We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Family Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balaia Golf Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balaia Golf Village
Ranked #33 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Family Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This resort is excellent, the apartments are well equipped clean and offer great well maintained gardens. With several pools around the resort there is plenty of space for all.
the Staff were extremely helpful ensuring we had a good stay. We were very close to the pool with garden view and we had requested rooms close to our family who were also there. There is a great deal to do and see in the area, from the Old Town of Albufeira with some great restaurants , to some of the wonderful blue flag beaches. Our favorite is Sao Rafael, a beautiful little cove just about 15 mins away from hotel by car. The Sand sculptures in Pera is definitely worth a visit either at night of by day.
And for those who enjoy a water park, Slide and Splash in Logoa is excellent with a great new play area for the younger children and plenty of slides and tube slides for the rest of us.
We have been coming to the Algarve for a few years now and this resort does have everything required for a great family holiday

Room Tip: Look for garden or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    294
    85
    35
    16
See reviews for
389
173
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedworth, Warks
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We arrived at around 9 p.m. and the gentleman on reception was polite and efficient, we had to leave credit card details with them as a deposit which I have never had to do before, but checking in overall was a good experience. We were given a map to the room and found it fairly quickly; this is a big holiday village so some of the rooms are a good walk away.
The room exceeded our expectations, 2 good size bedrooms, one with an en-suite and another bathroom just off the hall way. The master bedroom had its own balcony but the balcony off the lounge was a lot bigger with a 4 seater table on and 1 lounger. The quality of the well equipped kitchen and lounge was very high, perhaps why they took my credit card details in case I broke any of it!! My Mrs was particularly excited by the washing machine and tumble dryer…everybody to their own!! Room = 10 out of 10.
We had a fantastic view over one of the 6 pools (Room 332) and in the evenings the balcony was a real suntrap right until sunset. You could see that the gardens and the pools were well maintained and there were no shortage of beds around any of the pools we visited.
We were B&B, and this was the only disappointing part of our holiday. The breakfast was served in the Club House of the golf course which was a fair from our room. We have been to 4 other hotels in the area over the last 2 years and paid less than the £8 a day each that we were paying at the Balaia, and have always had very good breakfasts. However both the quality and variety of the breakfast here were very disappointing. Toast , warm bacon, beans, scrambled egg and boiled eggs were all the hot food available, one type of cheese and ham with rolls was the continental options along with jam and a few slices of melon and fruit cocktail. I raised this with reception later in the day and immediately they suggested I contact our tour operator in the UK, I am presuming that they must have had other complaints? They then contacted the Club House to cancel our breakfasts for the following days to ensure that they were not charged, it seems that the club house is run by a separate company?
As in other reviews on the Balaia it is a good 20 minute work to the strip but not too bad, and we were paying just under 5 Euro’s for the 4 of us to get back, no matter what time it was. On our last day we discovered a nice local restaurant, we took a walk to the village to the left as you come out of the hotel. The restaurant just after “The 3 Marias” restaurant (I can’t remember the name) offers 2 set menu’s one at 7.50 Euro’s and one at 9.50 Euro’s. This gives you a drink (large beer, wine soft drinks etc) Olives and bread, a good selection of main meals, we had grilled halibut with fries and salad, Chicken breasts in a mushroom sauce off the 9.50 menu and Spaghetti Bolognese from the 7.50 menu, followed by dessert and coffee. Great value and good quality – recommended.
Overall we would definitely go back to the Balaia Golf Village; we just wouldn’t go B&B!!

Room Tip: 332 had the sun all afternoon/evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Comptoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

this place is a little gem. beautiful surroundings, fabulous apartments , maid service every day except sunday, free courtesy bus to albufeira town twice a day , 6 pools ,excellent golf course, close to the beach 10-15 min walk, what more do you need. reception staff very helpful. hoping to go back very soon . book it dont wait !!!

Room Tip: pick a room in 200's or 300's very good location and near the entrance to resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank baseball h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The complex is stunning, beautiful grounds, lovely apartments, only 8 euros in a taxi to the old town which is worthwhile visiting. We were planning to return later this summer as we were so impressed, however, on our last day (my partner and I) we returned to our room an hour before our taxi to the airport to find the kitchen door had been broken open and 400 euros in cash stolen from our bedroom. Strangely the reception staff were not surprised when we reported it, and were not helpful - there was no time for us to see the police as we had to leave for the airport, and they refused to report it for us. They said that as nothing from the hotel had been stolen, that they would not contact the police on our behalf, despite the fact the kitchen door had been broken into and therefore the property had been damaged. Our advice - lock firmly away any money and do not take a ground floor apartment (we were in 101). A horrible end to a brilliant holiday.

Room Tip: Do not take a ground floor apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnnaLT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just returned from a wonderful week at the Balaia Golf village, stayed in a superior 2 bed apt which was excellent, very spacious, immaculately clean and superbly equipped. Free taxi service into Albufeira old town twice a day was brilliant, stayed in 473 (garden view) which was close to road so feel a pool view would be better and possibly quieter. Staff very helpful. Lovely beach 10 mins away and fabulous selection of shops and restaurants in Albufeira old town . Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: avoid apts near the road , pool view better than garden view in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Well priced out of season. We had the 3 bedroom villa. Plenty of space and the pool very nice. Would imagine the resort is very busy come august. Pool side snack bar ok and cheap enough. The staff were very helpful at reception and liked the mix of having own villa but a reception for info and an extra pillow when needed,

Room Tip: Sun facing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jezsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the greatest disappointment to me. There is a very small, very expensive computer room only. The wifi connection is almost non-existent so not so good for those who like to keep up to date with their work whilst enjoying the sun.
Otherwise the place is very clean, the staff are friendly (enough but could try harder!).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John54fromUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalaiaGolfVillage, Gestor at Balaia Golf Village, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Dear Guest , thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our resort . We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy everything , we will try to do better . Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
4.6 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de...
#1 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#25 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
6.1 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#51 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia Golf Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Golf Village

Property: Balaia Golf Village
Address: Sitio de Balaia, Albufeira 8201-912, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#26 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Balaia Golf Village 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully landscaped gardens with pine, cork and almond trees are the prefect backdrop for your home in the sun, only 500 meters from the beach. Around the grounds you can enjoy 6 swimming pools, a health club with indoor pool, 4 tennis courts, restaurants and snack bars. A 9 hole executive golf course, golf academy (with resident pro), driving range with putting greens, practice bunkers and chipping areas complete the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Pierre & Vacances, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Balaia Golf Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Golf Village Hotel Albufeira
Balaia Hotel Village
Balaia Hotel Albufeira
Balaia Golf Village Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing