or if you just fancied a chat. The reception and restaurant staff were very impressive and made our stay alot more enjoyable as the reception staff allowed us to check out later as we were on a late flight and they also helped with planning our days out. Overall the food was very good, we stayed half board so buffet style although breakfast let it down slightly. Dinner was always very good, not much choice but always something for everyone and they ran theme nights such as italian, piri piri chicken and a BBQ nights. The desserts were amazing and very well presented, drinks with dinner were also a reasonable price. With regards to breakfast, firstly breakfast is served in the golf clubhouse which is located towards the rear of the park (we stayed in apartment 101 so bit of trek everyday) although it was a nice view with breakfast :). Breakfast itself was basic and was a strange mix between english and continental, for example the english breakfast was simply bacon, boiled/scrambled egg, beans and mushrooms and the continental was just ham and cheese with no pastries or croissants. They did have various bread options, fruit, yoghurts and cereal but after 7 days it was quite repetitive although still tasted good. As the hotel is a golf resort we decided to try the driving range and we had great fun, golf club was 10 euros to hire (plus 5 euro deposit) and balls were 2 euros for 24. Was a good afternoon activity and the golf staff.were very helpful too. Hotel is 5 mins walk from a beautiful beach and around a 10/15 minute walk to another amazing beach. There is a shop just outside which is great for water etc. We would definately recommended visiting zoomarine and book through the hotel as you get discount and transport too (29 euros for coach and ticket) and also make use of the hotels free transport to albufeira but cabs are only 4/5 euros aswell. The only bad points we could make would be about breakfast, the lack of evening entertainment and the room, to be fair the room was very clean, well equipped, spacious and there was a daily maid service but it was very dated (not 4 star standard), the kitchen sink would gurgle, bubble up and smell really bad. Overall we had a great holiday and we would recommended if your looking for a peaceful and relaxing trip :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas92_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 152 in Albufeira
1,023 reviews
4.9 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,058 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#24 of 152 in Albufeira
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#30 of 152 in Albufeira
812 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
#50 of 152 in Albufeira
449 reviews
1.4 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 152 in Albufeira
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia Golf Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Golf Village

Address: | Balaia Golf Village Lote 38, Albufeira 8200-594, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#26 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: £26 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balaia Golf Village 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully landscaped gardens with pine, cork and almond trees are the prefect backdrop for your home in the sun, only 500 meters from the beach. Around the grounds you can enjoy 6 swimming pools, a health club with indoor pool, 4 tennis courts, restaurants and snack bars. A 9 hole executive golf course, golf academy (with resident pro), driving range with putting greens, practice bunkers and chipping areas complete the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Balaia Golf Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Golf Village Hotel Albufeira
Balaia Hotel Village
Balaia Hotel Albufeira
Balaia Golf Village Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing