We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balaia Golf Village
Ranked #34 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Aberkenfig, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unpleasant experience”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have just returned from here. Firstly we had no air con in room unlike the others guests in our party. This made our stay unbearable! We were too hot to eat/sleep. The staff on reception I found to be unpleasant, unhelpful, when there is a problem. Others than that the rooms were well equipt. On the last day my watch was stolen from the room which is very upsetting. We called police who were very helpful. There was no break in so the only people could be the cleaners who made our room up even though we had the do not disturb sign. It is pot luck with this hotel re air con so staff told me and I really do not suggest anyone stay here without it as even when temps around 25 the rooms are boiling. I had to sleep with doors open which meant I had a lot of bites which were quite infected. Fans are of no use.

Room Tip: Visit old town. Make sure rooms have air con in both bedroom and lounge. Lovely beach bar near by y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    320
    97
    37
    17
See reviews for
420
193
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed in Balaia GV for 10 nights in June. Two adults and two 14yr olds. We arrived just after midnight and received a pleasant welcome. We found all the staff (reception, cleaners, pool staff, grounds men) to be pleasant throughout our stay.

We were in a large 2bed apartment. It was well equipped with a Flat TV ( with Skysports/BBC/RTE/ITV/TV3) dish-washer, wash machine and clothes dryer, along with a microwave, 4element cooker and oven. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you’d need – except mugs, which we bought for €1ea.

The apartment had a large enough dining/lounge area which opened to a small patio and grass area with patio furniture. There was also a bathroom, kitchen and two bedrooms, one en-suite, with plenty of storage space, cupboards, drawers etc. There was powerful supply of hot and cold water to both bathrooms and the kitchen all day and night.

We enjoyed the pools, mostly using the one nearest reception. Sunbeds were always available. Most of the pools went from 1.2 to 2.4meters depth (one went to 2.8mtrs), however they all had a kids pool incorporated.

Balaia GV is very quiet – maybe too quiet for some. There is no evening entertainment at all, not even for kids. You can walk 600mtrs to some restaurants and pubs (left at gate) which are cheap and cheerful, but there are better ones, albeit a bit more expensive 1.5K towards Albufiera (right at gate), however you would need a car to get to them.


You can order a Taxi from reception, but be aware if you order during the peak times (7pm to 9pm) you could be waiting 45mins or more. And the Taxis are not as plentiful, or as flexible as they are in Ireland & Britain – we tried to get in to a Taxi that had just dropped people off at Balaia but were refused because the Taxi had a pickup scheduled somewhere else!!

The Golf Course is a 9 hole par3 – very beautiful, but expensive at €35, or €50 including rental of irons & shoes (its only a par3 remember). Bring your own balls or you’ll have to pay another €10 for three!! It’s a tough enough par3 with the course record only 3under for 18(2x9 holes).

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it for a relaxing holiday for families, couples and friends.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bel_Gard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalaiaGolfVillage, Gestor at Balaia Golf Village, responded to this review, 11 January 2017
Dear Guest many thanks for your kind comments on TripAdvisor . we look forward in welcoming you back to our Balaia golf village Resort again in the near future . Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Lovely villa right by the best pool with kids club, ( didn't actually see it open), and pool bar with prices as expected for being on site. Villa huge, floors bit worse for wear as was patio furniture. Everything you need, even dishwaher , washing machine, tumble dryer etc, enough wine glasses and cutlery for the whole block!! No mugs! Maintenance came for tv and shower, almost straight away, half hour later more came, so good service lol .
Best location for kids so ask for around 320,s (we had 325, a 2 storey 3 bed) as a park was also in view. Cleaning every day except Sunday, and no problem giving us extra towels, pillowcases. Supermarket nearby ,good prices. Wifi expensive but 24 hour bundle doesn,t need to be used in one go. If you go with RCI prices halved. (They don,t tell you till you go to pay.) Read a review that said beach down path by petrol station nearby, be aware its a really steep and quite long hill. Stayed in Albufeira 4 times before, and tho this is nicest place, is way too far from old town, and shuttle bus is only 10am and 6pm! A 2pm slot would be great. Bus driver was great must say, quite willing to drop us in new town on way and pick us if we wanted. Even gave us a short tour when we happened to be only ones on bus one morning. Taxis aren,t expensive but if use every day mounts up. We were two 40,s a 12 year old and two 70,s so unless happy to sit in sun all day , had to make trip into town. Is walkable to new town "The Strip",(right out of resort) but if really hot is bit uncomfortable with no shade for long stretches. Left out of resort 500 yards or so, past petrol station and up hill, few restaurants, cheap nice food ,cheap beer for a walk in night. Didn,t go for golf, but told very expensive, indoor pool small and have to wear swim hat. Tennis was expensive, didn,t see a single person on court for first 5 days!! Pity they didn,t make 1 of the 6 courts into a basketball one or something. Nothing for young teenagers at all! Outdoor pools never overcrowded, but quite cold, we got in about 7pm as they were warmed up by then. Our flight was late so for 50 euros we had an apartment by reception for last day very handy. If you with RCI have to be out by 10am All that said the resort is lovely and if your,e happy to lie by pool in nice surroundings all day, its place for you, but if like us you like bustle of shops restaurants nearby then go closer to town.

Room Tip: Rooms by road bit noisy in morning. 320,s right by pool with bar and kids pool and park , kids club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vball24_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

After reading the reviews I was expecting a lot more from this hotel, so mabye that was the issue.
We arrvied late, around 10.30pm and reception staff were very grumpy and told us they had no double rooms left so put us in a two bedroom apartment, which was fine with us. We were soon to find out that rooms only have aircon in the living room which ours broke after one night. When we tried to get it fixed, the staff were again very unhelpful and said sorry its broken you can have a fan. Luckily we were there during a week of around 25 degrees, so this was just bearable. However on our last night it was 35 degrees during the day and the room was unbarable to sleep in.

So PLEASE note, these rooms have no a/c throughout, if you are there in the peak of summer it will be hot.

However, I will say the complex itself is massive, the pool areas as brilliant, never need to fight for a bed. The pool bar is a little overpriced and the food is pretty rubbish.

The golf course is a nice practice course, 9 holes of par 3's, nice driving range and the clubhouse also serves better food.

Location is ok...5-10minutes away from Old Town - 7 euros in a taxi, the strip (which is very grotty) is around 5 euros.

Without a taxi there isnt much outside the comlex without having to walk a fair distance. Oh and there is a supermarket which is pretty well stocked with everything just on the edge of the complex.

Small beach is also a 5-10 minute walk away.

Overall, the resort is ok, I wasnt impressed with the lack of a/c in the room, the pool area is good but if you are going to the old town every night it becomes a little costly.

I would recommend this for a family holiday that were not too fussed about getting out and about in Albuferia and quite happy to stay within the complex as the pool facilities are great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShayB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This resort is excellent, the apartments are well equipped clean and offer great well maintained gardens. With several pools around the resort there is plenty of space for all.
the Staff were extremely helpful ensuring we had a good stay. We were very close to the pool with garden view and we had requested rooms close to our family who were also there. There is a great deal to do and see in the area, from the Old Town of Albufeira with some great restaurants , to some of the wonderful blue flag beaches. Our favorite is Sao Rafael, a beautiful little cove just about 15 mins away from hotel by car. The Sand sculptures in Pera is definitely worth a visit either at night of by day.
And for those who enjoy a water park, Slide and Splash in Logoa is excellent with a great new play area for the younger children and plenty of slides and tube slides for the rest of us.
We have been coming to the Algarve for a few years now and this resort does have everything required for a great family holiday

Room Tip: Look for garden or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedworth, Warks
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We arrived at around 9 p.m. and the gentleman on reception was polite and efficient, we had to leave credit card details with them as a deposit which I have never had to do before, but checking in overall was a good experience. We were given a map to the room and found it fairly quickly; this is a big holiday village so some of the rooms are a good walk away.
The room exceeded our expectations, 2 good size bedrooms, one with an en-suite and another bathroom just off the hall way. The master bedroom had its own balcony but the balcony off the lounge was a lot bigger with a 4 seater table on and 1 lounger. The quality of the well equipped kitchen and lounge was very high, perhaps why they took my credit card details in case I broke any of it!! My Mrs was particularly excited by the washing machine and tumble dryer…everybody to their own!! Room = 10 out of 10.
We had a fantastic view over one of the 6 pools (Room 332) and in the evenings the balcony was a real suntrap right until sunset. You could see that the gardens and the pools were well maintained and there were no shortage of beds around any of the pools we visited.
We were B&B, and this was the only disappointing part of our holiday. The breakfast was served in the Club House of the golf course which was a fair from our room. We have been to 4 other hotels in the area over the last 2 years and paid less than the £8 a day each that we were paying at the Balaia, and have always had very good breakfasts. However both the quality and variety of the breakfast here were very disappointing. Toast , warm bacon, beans, scrambled egg and boiled eggs were all the hot food available, one type of cheese and ham with rolls was the continental options along with jam and a few slices of melon and fruit cocktail. I raised this with reception later in the day and immediately they suggested I contact our tour operator in the UK, I am presuming that they must have had other complaints? They then contacted the Club House to cancel our breakfasts for the following days to ensure that they were not charged, it seems that the club house is run by a separate company?
As in other reviews on the Balaia it is a good 20 minute work to the strip but not too bad, and we were paying just under 5 Euro’s for the 4 of us to get back, no matter what time it was. On our last day we discovered a nice local restaurant, we took a walk to the village to the left as you come out of the hotel. The restaurant just after “The 3 Marias” restaurant (I can’t remember the name) offers 2 set menu’s one at 7.50 Euro’s and one at 9.50 Euro’s. This gives you a drink (large beer, wine soft drinks etc) Olives and bread, a good selection of main meals, we had grilled halibut with fries and salad, Chicken breasts in a mushroom sauce off the 9.50 menu and Spaghetti Bolognese from the 7.50 menu, followed by dessert and coffee. Great value and good quality – recommended.
Overall we would definitely go back to the Balaia Golf Village; we just wouldn’t go B&B!!

Room Tip: 332 had the sun all afternoon/evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Comptoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

this place is a little gem. beautiful surroundings, fabulous apartments , maid service every day except sunday, free courtesy bus to albufeira town twice a day , 6 pools ,excellent golf course, close to the beach 10-15 min walk, what more do you need. reception staff very helpful. hoping to go back very soon . book it dont wait !!!

Room Tip: pick a room in 200's or 300's very good location and near the entrance to resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank baseball h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
4.9 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
969 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
1.0 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#27 of 154 in Albufeira
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#21 of 154 in Albufeira
672 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#50 of 154 in Albufeira
450 reviews
1.2 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#73 of 154 in Albufeira
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia Golf Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Golf Village

Property: Balaia Golf Village
Address: Sitio de Balaia, Albufeira 8201-912, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#27 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Balaia Golf Village 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully landscaped gardens with pine, cork and almond trees are the prefect backdrop for your home in the sun, only 500 meters from the beach. Around the grounds you can enjoy 6 swimming pools, a health club with indoor pool, 4 tennis courts, restaurants and snack bars. A 9 hole executive golf course, golf academy (with resident pro), driving range with putting greens, practice bunkers and chipping areas complete the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pierre & Vacances, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Balaia Golf Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Golf Village Hotel Albufeira
Balaia Hotel Village
Balaia Hotel Albufeira
Balaia Golf Village Albufeira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing